Users may not create topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the following material (especially pertaining to Motorola copyrighted software, unless you want Motorola to come along and shut this site down):

  • Listing for sale or trade of, or links to sites offering for sale or trade of, or giving away, Radio
    Service Software (RSS) or Customer Programming Software (CPS)
  • Profanity, pornography, defamation, or slanderous remarks directed towards any individual or entity
  • Commercial advertising (except in the Batboard Vendors forum, as approved by the Admin/Mod Staff)
  • Any other items which may be deemed as offensive

If any topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the aforementioned material are brought to the attention of the Admin/Mod Staff, they will be deleted.

Additional FAQ items appear here in Forum Rules. Please review them for posting guidelines and further clarification.

CDM 1550 lights not working at all

The General forum is where users can discuss any topic regarding Motorola communications equipment - hardware, software, etc. There are also several focused forums on this board, so please take the time to ensure that your questions doesn't fall into one of those categories before posting here!

Moderator: Queue Moderator

Amirhhassani
New User
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Aug 07, 2017 10:31 am

CDM 1550 lights not working at all

Postby Amirhhassani » Sat Aug 19, 2017 6:54 am

hey guys, so i couldnt figure this issue out yet. i have a cdm 1550 and all the lights are out; scan light, channel busy light, open monitor, and all the green background light! im using remote head and i tested it with another radio, it works perfect! all the lights and everything come up. but as soon as i hook it up to the other radio, none of the lights work! using the same flex and cables and... so i dont think its a flex issue! i appreciate it if anyone has any comment?

User avatar
jackhackett
Posts: 1401
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 8:52 am

Re: CDM 1550 lights not working at all

Postby jackhackett » Sat Aug 19, 2017 5:36 pm

The three most likely things are:
1) Radio programmed for 'follow ignition only' and no ignition sense connected.
2) Bad reference oscillator. The 16.8MHz oscillator goes bad and the radio will not power up.
3) Blown control head power fuse. Small surface mount fuse or some cases a thin circuit board trace provides 12 volts to the control head.

See these two threads:
http://batboard.batlabs.com/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=109565
http://batboard.batlabs.com/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=110324

Amirhhassani
New User
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Aug 07, 2017 10:31 am

Re: CDM 1550 lights not working at all

Postby Amirhhassani » Sun Aug 20, 2017 5:50 am

tnx for replying. so the radio works by itself! i hear all the traffic and... just lights are not working! and its programmed to follow ignition and on/off.
so the only one that might be correct is 3 which i dont know to fix that fuse!

User avatar
jackhackett
Posts: 1401
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 8:52 am

Re: CDM 1550 lights not working at all

Postby jackhackett » Sun Aug 20, 2017 8:18 am

The location of that fuse depends on which circuit board the radio has. Can you tell us the model number of the radio?

Amirhhassani
New User
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Aug 07, 2017 10:31 am

Re: CDM 1550 lights not working at all

Postby Amirhhassani » Mon Aug 21, 2017 10:26 am

AAM25KKF9AA5AN

User avatar
jackhackett
Posts: 1401
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 8:52 am

Re: CDM 1550 lights not working at all

Postby jackhackett » Tue Aug 22, 2017 6:26 pm

This should be where the fuse F0401 is, near the connector that the control head plugs into. It's a 3A surface mount fuse. It can be tested with an ohmmeter (with power disconnected from the radio of course).

Image

Amirhhassani
New User
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Aug 07, 2017 10:31 am

Re: CDM 1550 lights not working at all

Postby Amirhhassani » Fri Aug 25, 2017 12:22 pm

couldnt find it, would you please post a picture?

User avatar
jackhackett
Posts: 1401
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 8:52 am

Re: CDM 1550 lights not working at all

Postby jackhackett » Fri Aug 25, 2017 7:04 pm

Sorry, I did try to post a picture, but apparently photobucket won't let you share pictures without paying anymore(at $40/month... not going to happen), and batboard has no way to upload pictures. I'll see if I can figure something else out.

User avatar
tuckerm
Posts: 519
Joined: Thu Jun 10, 2010 12:21 pm

Re: CDM 1550 lights not working at all

Postby tuckerm » Sat Aug 26, 2017 5:32 pm

imgur.com is free and reliable.
Schrodinger's Radio: It is simultaneously too loud and too quiet, but you will never know which until someone transmits.


Return to “General Motorola Solutions & Legacy Radio Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Victor Xray and 7 guests