Users may not create topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the following material (especially pertaining to Motorola copyrighted software, unless you want Motorola to come along and shut this site down):

  • Listing for sale or trade of, or links to sites offering for sale or trade of, or giving away, Radio
    Service Software (RSS) or Customer Programming Software (CPS)
  • Profanity, pornography, defamation, or slanderous remarks directed towards any individual or entity
  • Commercial advertising (except in the Batboard Vendors forum, as approved by the Admin/Mod Staff)
  • Any other items which may be deemed as offensive

If any topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the aforementioned material are brought to the attention of the Admin/Mod Staff, they will be deleted.

Additional FAQ items appear here in Forum Rules. Please review them for posting guidelines and further clarification.

Maxtrac 144-174 split?

The General forum is where users can discuss any topic regarding Motorola communications equipment - hardware, software, etc. There are also several focused forums on this board, so please take the time to ensure that your questions doesn't fall into one of those categories before posting here!

Moderator: Queue Moderator

New User
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Jul 29, 2017 7:27 pm

Maxtrac 144-174 split?

Postby Xnke » Tue Dec 12, 2017 12:01 am

So I'm in the middle of converting one of my VHF Maxtracs to 2 meter amateur operation and was checking the RF board. Instead of finding a 4322B 146-174 split board, I found a 4322C 144-174 RF board.

Does there exist a part number or RSS version that will allow me to use the 144-174 split that the RF board will do?

Posts: 637
Joined: Sat Aug 12, 2006 10:43 am

Re: Maxtrac 144-174 split?

Postby Satelite » Tue Dec 12, 2017 7:13 am

I'm not familiar with a 144 to 174 split but yes the 146 to 174 split but.
I recall rf bd numbers 4322B and 4322C being pretty much the same bds just that the B and C was newer revision of bd only.
However new revision could have given the 144 bottom end that I wont say yes or no because I honestly don't know.
But id bet my last dollars its still the same conventional rss that reads and programs it.
If your not aware of the shift key trick to get out of band programming down to 144 MHz then read on.
True when you read a maxtrac radio it does normally specify 146 to 176 MHz and wont let you enter directly an out side freq below or above the 146 to 174 split.
But if you wanted for example 144.500 MHz = Do this = With the shift key pressed and held only for the numbers and DO NOT press shift key for the dot in the freq entered youll get the radio to accept the out of band freq you want if not too far out of band for rf bd to lock on yet.
So for example 144.500,with the shift key trick would look like this on screen when you enter it into the maxtrac !$$.%)) but after programmed radio will read as 144.500.
If you look at number 1 on your computer key bd youll see that a 1 in shift key is ! and 2 is @ and 3 is # and so forth just remember DO NOT enter the dot after 144 in shift key enter it as a dot . not shift >
Hopefully I was of some help.
Thank you

Karl NVW
Posts: 64
Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2003 7:13 am

Re: Maxtrac 144-174 split?

Postby Karl NVW » Thu Dec 21, 2017 12:16 pm

The bandsplits are caused by both the synthesizer programming and RF switch filtering on the PA board. The traditional splits of 146-162 and 162-174 were normal in the USA, and I recall seeing a compromised third version built just for Uncle Sam's 136-150.8 window.

Posts: 637
Joined: Sat Aug 12, 2006 10:43 am

Re: Maxtrac 144-174 split?

Postby Satelite » Thu Dec 21, 2017 4:26 pm

I'm confused.
My American Motorola Maxtrac repair manual shows only:
VHF range one as 136 to 162 MHz and VHF range two as 146 to 174 MHz for USA,
Doesn't make much sense to make a radio for uncle sam in 136 to 150.8 MHz when VHF range one covered that plus.
And 146 to 162 when usa has 136 to 162 MHz doesn't make sense either.
162 to 174 would be odd with VHF range Two already covering that plus too.
Never know bout Motorola though soooo ????

Posts: 206
Joined: Wed Dec 17, 2003 10:09 am
What radios do you own?: XTS5000 VHF, XTL5000 UHF/VHF

Re: Maxtrac 144-174 split?

Postby uman18 » Sun Dec 24, 2017 5:56 pm

I had about 25 surplus Maxtracs that came from the South Pole, Antarctic program. all were 136-162 split.

Return to “General Motorola Solutions & Legacy Radio Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider] and 4 guests