Users may not create topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the following material (especially pertaining to Motorola copyrighted software, unless you want Motorola to come along and shut this site down):

  • Listing for sale or trade of, or links to sites offering for sale or trade of, or giving away, Radio
    Service Software (RSS) or Customer Programming Software (CPS)
  • Profanity, pornography, defamation, or slanderous remarks directed towards any individual or entity
  • Commercial advertising (except in the Batboard Vendors forum, as approved by the Admin/Mod Staff)
  • Any other items which may be deemed as offensive

If any topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the aforementioned material are brought to the attention of the Admin/Mod Staff, they will be deleted.

Additional FAQ items appear here in Forum Rules. Please review them for posting guidelines and further clarification.

astro tac receiver

This forum is for discussions regarding System Infrastructure and Related Equipment. This includes but is not limited to repeaters, base stations, consoles, voters, Voice over IP, system design and implementation, and other related topics.

Moderator: Queue Moderator

RTESTP25
New User
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2007 12:00 pm

astro tac receiver

Postby RTESTP25 » Thu Aug 28, 2014 4:31 am

Does a stock astro tac receiver work with v.24? Does it need daughter board on line driver.

User avatar
Bill_G
Posts: 3058
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2009 5:00 am

Re: astro tac receiver

Postby Bill_G » Thu Aug 28, 2014 5:58 am

RTESTP25 wrote:Does a stock astro tac receiver work with v.24? Does it need daughter board on line driver.


The v24 modem has always been a daughter board attached to the wireline card. I don't think there is any native ability built into the wireline card.

User avatar
d119
Posts: 3436
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2002 4:00 pm

Re: astro tac receiver

Postby d119 » Thu Aug 28, 2014 9:30 am

Keep in mind that on the ATAC Receiver, the wireline and power supply cards are the same thing.

The manual states the following:

"Wireline Circuitry - processed audio and digital data (ASTRO, V.24) to/from the customer telephone lines (via the Wireline Interface Board). In addition, the board contains a connector to accept one modem card. This card is required to interface with a 9.6kbps (ASTRO) input."

Now we all know on the Quantar, you can either use the V.24 daughtercard and get the serial data out of the station, or put ASTRO modems on the wireline card, and get modem (audio) out of it for transmission over 4-wire circuits. The above statement is somewhat ambiguous, as it doesn't really tell you anything about the two different options, if they are even available on the AstroTAC receiver.

Now looking through the manual under the installation section is the "V.24 Modem Connector", and it says this:

"RJ-48 connector J8 provides a V.24 modem interface for connection to an external V.24 modem. This connection is typically used in 6809 trunking applications to connect the ASTRO-TAC Receiver to the V.24 mdoem connection in a microwave system, or directly to a co-located ASTRO-TAC Comparator."

"NOTE: DIP Switch S100 must be set according to the V.24 connection. Refer to the photo on Page 2 of the Wireline/Power Supply Module section in this manual for details."

And that photo says:

"S100: Position 1: ON for LOCAL ASTRO TAC COMPARATOR, OFF FOR CONNECTION TO MICROWAVE SYSTEM. Position 2: OFF FOR LOCAL ASTRO TAC COMPARATOR, ON FOR CONNECTION TO MICROWAVE SYSTEM. Position 3: N/A Position 4: N/A"

So what I would surmise from all of this is is that J8 is the V.24 connector and no further hardware is required to use it. If you want to use the *internal* 9600 baud modems to backhaul the recevier V.24 data over 4-wire leased lines, you must install an ASTRO modem card on the wireline board.

That's just my interpretation. Hope some of this helps.

User avatar
Astro Spectra
Posts: 611
Joined: Sat Sep 22, 2001 4:00 pm

Re: astro tac receiver

Postby Astro Spectra » Thu Aug 28, 2014 11:10 am

Confirm that V.24 functionality is built.

You can still use an leased circuit modem if you wish, the J300 header is the same as on a normal W/L card.

User avatar
Bill_G
Posts: 3058
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2009 5:00 am

Re: astro tac receiver

Postby Bill_G » Thu Aug 28, 2014 7:42 pm

Interesting. Must be a few different kinds of Astro equipment out there. All the v24 I've seen went to a daughterboard clipped to the wireline card. Learn something new everyday.

User avatar
Astro Spectra
Posts: 611
Joined: Sat Sep 22, 2001 4:00 pm

Re: astro tac receiver

Postby Astro Spectra » Sat Aug 30, 2014 4:48 pm

Indeed ... for your view pleasure here is the WL card for the Astro TAC Receiver

Image

Same J300 but with V.24 built in.

User avatar
MotoFAN
Posts: 1001
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2007 6:46 am
What radios do you own?: Approx. 50: Moto & Kenwood

Re: astro tac receiver

Postby MotoFAN » Mon May 08, 2017 2:42 am

Bill_G wrote:Interesting. Must be a few different kinds of Astro equipment out there. All the v24 I've seen went to a daughterboard clipped to the wireline card. Learn something new everyday.

Hi!

I am not a Quantar / ATAC guru, but I am reading throught manual for a few days (not for a first time, LOL). Looks like you're talking about Astro 9.6 kbps optional board (X437AA option), but not V.24 modem! V.24 modem is built-in and always presented in Astro-TAC.

Look at this picture:

Image
I am biggest fan of XTS2500 and ASTRO Digital Saber.


Return to “Base Stations, Repeaters, General Infrastructure”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests