Users may not create topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the following material (especially pertaining to Motorola copyrighted software, unless you want Motorola to come along and shut this site down):

  • Listing for sale or trade of, or links to sites offering for sale or trade of, or giving away, Radio
    Service Software (RSS) or Customer Programming Software (CPS)
  • Profanity, pornography, defamation, or slanderous remarks directed towards any individual or entity
  • Commercial advertising (except in the Batboard Vendors forum, as approved by the Admin/Mod Staff)
  • Any other items which may be deemed as offensive

If any topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the aforementioned material are brought to the attention of the Admin/Mod Staff, they will be deleted.

Additional FAQ items appear here in Forum Rules. Please review them for posting guidelines and further clarification.

Astro Spectra won't receive

The General forum is where users can discuss any topic regarding Motorola communications equipment - hardware, software, etc. There are also several focused forums on this board, so please take the time to ensure that your questions doesn't fall into one of those categories before posting here!

Moderator: Queue Moderator

User avatar
KB8YGX
New User
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2007 10:12 am
What radios do you own?: AS W7,AS III,XTS2500,HT1250
Location: 5-H South of the airport

Astro Spectra won't receive

Postby KB8YGX » Thu Sep 02, 2010 10:23 am

The radio transmits just fine. I am unable to get it to receive. Put it in monitor mode, turned the squelch down all the way and I receive white noise, but nothing else.

User avatar
Bill_G
Posts: 2743
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2009 5:00 am
Location: Portland, OR

Re: Astro Spectra won't receive

Postby Bill_G » Sat Sep 04, 2010 5:01 am

Time to go through the receive chain to determine the problem. Most likely on the rf board since it is completely deaf.

User avatar
motorola_otaku
Posts: 1545
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 7:03 am
What radios do you own?: 2 turntables and a microphone
Location: Mitakihara
Contact:

Re: Astro Spectra won't receive

Postby motorola_otaku » Mon Sep 06, 2010 1:17 pm

There's not a lot that will completely kill receive in a Spectra, Astro or otherwise, without causing some other symptom like FAIL 001 or no transmit. The one time I've encountered it, it turned out to be the receive RF cable coming off the PA not being plugged in.
When exposed to Rapid Fire Growth or Thermal Emergency, two things are lost:
1. Ability to use fine motor skills
2. Presence of mind

User avatar
KB8YGX
New User
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2007 10:12 am
What radios do you own?: AS W7,AS III,XTS2500,HT1250
Location: 5-H South of the airport

Re: Astro Spectra won't receive

Postby KB8YGX » Tue Sep 07, 2010 7:06 am

motorola_otaku wrote:There's not a lot that will completely kill receive in a Spectra, Astro or otherwise, without causing some other symptom like FAIL 001 or no transmit. The one time I've encountered it, it turned out to be the receive RF cable coming off the PA not being plugged in.

That's exactly what it was, Josh. Thanks all for the help.

User avatar
motorola_otaku
Posts: 1545
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 7:03 am
What radios do you own?: 2 turntables and a microphone
Location: Mitakihara
Contact:

Re: Astro Spectra won't receive

Postby motorola_otaku » Tue Sep 07, 2010 12:54 pm

Hey, everybody likes a simple fix. :D

It's funny too because I did the exact opposite a couple of weeks ago.. got a radio put together and singing the hymns on receive, but not so much as a milliwatt out. Got it ripped back apart and discovered that I had jammed a new-style plug on the TX line from the RF board to the VCO into an older-style connector on the RF board resulting in open connection. Luls ensued.
When exposed to Rapid Fire Growth or Thermal Emergency, two things are lost:
1. Ability to use fine motor skills
2. Presence of mind

Will
Posts: 6821
Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2001 4:00 pm

Re: Astro Spectra won't receive

Postby Will » Tue Sep 07, 2010 1:00 pm

That happens when someone mixes up the different sub-assemblies in Spectra and Astro Spectra radios.

Some times these connectors are damaged or broken beyond repair.


Return to “General Motorola Solutions & Legacy Radio Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Majestic-12 [Bot], Yahoo [Bot] and 2 guests