XTL2500 FL01-90 Error Then Maintenance Mode

The General forum is where users can discuss any topic regarding Motorola communications equipment - hardware, software, etc. There are also several focused forums on this board, so please take the time to ensure that your questions doesn't fall into one of those categories before posting here!

Moderator: Queue Moderator

XTL2500 FL01-90 Error Then Maintenance Mode

Postby KG4LHQ » Wed Nov 21, 2012 4:44 pm

Was writing a codeplug to a XTL2500 and got a FL01-90 Error and then it goes into Maintenance Mode. CPS will not write to it anymore, gives a Radio not acknowledge, tried to resync the head to the radio and still nothing.

Suggestions?
KG4LHQ
 
Posts: 635
Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2004 1:50 am

Re: XTL2500 FL01-90 Error Then Maintenance Mode

Postby JeffFireRadio » Wed Nov 21, 2012 10:01 pm

My last experience with exactly those symptoms was about 45 days ago (June 2010 production unit, 14.xx.xx original firmware, XTL2500 remote, 700-800mhz) and ended up being a bad CHIB according to the depot sheet. They also noted that they loaded new firmware into the radio, which they normally do on a depot trip anyway, but don't usually list it as a specific line item on the repair ticket. Ironically, our NIB spare control head wouldn't work either that day on that radio, so I later wondered if a bad CHIB on the first head had really been the only issue. So, I'm still not convinced what I was really dealing with for a problem that day, just frustrated that a perfectly working radio now wasn't as a result of a simple reprogramming where there hadn't been a computer or power issue during the zap. Arghh. Regarding yours, if you are sure you've got good power to the drawer and both head wires (another source of the dreaded FL01-90, Maintenance Mode message...just not usually first seen during a programming session), it sounds like a trip to Texas might be in your radio's future. Best wishes.
JeffFireRadio
 
Posts: 168
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 5:39 am

Re: XTL2500 FL01-90 Error Then Maintenance Mode

Postby KG4LHQ » Thu Nov 22, 2012 7:41 am

Yeah, I was uploading some stuff into it and the programming worked fine in it at first then about 30 minutes later I programmed more stuff in it and it went half way through and then threw this error as I was writing.

I think I could like this radio but it has given nothing but headaches to me lately. Guess thats why I have a KW 5720 in my truck.
KG4LHQ
 
Posts: 635
Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2004 1:50 am

Re: XTL2500 FL01-90 Error Then Maintenance Mode

Postby dasuriano » Thu Nov 22, 2012 8:57 am

I had the same thing showing up on mine and it turned out to be that the ground wire was loose. Tightened up the ground and the issues completely went away.
dasuriano
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2008 10:34 am

Re: XTL2500 FL01-90 Error Then Maintenance Mode

Postby KB2ZTX » Thu Nov 22, 2012 2:02 pm

is this a dash mount or remote head ? I had this issue on a remote head unit. Plugging the programming cable into the deck instead of the head and reprogramming solved the issue.
KB2ZTX
KB2ZTX
was jsikora
 
Posts: 259
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2003 9:38 am
Location: West Monroe, NY

Re: XTL2500 FL01-90 Error Then Maintenance Mode

Postby KG4LHQ » Thu Nov 22, 2012 3:34 pm

This is a dash mount radio.

How do I check that ground wire? Thanks!!
KG4LHQ
 
Posts: 635
Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2004 1:50 am

Re: XTL2500 FL01-90 Error Then Maintenance Mode

Postby KB2ZTX » Thu Nov 22, 2012 5:13 pm

I would check all your power connections, B+ and ground in addition to the ignition cable.
KB2ZTX
KB2ZTX
was jsikora
 
Posts: 259
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2003 9:38 am
Location: West Monroe, NY

Re: XTL2500 FL01-90 Error Then Maintenance Mode

Postby KG4LHQ » Thu Nov 22, 2012 5:27 pm

Its not installed in a vehicle its as a base at the moment. What to check?
KG4LHQ
 
Posts: 635
Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2004 1:50 am

Re: XTL2500 FL01-90 Error Then Maintenance Mode

Postby KG4LHQ » Wed Nov 28, 2012 6:59 am

Any other ideas? Whats it going to cost me on a trip to depot
KG4LHQ
 
Posts: 635
Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2004 1:50 am

Re: XTL2500 FL01-90 Error Then Maintenance Mode

Postby spectragod » Wed Nov 28, 2012 9:07 am

Bad flex, bad head?
Kilgore: Smell that? You smell that?
Lance: What?
Kilgore: Napalm, son. Nothing in the world smells like that.
Kilgore: I love the smell of napalm in the morning. You know, one time we had a hill bombed, for 12 hours. When it was all over, I walked up. We didn't find one of 'em, not one stinkin' dink body. The smell, you know that gasoline smell, the whole hill. Smelled like... victory. Someday this war's gonna end...

