MCS2000 out of band HELP

The General forum is where users can discuss any topic regarding Motorola communications equipment - hardware, software, etc. There are also several focused forums on this board, so please take the time to ensure that your questions doesn't fall into one of those categories before posting here!

Moderator: Queue Moderator

MCS2000 out of band HELP

Postby motisking » Tue Nov 11, 2003 7:38 pm

OK. After trying two methods to take an MCS2000 (model # MM01KLN9PW6AN) down to 144 MHz operations I surrender...

Method # 1 - The old hold down the shift key trick. NOPE

Method # 2 - Hex editor - I cannot find the band limit field.

I am I just doing something wrong or what?

P.S. I am using the latest RSS. (CPS 01.10.00 and DOS R05.07.00)
User avatar
motisking
Batboard $upporter
 
Posts: 356
Joined: Fri May 10, 2002 2:55 pm
Location: Los Angeles California

Re: MCS2000 out of band HELP

Postby wavetar » Wed Nov 12, 2003 9:11 am

motisking wrote:
I am I just doing something wrong or what?



Must be. I found the bandsplits no problem, following the MTSX instructions. In DOS 5.07.00, I found the bandsplit on line 000180E0, and the lower frequency limit on line 000186D0. Change the "34" to a "32" to lower the 146 to 144. You can use a lower value in place of "32", depending on how far down you want to go. I don't have a 146-174MHz codeplug to try this out with. You could email it to me if you wish.

Todd
No trees were harmed in the posting of this message...however an extraordinarily large number of electrons were horribly inconvenienced.

Welcome to the /\/\achine.
User avatar
wavetar
Administrator
 
Posts: 7091
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: Halifax, Canada

Thanks Wavetar

Postby motisking » Thu Nov 13, 2003 4:36 pm

Thanks Wavetar !

I am not that computer / hex editor savvy , which Wavetar was kind enough to point out, but with a few minutes of help he pointed out that the MCS.ODB file is the RSS, where as I was looking in the codeplug.

If this was eBay I would give Wavetar feedback that would look something like this...

Thanks for help. One of Batlabs finest! AAA+++
User avatar
motisking
Batboard $upporter
 
Posts: 356
Joined: Fri May 10, 2002 2:55 pm
Location: Los Angeles California

Postby wavetar » Fri Nov 14, 2003 7:41 pm

Thank-you, motisking. I am truly here to help out, & do when I can. I only now checked & received your codeplug via email. Can I now assume you no longer need me to verify whether it works or not?

Todd
No trees were harmed in the posting of this message...however an extraordinarily large number of electrons were horribly inconvenienced.

Welcome to the /\/\achine.
User avatar
wavetar
Administrator
 
Posts: 7091
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: Halifax, Canada

Postby motisking » Fri Nov 14, 2003 7:48 pm

No.

It is programmed and working great.

Thanks again.
User avatar
motisking
Batboard $upporter
 
Posts: 356
Joined: Fri May 10, 2002 2:55 pm
Location: Los Angeles California

MCS OUT OF BAND

Postby radar76 » Sat Nov 15, 2003 4:39 am

WAVETAR

This is an interesting post, i am trying for my ham license now and actually have an mcs2000 vhf in my truck :) I have only programmed it with the windows version of the mcs software, is there any way to modify this type of codeplug to streach into the ham band, or does it have to be done with the Dos rss? I dont have easy access to the dos rss, but i could make the hour plus drive to my buddys shop if it is the only way.

thanks
radar76
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Jul 22, 2003 2:40 am

Postby motisking » Sat Nov 15, 2003 4:25 pm

Hey radar76

I have both the DOS and the Windows versions of the RSS. To my knowledge the DOS version is the only one you can hack.

I have looked high and low in the Windows version for the band limits with no success. If some one does find it, this will help to hack the Waris Windows CPS.

P.S. Your are not hacking the codeplug, your modifying the ODB file in the RSS.
User avatar
motisking
Batboard $upporter
 
Posts: 356
Joined: Fri May 10, 2002 2:55 pm
Location: Los Angeles California

Postby radar76 » Sun Nov 16, 2003 4:06 am

MOTOISKING
I AM USING CPSVER R01.06.00 can i still go backwards and now read it with a dos version? I thought that you could not go backwards and use a dos version, if i can use a dos version what version can i use? thanks
radar
radar76
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Jul 22, 2003 2:40 am

Postby wavetar » Sun Nov 16, 2003 1:04 pm

radar76 wrote:MOTOISKING
I AM USING CPSVER R01.06.00 can i still go backwards and now read it with a dos version? I thought that you could not go backwards and use a dos version, if i can use a dos version what version can i use? thanks
radar


DOS RSS version 5.07.00 is compatible right up to CPS version 1.10.00

Todd
No trees were harmed in the posting of this message...however an extraordinarily large number of electrons were horribly inconvenienced.

Welcome to the /\/\achine.
User avatar
wavetar
Administrator
 
Posts: 7091
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: Halifax, Canada

Postby radar76 » Sun Nov 16, 2003 3:59 pm

thanks for the help

I will try to get my buddy at the shop help me out.
radar76
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Jul 22, 2003 2:40 am


Return to General Motorola Radio Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Majestic-12 [Bot] and 7 guests