Cap Code chart?

The General forum is where users can discuss any topic regarding Motorola communications equipment - hardware, software, etc. There are also several focused forums on this board, so please take the time to ensure that your questions doesn't fall into one of those categories before posting here!

Moderator: Queue Moderator

Cap Code chart?

Postby kb6nzv » Sun Aug 22, 2004 5:12 pm

Hi Guys,
Anybody got a cop-code chart handy? I need to find/make a board to
decode cap-code 206 to trip a horn relay for a fellow volunteer
fire fighter. What advice would you offer?
Thanks,
Phil
kb6nzv
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2004 5:07 pm
Location: Southern Oregon

Postby n9upc » Sun Aug 22, 2004 5:31 pm

Is it Motorola GE or what kind of capcode?

Also it should either be a 4 digit or 3 digit with a letter infront such as B206, c206, etc...

Reply back with that info and I or I am sure someone else can help you.

Also the other alternative is to use CoolEdit and have the page sent and decode it using CoolEdit.
" ah the fatman made a funny!" - Stewie from the family guy.

I went to the doctor and all he did was just suck blood. Never go to Dr Acula - M. Hedberg
User avatar
n9upc
 
Posts: 860
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2002 3:43 pm
Location: Where we use the heater at night, and AC during the day!!!

Motorola Cap-code

Postby kb6nzv » Sun Aug 22, 2004 5:41 pm

Hi and thanks for the reply!
The pagers we use are Motorola and I was just told cap-code 206
but I'm not otherwise sure of the tones.
I've not heard of 'cooledit', is that a tone-decode program
I could use to identify the two seperate freqs?
73,
Phil
kb6nzv
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2004 5:07 pm
Location: Southern Oregon

Postby n9upc » Sun Aug 22, 2004 6:13 pm

I can check my chart tomorrow at work but you can get a donwload of cool edit for free (demo version) yet it still has an option where you can record in the audio and analyize the freq of the audio it hears.

Then take a look at a tone chart and get the correct freq.

Example I record a two tone page and it translated to: 981.3 for 1 second and 1099.8 for the 3 second. Looking on a tone chart you see 981.3 = 979.9 Hz and 1099.8 = 1094.2 Hz
" ah the fatman made a funny!" - Stewie from the family guy.

I went to the doctor and all he did was just suck blood. Never go to Dr Acula - M. Hedberg
User avatar
n9upc
 
Posts: 860
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2002 3:43 pm
Location: Where we use the heater at night, and AC during the day!!!

Thanks!

Postby kb6nzv » Sun Aug 22, 2004 6:36 pm

Thanks for taking the time to look it up.
Does any company still make dedicated decoder boards?
What I need to accomplish is to trip a horn relay for a remote
member of the FD who is frequently out of radio range but will
hear a horn go off on his truck.
73,
Phil
kb6nzv
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2004 5:07 pm
Location: Southern Oregon

Postby John » Sun Aug 22, 2004 7:37 pm

Try the Midian Electronics charts. They are at this link in PDF format.

http://www.midians.com/pdf/tone_signaling.pdf

John
John
 
Posts: 357
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: Roanoke VA

Postby Jay911 » Sun Aug 22, 2004 8:31 pm

"206" is incomplete, that could mean a number of things.

If you default to the most common code group around here, B, then B206 ends up being 1 sec of 569.1 followed by 3 sec of 788.5. Are you familiar with the tone you're supposed to be generating? Is this it?

Is it tone code 206? 2271.7 would be one long tone for (I think) 8 seconds. This is what that would sound like.

Is it a Minitor II pager? Does it have the capcode printed on a label at the bottom of the belt clip? It should have a letter before it.
User avatar
Jay911
 
Posts: 203
Joined: Wed Mar 06, 2002 4:00 pm
Location: At the edge of radio range

Postby ka6sqg » Mon Aug 23, 2004 4:53 am

"206" is probably "group 2, tone 0" followed by "group 2, tone 6". fairly standard way of talking about quickcall II.

that'd be 569.1, 788.5

i run http://www.firescan.net and can run any recorded quickcall I or quickcall II tones through the same software, given a recording.
ka6sqg
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Aug 12, 2004 11:08 pm

pager frequencies confirmed!

Postby kb6nzv » Tue Aug 24, 2004 10:54 am

Hi Guys,

Thanks for your help! I've confirmed 569.1 and 788.5
as the tones to be decoded. Now then, are there any
companies (like CES) that sell decoder boards that
can trip a horn relay?
kb6nzv
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2004 5:07 pm
Location: Southern Oregon

Postby n9upc » Tue Aug 24, 2004 1:50 pm

You can set-up some radios so that when the capcode is decode it will set off the emergency output pins on the back of some radios. This sometimes pulls to ground and that can trip your relay for a horn.

Otherwise check with midians or maybe Communication specialists.
" ah the fatman made a funny!" - Stewie from the family guy.

I went to the doctor and all he did was just suck blood. Never go to Dr Acula - M. Hedberg
User avatar
n9upc
 
Posts: 860
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2002 3:43 pm
Location: Where we use the heater at night, and AC during the day!!!

Postby OX » Tue Aug 24, 2004 8:01 pm

Doesn't the Spectra support H/L on alert decode?
OX
 
Posts: 1321
Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: Ohio

keeping it simple

Postby kb6nzv » Sat Aug 28, 2004 6:53 pm

Hi Guys,
Thanks for all your feedback! I've decided the easiest thing to do will be
to adapt a minitor-II pager for the task. Since it will only trip during a
page I'll just add an external audio amp to drive an exterior pa speaker.
Do any of the terminals on the base of that pager-type provide for an
antenna connection to improve reception? The terrain here is very rough
and with many steep ravines and canyons that make reception difficult.
Many of the firefighters in this area are ranchers, so adding this to the top
of the dashboard will be no problem.
73,
Phil
kb6nzv
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2004 5:07 pm
Location: Southern Oregon

Postby n9upc » Sat Aug 28, 2004 7:55 pm

There was an amplified base made for the M2's at one time. You basically would slide the pager into the base and on the back had a BNC connector for an external antenna, as well as a DIN plug which is where you hooked up power for the base as well as obtained your contact closure once the pager was alerted.

Good move with the M2 as it has a far better RX'cver in it then the M3 or M4 IMO.
" ah the fatman made a funny!" - Stewie from the family guy.

I went to the doctor and all he did was just suck blood. Never go to Dr Acula - M. Hedberg
User avatar
n9upc
 
Posts: 860
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2002 3:43 pm
Location: Where we use the heater at night, and AC during the day!!!

Postby c17loadsmasher » Thu Sep 02, 2004 1:12 pm

In the Centracom Console at work, it shows the pager code for my fire department as 6022 under QuickCall IIB....I can't find that anywhere in the chart...maybe I'm just not reading it correctly :oops: Anyone? lol
Plain language is the DEVIL. Ten-Codes Forever!!!
User avatar
c17loadsmasher
 
Posts: 200
Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2003 7:26 pm
Location: Charleston (Goose Creek), SC

Postby Jay911 » Thu Sep 02, 2004 1:44 pm

c17loadsmasher wrote:In the Centracom Console at work, it shows the pager code for my fire department as 6022 under QuickCall IIB....I can't find that anywhere in the chart...maybe I'm just not reading it correctly :oops: Anyone? lol


You gotta convert that to a different format. That's in Centracom hex format, and you want QCII format.

I found a program on the web (on here, I think) and made it available on my webspace:

http://www.jay911.org/radio/paging.zip

If you run the program and select the appropriate conversion, it should tell you the tones you need - and you can convert those to codes as well.

I just ran the program (CCII.EXE) on hex 6022 and got 757.5 for both tones. Are your tones one long tone of the same frequency?
User avatar
Jay911
 
Posts: 203
Joined: Wed Mar 06, 2002 4:00 pm
Location: At the edge of radio range

Postby c17loadsmasher » Thu Sep 02, 2004 4:36 pm

Yes....one loooong tone. Thanks...
Plain language is the DEVIL. Ten-Codes Forever!!!
User avatar
c17loadsmasher
 
Posts: 200
Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2003 7:26 pm
Location: Charleston (Goose Creek), SC

Cap Code chart?

Postby Nand » Thu Sep 02, 2004 4:49 pm

http://www.batlabs.com/qcii.html

http://www.batlabs.com/qciitbl2.html

I stumbled on this website using Google. They have the info you need.

Nand.
Nand
 
Posts: 1690
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2001 4:00 pm


Return to General Motorola Radio Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot] and 4 guests