Users may not create topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the following material (especially pertaining to Motorola copyrighted software, unless you want Motorola to come along and shut this site down):

  • Listing for sale or trade of, or links to sites offering for sale or trade of, or giving away, Radio
    Service Software (RSS) or Customer Programming Software (CPS)
  • Profanity, pornography, defamation, or slanderous remarks directed towards any individual or entity
  • Commercial advertising (except in the Batboard Vendors forum, as approved by the Admin/Mod Staff)
  • Any other items which may be deemed as offensive

If any topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the aforementioned material are brought to the attention of the Admin/Mod Staff, they will be deleted.

Additional FAQ items appear here in Forum Rules. Please review them for posting guidelines and further clarification.

Using Pure DOS

This forum is dedicated to the general computer related issues we all come across on a daily basis, such as e-mail/Internet/Operating System/virus/spyware, etc questions & problems.

As we are primarily a radio discussion group, your mileage may vary on the responses.

Moderator: Queue Moderator

LLS207X
New User
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2016 10:16 pm

Using Pure DOS

Postby LLS207X » Mon Aug 01, 2016 12:52 am

I am trying to program a Motorola HT1000.
I have all the files for the program on my desktop in a folder called HT1000.
I'm told the program will only run in DOS. I am not sure how to do this.
I am running Windows XP. I went to Command Prompt, but I am not sure what to type in to be able to access the program.
I tried running the computer on Safe Mode, but could get the Command Prompt or cmd neither worked.
I would appreciate any help.

Thanks,
LLS207

User avatar
MTS2000des
Posts: 3347
Joined: Sat Jan 04, 2003 4:59 pm
What radios do you own?: XTS2500, XTS5000, and MTS2000

Re: Using Pure DOS

Postby MTS2000des » Mon Aug 01, 2016 5:56 pm

Head over here and grab a real DOS boot disk image, and create a real DOS boot disk/CD:
http://www.allbootdisks.com/download/dos.html

Make sure to put your HT1000 RSS on the boot disk/CD as when you are booted into DOS, DOS does not recognize NTFS volumes so you won't be able to browse or change directories into your HT1000 folder.

Run the RSS. You should be able to read/write your HT1000s just fine, provided you are using a real serial port and have the RSS setup correctly.
The views here are my own and do not represent those of anyone else or the company, the boss, his wife, his dog or distant relatives.

Jim202
Posts: 3456
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2001 4:00 pm

Re: Using Pure DOS

Postby Jim202 » Thu Sep 01, 2016 4:31 am

If you can find an older, slower clock speed computer with a serial port, you can make it into a Motorola programming computer. By using a small hard drive in the order of 80 GB and formatting it with the FAT32 format, you can use it as your storage drive. You will need a DOS disk or something like Windows 95 or 98 to format these hard drives.

You could also make two different partitions on the 80 GB hard drive when you go to format it. Make one partition about 20 GB for only DOS and use the rest for the Windows program. I have put Windows XP on my programming computers. Either version of Windows will work. Then you can use the Windows and an Ethernet connection to be able to talk with other computers to be able to share files.

I always store my radio files on more than just one computer. That way I have backup in case something happens to the programming computer hard drive.

Over the years I have collected the 80 GB and smaller hard drives from the older computers that I have junked due to the motherboard crashing and refusing to work any longer. Now I have a box of them collecting dust.

Jim

User avatar
train_radio_guy
Posts: 207
Joined: Mon Sep 27, 2004 8:47 pm

Re: Using Pure DOS

Postby train_radio_guy » Tue Aug 29, 2017 11:43 pm

Jim, how many of those hard drives under 80GB do you have? What are some of the sizes? I've got some computer projects coming-up in the near future, & might be interested in taking them off your hands... for the right price. ;)
"Trust me, I know what I'm doing!" - Sledge Hammer


Return to “Computer/Technical Assistance”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest