HT 1250 Bad PA

The General forum is where users can discuss any topic regarding Motorola communications equipment - hardware, software, etc. There are also several focused forums on this board, so please take the time to ensure that your questions doesn't fall into one of those categories before posting here!

Moderator: Queue Moderator

HT 1250 Bad PA

Postby fixanythingman72 » Sun Apr 08, 2012 10:28 am

I got a R split HT1250 that appears to have a dead PA. I put it on a service monitor and it only made a few hundred mW. I checked the power setting and tuning but all seems well. I am thinking about swapping out the PA myself I have a donor ht750 with the same split. Is there any reason not to just swap the PA? Can some one give me a clue where it would be located on the board?

Thanks!
fixanythingman72
 
Posts: 58
Joined: Fri May 15, 2009 12:52 pm

Re: HT 1250 Bad PA

Postby wavetar » Tue Apr 10, 2012 2:32 am

fixanythingman72 wrote:I got a R split HT1250 that appears to have a dead PA. I put it on a service monitor and it only made a few hundred mW. I checked the power setting and tuning but all seems well. I am thinking about swapping out the PA myself I have a donor ht750 with the same split. Is there any reason not to just swap the PA? Can some one give me a clue where it would be located on the board?

Thanks!


It is located under a ground shield on the opposite side of the board from the antenna connector...easy to find, just trace back the antenna path. As far as replacing...Good luck! The amount of heat required to remove them pretty well fries them, and can damage the traces. If you had a new part to replace it with, and a Chipmaster with the proper attachments to remove the shielding & old PA, you'd be in business.
No trees were harmed in the posting of this message...however an extraordinarily large number of electrons were horribly inconvenienced.

Welcome to the /\/\achine.
User avatar
wavetar
Administrator
 
Posts: 7092
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: Halifax, Canada

Re: HT 1250 Bad PA

Postby RADIOMAN2002 » Tue Apr 10, 2012 4:52 am

Changing the PA on a Pro Portable is a big PITA, even with the right equipment a hot air station you can damage the main PCB very easy. As far as using a PA from a donor it's not worth it, they are $7.00 and as has been said you probably would damage it anyway. One of the bigger problems is getting the heat sink off after that if you have any SMT experience than it is doable. Sometimes it's just worth it to send to Depot. We always send ours for flat rate but you can have them quote you before the work is done.
RADIOMAN2002
 
Posts: 1094
Joined: Thu Apr 04, 2002 4:00 pm
What radios do you own?: More than I can count

Re: HT 1250 Bad PA

Postby CircleBat » Tue Apr 10, 2012 7:27 am

sometimes its the predriver gone...not the PA..
CircleBat
 
Posts: 138
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 3:11 pm

Re: HT 1250 Bad PA

Postby com501 » Tue Apr 10, 2012 2:47 pm

You haven't lived until you remove the PA with the Chipmaster, and bump the board and all the other parts fall off.....
com501
 
Posts: 880
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: Nevada Test Site
What radios do you own?: Over 50 - All Motorola

Re: HT 1250 Bad PA

Postby CircleBat » Tue Apr 10, 2012 2:57 pm

patience... patience.. been doing this for years.. hold your breathe and don't move that hot air blower all over the place..

:O)~~~~~~

Circlebat
CircleBat
 
Posts: 138
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 3:11 pm

Re: HT 1250 Bad PA

Postby fixanythingman72 » Tue Apr 10, 2012 9:22 pm

I found a you tube video that shows the replacement of a PA. it may be useful for others.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m4s3lhz6 ... ature=plcp

This user also has several other videos showing repair of waris series components
fixanythingman72
 
Posts: 58
Joined: Fri May 15, 2009 12:52 pm

Re: HT 1250 Bad PA

Postby RADIOMAN2002 » Thu Apr 26, 2012 4:26 am

Just so you know if you use the methods described in the Video you will not even be able to send the radio to Depot for repair. They consider it an authorized repair, I had one of my techs replaced the ribbon connector on a radio, and when he messed it up we sent to Depot who promptly returned it un-repaired.
RADIOMAN2002
 
Posts: 1094
Joined: Thu Apr 04, 2002 4:00 pm
What radios do you own?: More than I can count

Re: HT 1250 Bad PA

Postby fixanythingman72 » Mon Apr 30, 2012 10:11 am

Thanks for the info. I ended up getting the radio swapped out by the person I bought it from.

Thanks!
fixanythingman72
 
Posts: 58
Joined: Fri May 15, 2009 12:52 pm


Return to General Motorola Radio Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 3 guests