Users may not create topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the following material (especially pertaining to Motorola copyrighted software, unless you want Motorola to come along and shut this site down):

  • Listing for sale or trade of, or links to sites offering for sale or trade of, or giving away, Radio
    Service Software (RSS) or Customer Programming Software (CPS)
  • Profanity, pornography, defamation, or slanderous remarks directed towards any individual or entity
  • Commercial advertising (except in the Batboard Vendors forum, as approved by the Admin/Mod Staff)
  • Any other items which may be deemed as offensive

If any topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the aforementioned material are brought to the attention of the Admin/Mod Staff, they will be deleted.

Additional FAQ items appear here in Forum Rules. Please review them for posting guidelines and further clarification.

Motorola Quantar PA output question

This forum is for discussions regarding System Infrastructure and Related Equipment. This includes but is not limited to repeaters, base stations, consoles, voters, Voice over IP, system design and implementation, and other related topics.

Moderator: Queue Moderator

fixanythingman72
Posts: 59
Joined: Fri May 15, 2009 12:52 pm

Motorola Quantar PA output question

Postby fixanythingman72 » Thu May 12, 2011 7:15 pm

I just got a UHF R2 110watt Quantar. We are co-ordinated for 100W, we heard that when these PAs are run near full output they can be prone to failure. Does anyone have any experience with this? Should we run at 100w output?

User avatar
N4DES
was KS4VT
Posts: 1207
Joined: Thu Dec 25, 2003 7:59 am
What radios do you own?: APX,XTS2500,XTL2500,XTL1500

Re: Motorola Quantar PA output question

Postby N4DES » Fri May 13, 2011 12:06 pm

I have Quantars in 800 that run a constant data (control channel) 24/7/365 at 100 watts and they rarely fail.
They are a workhorse and probably rated for 3x what they actually deliver. I wouldn't worry about your UHF at all at 100 watts.

If your really concerned you can turn it down to 80 or 90 watts. No one in the field will see a difference in performance.

User avatar
Astro Spectra
Posts: 609
Joined: Sat Sep 22, 2001 4:00 pm

Re: Motorola Quantar PA output question

Postby Astro Spectra » Fri May 13, 2011 12:55 pm

Don't forget to factor your antenna gain and feeder loss in setting your transmitter power to meet the EIRP limit.

User avatar
escomm
Queue Moderator
Posts: 5131
Joined: Fri Mar 24, 2006 8:24 pm

Re: Motorola Quantar PA output question

Postby escomm » Fri May 13, 2011 12:57 pm

Just make sure you don't have the early model power supplies with the crap transistors or the silver chassis that flakes all over the damn place.

User avatar
Bill_G
Posts: 3056
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2009 5:00 am

Re: Motorola Quantar PA output question

Postby Bill_G » Fri May 13, 2011 4:12 pm

My experience is the UHF run and run for years at full power, but fail if run greater than 3db down (half).

User avatar
techtonics
Posts: 80
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2007 4:47 am

Re: Motorola Quantar PA output question

Postby techtonics » Fri May 13, 2011 6:22 pm

I have seen quantars at 120 watts with no issues at all

fineshot1
Posts: 910
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2005 5:13 am

Re: Motorola Quantar PA output question

Postby fineshot1 » Mon May 16, 2011 9:19 am

I guess i'm gonna be the one to inject clouds in the coffee.

We have 6 UHF TBand sites to cover our county(Moto SZ). Each site has 12 UHF R4 Quantars.

Total of 72 R4 Quantars.

On average we replace about 1 or 2 PA's a month and they are all set at about or just below 100W output.

Maybe its a TBand thing, not sure.

We also have some UHF R3 Quantars but they are so new I can't yet compare as we have had no PA's fail yet.

We also have some VHF R2 Quantars and they have been around for about 6 years now with no failures at all.
fineshot1
NJ USA

User avatar
515
Batboard $upporter
Posts: 295
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2001 4:00 pm

Re: Motorola Quantar PA output question

Postby 515 » Tue May 17, 2011 6:14 am

A system I had been involved with has a total of 12 UHF R1 Quantars all transmitting the Astro Modem data continuously. They are the 125 watt PA's, but the power was set around 30 watts on these links to reduce the amount of heat generated in the comm shelters. As far as I know, there have been no PA failures on those UHF links that have been in service for over 2 years now. They are all in climate controlled comm shelters, for what that's worth. I'm sure if those PA's were dropping like flies, I would have heard about it.

I've also heard from someone involved in a large statewide 800 MHz P25 system that most of their PA failures were on the voice channels, as opposed to the control channels which transmit 24/7. On this particular system, they don't normally rotate the control channels, so those PA's transmit for years at a time. It might have something to do with how the control channel PA just comes up to temp and stays there, where the voice channel PA's are constantly heat cycling...

User avatar
d119
Posts: 3436
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2002 4:00 pm

Re: Motorola Quantar PA output question

Postby d119 » Tue May 17, 2011 12:47 pm

fineshot1 wrote:I guess i'm gonna be the one to inject clouds in the coffee.

We have 6 UHF TBand sites to cover our county(Moto SZ). Each site has 12 UHF R4 Quantars.

Total of 72 R4 Quantars.

On average we replace about 1 or 2 PA's a month and they are all set at about or just below 100W output.

Maybe its a TBand thing, not sure.

We also have some UHF R3 Quantars but they are so new I can't yet compare as we have had no PA's fail yet.

We also have some VHF R2 Quantars and they have been around for about 6 years now with no failures at all.


It may just be a T-Band thing. I maintain several Quantars in different bands - VHF, UHF, UHF-T and 800MHz. I replace PA's on the T-Band units FAR more frequently than any other.


Return to “Base Stations, Repeaters, General Infrastructure”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Doug and 2 guests