____________
Revelation 6:8
User avatar
spectragod
 
Posts: 1782
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: Over here, with the 40's of beer
What radios do you own?: FPP 6 meter Astro Spectra's

Re: XTL2500 FL01-90 Error Then Maintenance Mode

Postby KG4LHQ » Wed Nov 28, 2012 10:02 am

Makes no sense. I programmed it once after I got it flashed so it would do P25 and it worked fine, added more stuff into it and it did this stuff while I was programming it.

Grr!
KG4LHQ
 
Posts: 635
Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2004 1:50 am

Re: XTL2500 FL01-90 Error Then Maintenance Mode

Postby escomm » Wed Nov 28, 2012 10:08 am

CPS 17? What is the firmware in the radio? Did this happen around block 13 or 14 of the write process? Flat rate on those radios is about $450. Good luck
User avatar
escomm
Queue Moderator
 
Posts: 4710
Joined: Fri Mar 24, 2006 8:24 pm

Re: XTL2500 FL01-90 Error Then Maintenance Mode

Postby MSS-Dave » Wed Nov 28, 2012 10:22 am

Hey... I will take a whack at this...

I had a mobile do the exact same thing to me last year. It was a remote though. I was using the USB GCAI cable and could not clear the problem. It was suggested that I try the 26 pin serial programming cable. I uploaded the default saved codeplug and everything programmed fine and the head started working again. I know this is a dash mount but I have had NO problems in my fleet with dash mount like you are describing, just remotes. What cable are you using to program? If it is the GCAI, I'd be willing to say hitting it with the rear serial cable would fix it. If either that or the rear USB cable is being used now, it possibly needs to take a trip to Mexirola. Flat rate is high at $400+ though.....

EDIT>>> Just saw escomm's post so I will add that my issues happened at CPS 15 and Host/DSP 12. There was a updated control head sync program on MOL about the same time that CPS 17 showed.

Dave
User avatar
MSS-Dave
 
Posts: 706
Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2003 6:02 pm
Location: Florida
What radios do you own?: APX7000, XTS2500i, XPR6580

Re: XTL2500 FL01-90 Error Then Maintenance Mode

Postby KG4LHQ » Wed Nov 28, 2012 3:04 pm

Yes CPS17 and probably half way through the program went unresponsive and thats when the radio threw the error.
KG4LHQ
 
Posts: 635
Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2004 1:50 am

Re: XTL2500 FL01-90 Error Then Maintenance Mode

Postby com501 » Thu Nov 29, 2012 9:50 am

I was able to recover several remote mount radios with this issue by reflashing them. The radios were stuck in flashzap mode, so we reflashed them from the drawer GCAI connector.

After they were recovered, we reflashed with the ibutton using the normal procedure just to be sure and that also upgraded the codeplug version to match.
com501
 
Posts: 880
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: Nevada Test Site
What radios do you own?: Over 50 - All Motorola

Re: XTL2500 FL01-90 Error Then Maintenance Mode

Postby spectragod » Thu Nov 29, 2012 1:24 pm

com501 wrote:I was able to recover several remote mount radios with this issue by reflashing them. The radios were stuck in flashzap mode, so we reflashed them from the drawer GCAI connector.

After they were recovered, we reflashed with the ibutton using the normal procedure just to be sure and that also upgraded the codeplug version to match.



Had to use the same procedure on 3 2500 portables.
Kilgore: Smell that? You smell that?
Lance: What?
Kilgore: Napalm, son. Nothing in the world smells like that.
Kilgore: I love the smell of napalm in the morning. You know, one time we had a hill bombed, for 12 hours. When it was all over, I walked up. We didn't find one of 'em, not one stinkin' dink body. The smell, you know that gasoline smell, the whole hill. Smelled like... victory. Someday this war's gonna end...

____________
Revelation 6:8
User avatar
spectragod
 
Posts: 1782
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: Over here, with the 40's of beer
What radios do you own?: FPP 6 meter Astro Spectra's

Re: XTL2500 FL01-90 Error Then Maintenance Mode

Postby KG4LHQ » Mon Dec 03, 2012 5:30 pm

Com501,

Friend tried this method and still nothing. :( :( :(

Any other suggestions?
KG4LHQ
 
Posts: 635
Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2004 1:50 am

Re: XTL2500 FL01-90 Error Then Maintenance Mode

Postby com501 » Mon Dec 03, 2012 7:04 pm

There are 8 different programming cables for the XTL series.

