Users may not create topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the following material (especially pertaining to Motorola copyrighted software, unless you want Motorola to come along and shut this site down):

  • Listing for sale or trade of, or links to sites offering for sale or trade of, or giving away, Radio
    Service Software (RSS) or Customer Programming Software (CPS)
  • Profanity, pornography, defamation, or slanderous remarks directed towards any individual or entity
  • Commercial advertising (except in the Batboard Vendors forum, as approved by the Admin/Mod Staff)
  • Any other items which may be deemed as offensive

If any topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the aforementioned material are brought to the attention of the Admin/Mod Staff, they will be deleted.

Additional FAQ items appear here in Forum Rules. Please review them for posting guidelines and further clarification.

Commscope Coax?

This forum is for discussions regarding System Infrastructure and Related Equipment. This includes but is not limited to repeaters, base stations, consoles, voters, Voice over IP, system design and implementation, and other related topics.

Moderator: Queue Moderator

Rayjk110
Banned
Posts: 1183
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2005 4:10 pm

Commscope Coax?

Postby Rayjk110 » Sun Feb 12, 2006 7:45 pm

Hello. I have been using about ~30 feet of Commscope E82833 (white in color, and a little bit thinner than rg8) that goes to a 4.5db gain Antenna (comet gp-3) at about 40ft in the air (ground-to-tip) to a CDM1250 Base. It seems to work quite well, altho I have never really heard of CommScope. Is this type of coax good?

Again, I'm just not familiar with the make or model, so any opinoins or comments are appreciated. Thanks.

Bob W
Posts: 142
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2001 4:00 pm

Postby Bob W » Mon Feb 13, 2006 4:20 pm

You ask whether Commscope cable is good. We've used ALOT of cellreach cable. It's very good. I'm not certain exactly what cable you've got. There's typically words - cell reach, extremeflex, etc. - on Commscope wireless cables. They make an awful lot of CATV stuff, so it's possible you've got 75 ohm cable. You wouldn't necessarily see a problem if that's what you have. Depending on length, it might just be more lossy. See if there's anything else on the jacket.

Rayjk110
Banned
Posts: 1183
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2005 4:10 pm

Postby Rayjk110 » Mon Feb 13, 2006 6:37 pm

Well, the full length of writing on the cable says:

COMMSCOPE NETWORK CABLE E82833 10 AWG SHEILDED 125 C (UL) TYPE CL2P HNS # 1010809 REV C MADE IN USA 3568 FT.

Bob W
Posts: 142
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2001 4:00 pm

Postby Bob W » Mon Feb 13, 2006 9:00 pm

It's 10-Base 5 coax. 50 ohm coax designed for carrying 10 Mbps data, and lots of DC current for "vampire taps". It's probably not terribly lossy at VHF frequencies, but it's really not designed or tested for anything but it's capabilities for transporting 10-base 5.

Rayjk110
Banned
Posts: 1183
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2005 4:10 pm

Postby Rayjk110 » Mon Feb 13, 2006 9:25 pm

Would RG8 be better? Or should I stick with this stuff?

Grog
On Moderation
Posts: 783
Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2001 4:00 pm

Postby Grog » Wed Feb 15, 2006 8:07 pm

Just as an interest note, I worked at the main Commscope plant in Catawba NC. I worked on the large stuff, from .500 to 1". It had about 1mil square feet.

It was a great place to work, til the layoff in 2001 :lol: :lol: :lol:

kmoose
Batboard $upporter
Posts: 593
Joined: Wed Sep 25, 2002 6:26 pm

Postby kmoose » Thu Feb 16, 2006 10:16 am

Grog wrote:Just as an interest note, I worked at the main Commscope plant in Catawba NC. I worked on the large stuff, from .500 to 1". It had about 1mil square feet.

It was a great place to work, til the layoff in 2001 :lol: :lol: :lol:


I worked on the fire alarm in the same plant, in 2000 and 2001, and most of the people I had contact with, there, seemed to really enjoy working there.

User avatar
M1225
Posts: 87
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2006 10:32 am
What radios do you own?: VHF M1225, Yaesu FT2800M

Postby M1225 » Sat Feb 18, 2006 11:00 am

I have some of this cable as well. it says comm/scope network cable0298 RG58 A/U typeE82833 IEEE 802.3 10 BASE 2 20 AWG TYPE CL2. I must say its the best RG58 I have seen. It also has the foil under the braid. I may use some of this for a base setup on the VHF high band. Dont know how good it will work but Ill give it a try!

mmmja5
New User
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2016 1:33 pm

Re: Commscope Coax?

Postby mmmja5 » Fri Nov 18, 2016 1:43 pm

I just put this coax up on my dual band antenna. Two meter 440, and it works great. I had this in my garage for ten years, bought at hamfest. It was pricey at the time. I love the foil under the braided shield. I purposely have about 30 extra feet than needed for moving around etc. Still has great reports from all that I talk too. Its also a little thinner than RG8 for comparison. I'm going to look for more of this if I see it at any of the hamfests. So far so good, I hope it holds up to the weather. Good Stuff...


Return to “Base Stations, Repeaters, General Infrastructure”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest