Users may not create topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the following material (especially pertaining to Motorola copyrighted software, unless you want Motorola to come along and shut this site down):

  • Listing for sale or trade of, or links to sites offering for sale or trade of, or giving away, Radio
    Service Software (RSS) or Customer Programming Software (CPS)
  • Profanity, pornography, defamation, or slanderous remarks directed towards any individual or entity
  • Commercial advertising (except in the Batboard Vendors forum, as approved by the Admin/Mod Staff)
  • Any other items which may be deemed as offensive

If any topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the aforementioned material are brought to the attention of the Admin/Mod Staff, they will be deleted.

Additional FAQ items appear here in Forum Rules. Please review them for posting guidelines and further clarification.

Repeater id-o-matic to R.I.C.K box

The General forum is where users can discuss any topic regarding Motorola communications equipment - hardware, software, etc. There are also several focused forums on this board, so please take the time to ensure that your questions doesn't fall into one of those categories before posting here!

Moderator: Queue Moderator

kb3ayy
New User
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun May 16, 2010 4:36 am

Repeater id-o-matic to R.I.C.K box

Postby kb3ayy » Tue Mar 26, 2013 1:46 pm

Ok ,I wired this up just like it said, the ider ids just like it should and it sounds good.
Now the problem, when tramitting I get no audio through,disconnect the ider from the rick box and I get audio, is it settings in the rick box or am I missing something?

From the RICK J4 to the ID-O-Matic
Pin 2 - MIC In to the Audio Out
Pin 3 - PTT to PTT
Pin 7 - Gnd to Gnd
Pin 8 - COR to Start.
Thanks Ed
Kb3ayy

fineshot1
Posts: 747
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2005 5:13 am
Location: NJ USA
Contact:

Re: Repeater id-o-matic to R.I.C.K box

Postby fineshot1 » Wed Mar 27, 2013 5:59 am

kb3ayy wrote:Ok ,I wired this up just like it said, the ider ids just like it should and it sounds good.
Now the problem, when tramitting I get no audio through,disconnect the ider from the rick box and I get audio, is it settings in the rick box or am I missing something?

From the RICK J4 to the ID-O-Matic
Pin 2 - MIC In to the Audio Out
Pin 3 - PTT to PTT
Pin 7 - Gnd to Gnd
Pin 8 - COR to Start.
Thanks Ed
Kb3ayy


You are very confused. The ID-O-Matic takes the place of the RICK.

Total configuration please?
fineshot1
NJ USA

kb3ayy
New User
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun May 16, 2010 4:36 am

Re: Repeater id-o-matic to R.I.C.K box

Postby kb3ayy » Wed Mar 27, 2013 8:08 am

This is the configuration, it was posted on this forum
In 2006. I got the repeater for nothing and it was all setup
as a repeater in a commercial environment so I didn't
change anything to the radios except for the freqs and no
changes were made to the rick box.

From the RICK J4 to the ID-O-Matic
Pin 2 - MIC In to the Audio Out
Pin 3 - PTT to PTT
Pin 7 - Gnd to Gnd
Pin 8 - COR to Start.

fineshot1
Posts: 747
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2005 5:13 am
Location: NJ USA
Contact:

Re: Repeater id-o-matic to R.I.C.K box

Postby fineshot1 » Wed Mar 27, 2013 12:27 pm

kb3ayy wrote:This is the configuration, it was posted on this forum
In 2006. I got the repeater for nothing and it was all setup
as a repeater in a commercial environment so I didn't
change anything to the radios except for the freqs and no
changes were made to the rick box.

From the RICK J4 to the ID-O-Matic
Pin 2 - MIC In to the Audio Out
Pin 3 - PTT to PTT
Pin 7 - Gnd to Gnd
Pin 8 - COR to Start.


In a repeater configuration you would NEVER normally use both a RICK and the ID-O-Matic
so who ever originally set this up was either drunk or did not know what they were doing.
The ID-O-Matic takes the place of the RICK and can serve as a simple repeater controller
even better than the RICK which has no ID capability. Go here and download this pdf as
it seems you may need it. http://www.hamgadgets.com/pdf/ID-O-Mati ... ooting.pdf
fineshot1
NJ USA

Will
Posts: 6812
Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2001 4:00 pm

Re: Repeater id-o-matic to R.I.C.K box

Postby Will » Wed Mar 27, 2013 6:25 pm

The ID-O-Matic II now replaces the R.I.C.K. So all you need is the ID-O-Matic II as it does all the passing of the audio, Time Out Timer, and ID.

You do not have the latest ID-O-Matic PDF that has the info to connect two Mototola radios as a repeater.

Send me an PM with an email for the latest document.

kb3ayy
New User
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun May 16, 2010 4:36 am

Re: Repeater id-o-matic to R.I.C.K box

Postby kb3ayy » Sat Mar 30, 2013 9:11 am

I removed the rick box and I wired it up just like it said, changed the caps, I moved the cor to high and I get an id but no courtesy beep and no audio.
moved the cor to low and I get a courtesy beep, id but no audio?
It has to be a setting in the radios ?
Thx Ed

Will
Posts: 6812
Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2001 4:00 pm

Re: Repeater id-o-matic to R.I.C.K box

Postby Will » Sat Mar 30, 2013 2:34 pm

Ed did you check for RX audio on the RX radio pin 11?

kb3ayy
New User
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun May 16, 2010 4:36 am

Re: Repeater id-o-matic to R.I.C.K box

Postby kb3ayy » Sat Mar 30, 2013 6:27 pm

Thx will I got it to work sounds good.
Thanks agian

Ed


Return to “General Motorola Solutions & Legacy Radio Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], Bing [Bot], Google [Bot], Vcom, Yahoo [Bot] and 7 guests