Did you try them all?

You could always send it to a Motorola shop that knows what they are doing.

Did you check the control head bus fuse in the drawer?

Was the radio programmed so it can power up without 'control head required for power up' ??
com501
 
Posts: 880
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: Nevada Test Site
What radios do you own?: Over 50 - All Motorola

Re: XTL2500 FL01-90 Error Then Maintenance Mode

Postby KG4LHQ » Tue Dec 04, 2012 10:00 pm

There are 8 different programming cables for the XTL series.

Did you try them all?

You could always send it to a Motorola shop that knows what they are doing.

Did you check the control head bus fuse in the drawer?

Was the radio programmed so it can power up without 'control head required for power up' ??


All I know is I sent it to a friend that took it to a friends shop and he tried what you suggested and even put a new head on it and still goes into this FL01-90 Maintenance Mode crap.

I don't know about 8 programming cables or anything like that.

I can not confirm if he checked the control head bus fuse.

The radio powers up again, I was writing to the radio, half way through CPS froze and then radio made a thump beep and then threw this error.

I have another person that says they can probably fix it so I'm hopeful. Good grief this will make someone's nerves and temper show.
KG4LHQ
 
Posts: 635
Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2004 1:50 am

Re: XTL2500 FL01-90 Error Then Maintenance Mode

Postby MSS-Dave » Wed Dec 05, 2012 4:20 am

What cable are YOU using?
User avatar
MSS-Dave
 
Posts: 706
Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2003 6:02 pm
Location: Florida
What radios do you own?: APX7000, XTS2500i, XPR6580

Re: XTL2500 FL01-90 Error Then Maintenance Mode

Postby KG4LHQ » Wed Dec 05, 2012 5:59 am

I was using a OEM Serial to Mic Plug cable
KG4LHQ
 
Posts: 635
Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2004 1:50 am

Re: XTL2500 FL01-90 Error Then Maintenance Mode

Postby t95mwp » Wed Dec 05, 2012 11:44 am

You need to replace MUX PN#5114000C11,that is 99% of the time what goes wrong with the XTL2500 when you have FL01/90.
User avatar
t95mwp
Batboard $upporter
 
Posts: 252
Joined: Sun Nov 24, 2002 3:32 pm
Location: Golden State

Re: XTL2500 FL01-90 Error Then Maintenance Mode

Postby KG4LHQ » Wed Dec 05, 2012 2:33 pm

What is that part number, how to install and cost?
KG4LHQ
 
Posts: 635
Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2004 1:50 am

Re: XTL2500 FL01-90 Error Then Maintenance Mode

Postby t95mwp » Wed Dec 05, 2012 2:58 pm

5114000C11,it is very small IC that you have to use magnifier to replace.
User avatar
t95mwp
Batboard $upporter
 
Posts: 252
Joined: Sun Nov 24, 2002 3:32 pm
Location: Golden State

Re: XTL2500 FL01-90 Error Then Maintenance Mode

Postby KG4LHQ » Wed Dec 05, 2012 3:12 pm

Good grief!

I knew I should have stuck with Kenwood
KG4LHQ
 
Posts: 635
Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2004 1:50 am

Re: XTL2500 FL01-90 Error Then Maintenance Mode

Postby t95mwp » Wed Dec 05, 2012 3:54 pm

We in the state shop fixed them on daily bases, if isn't flex then go replace the head and if that does not help next is this part that like I said fails always.Actually it is not that hard to replace it.
User avatar
t95mwp
Batboard $upporter
 
Posts: 252
Joined: Sun Nov 24, 2002 3:32 pm
Location: Golden State

Re: XTL2500 FL01-90 Error Then Maintenance Mode

Postby KG4LHQ » Wed Dec 05, 2012 7:09 pm

Pm sent asking for more info.
KG4LHQ
 
Posts: 635
Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2004 1:50 am

Re: XTL2500 FL01-90 Error Then Maintenance Mode

Postby MSS-Dave » Thu Dec 06, 2012 6:31 am

If you can get a hold of a rear connector serial cable (sorry, I can't find the P/N at the moment), that MAY work. That is what ended up working on my failures. I just happened to have the full complement of cables available at the time. I have had dead radios that got sent to the depot but either was a fuse in the control head or they just swapped the whole head under warranty. Never sent one out for 01/90 or Maintenance Mode.

At least with trying the cable, you don't have to dig into the guts of the thing.
User avatar
MSS-Dave
 
Posts: 706
Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2003 6:02 pm
Location: Florida
What radios do you own?: APX7000, XTS2500i, XPR6580


Return to General Motorola Radio Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot] and 12 guests