Astro Spectra won't receive

The General forum is where users can discuss any topic regarding Motorola communications equipment - hardware, software, etc. There are also several focused forums on this board, so please take the time to ensure that your questions doesn't fall into one of those categories before posting here!

Moderator: Queue Moderator

Astro Spectra won't receive

Postby KB8YGX » Thu Sep 02, 2010 10:23 am

The radio transmits just fine. I am unable to get it to receive. Put it in monitor mode, turned the squelch down all the way and I receive white noise, but nothing else.
User avatar
KB8YGX
New User
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2007 10:12 am
Location: 5-H South of the airport
What radios do you own?: AS W7,AS III,XTS2500,HT1250

Re: Astro Spectra won't receive

Postby Bill_G » Sat Sep 04, 2010 5:01 am

Time to go through the receive chain to determine the problem. Most likely on the rf board since it is completely deaf.
User avatar
Bill_G
 
Posts: 2590
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2009 5:00 am
Location: Portland, OR

Re: Astro Spectra won't receive

Postby motorola_otaku » Mon Sep 06, 2010 1:17 pm

There's not a lot that will completely kill receive in a Spectra, Astro or otherwise, without causing some other symptom like FAIL 001 or no transmit. The one time I've encountered it, it turned out to be the receive RF cable coming off the PA not being plugged in.
When exposed to Rapid Fire Growth or Thermal Emergency, two things are lost:
1. Ability to use fine motor skills
2. Presence of mind
User avatar
motorola_otaku
 
Posts: 1517
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 7:03 am
Location: Mitakihara
What radios do you own?: 2 turntables and a microphone

Re: Astro Spectra won't receive

Postby KB8YGX » Tue Sep 07, 2010 7:06 am

motorola_otaku wrote:There's not a lot that will completely kill receive in a Spectra, Astro or otherwise, without causing some other symptom like FAIL 001 or no transmit. The one time I've encountered it, it turned out to be the receive RF cable coming off the PA not being plugged in.

That's exactly what it was, Josh. Thanks all for the help.
User avatar
KB8YGX
New User
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2007 10:12 am
Location: 5-H South of the airport
What radios do you own?: AS W7,AS III,XTS2500,HT1250

Re: Astro Spectra won't receive

Postby motorola_otaku » Tue Sep 07, 2010 12:54 pm

Hey, everybody likes a simple fix. :D

It's funny too because I did the exact opposite a couple of weeks ago.. got a radio put together and singing the hymns on receive, but not so much as a milliwatt out. Got it ripped back apart and discovered that I had jammed a new-style plug on the TX line from the RF board to the VCO into an older-style connector on the RF board resulting in open connection. Luls ensued.
When exposed to Rapid Fire Growth or Thermal Emergency, two things are lost:
1. Ability to use fine motor skills
2. Presence of mind
User avatar
motorola_otaku
 
Posts: 1517
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 7:03 am
Location: Mitakihara
What radios do you own?: 2 turntables and a microphone

Re: Astro Spectra won't receive

Postby Will » Tue Sep 07, 2010 1:00 pm

That happens when someone mixes up the different sub-assemblies in Spectra and Astro Spectra radios.

Some times these connectors are damaged or broken beyond repair.
Will
 
Posts: 6721
Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2001 4:00 pm


Return to General Motorola Radio Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 6 guests