Users may not create topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the following material (especially pertaining to Motorola copyrighted software, unless you want Motorola to come along and shut this site down):

  • Listing for sale or trade of, or links to sites offering for sale or trade of, or giving away, Radio
    Service Software (RSS) or Customer Programming Software (CPS)
  • Profanity, pornography, defamation, or slanderous remarks directed towards any individual or entity
  • Commercial advertising (except in the Batboard Vendors forum, as approved by the Admin/Mod Staff)
  • Any other items which may be deemed as offensive

If any topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the aforementioned material are brought to the attention of the Admin/Mod Staff, they will be deleted.

Additional FAQ items appear here in Forum Rules. Please review them for posting guidelines and further clarification.

Whelen AdvantEdge problem

Discussions regarding lighting, sirens, and other PS/Emergency response equipment can be had within this forum.

Discussions regarding legalities of lights, usages, and different state laws and regulations regarding warning equipment are not permitted.
See the announcement inside the forum for more details.

Moderator: Queue Moderator

2100prs
New User
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu May 08, 2014 8:37 am

Whelen AdvantEdge problem

Postby 2100prs » Thu May 08, 2014 8:46 am

I recently got asked by the chief to take a look at two light bars that are reported broken at our station. One is a whelen 4000 series AdvantEdge <Rotator|Flasher|Rotator|BLANK|BLANK|Rotator|Flasher|Rotator>
With this one ive got about 10 inches of wire. Its got two obvious that are power + and Ground -.
Other than that it has about 8 others that are exposed. Ive seen a diagram of what theyre supposed to be. My question is:
Do i need a power supply or a switch box to make this work or can i rig rocker switches to it and then one for alleys, one for flashers, etc. and have it still work?


Question 2: I have an S&L LED lightbar. Something shorted in the truck one night. I took it apart and the control board inside is fried about halfway. The company (go figure) no longer exists. So can i take the LEDs from it and mount them to the AdvantEdge and make that work?
(I was thinking i could wire them the same as the flashers and make an arrowstick work on the back.)

tvsjr
Posts: 4113
Joined: Fri Nov 28, 2003 9:46 am

Re: Whelen AdvantEdge problem

Postby tvsjr » Sun May 11, 2014 8:10 pm

You are better off asking this on eLightbars.org


Return to “Vehicle Warning Equipment Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest