Users may not create topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the following material (especially pertaining to Motorola copyrighted software, unless you want Motorola to come along and shut this site down):

  • Listing for sale or trade of, or links to sites offering for sale or trade of, or giving away, Radio
    Service Software (RSS) or Customer Programming Software (CPS)
  • Profanity, pornography, defamation, or slanderous remarks directed towards any individual or entity
  • Commercial advertising (except in the Batboard Vendors forum, as approved by the Admin/Mod Staff)
  • Any other items which may be deemed as offensive

If any topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the aforementioned material are brought to the attention of the Admin/Mod Staff, they will be deleted.

Additional FAQ items appear here in Forum Rules. Please review them for posting guidelines and further clarification.

MTS2000 CPS on Windows 7 64 Bit????

This forum is for discussions regarding all aspects of Motorola radio programming, including hardware, computers, installation and use of RSS/CPS, firmware upgrades, and troubleshooting. There are subforums for discussions of codeplugs, and also for software/firmware release notes and issues.

Moderator: Queue Moderator

ChrisNYC
New User
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri May 23, 2008 11:02 am

MTS2000 CPS on Windows 7 64 Bit????

Postby ChrisNYC » Sun Aug 02, 2015 5:44 am

Anyone ever get this to work?

Thanks!

saberjerk
Posts: 376
Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2002 4:00 pm

Re: MTS2000 CPS on Windows 7 64 Bit????

Postby saberjerk » Thu Sep 29, 2016 5:47 am

What is the firmware rev of the radio ? There is a breaking point in firmware rev that will not play well with CPS. It is possible that CPS will never work with 64 bit systems.

fineshot1
Posts: 908
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2005 5:13 am

Re: MTS2000 CPS on Windows 7 64 Bit????

Postby fineshot1 » Wed Oct 05, 2016 10:46 am

Not sure but i think you have to build a virtual XP start up environment in windows 7 and run it under the virtual xp
fineshot1
NJ USA

fineshot1
Posts: 908
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2005 5:13 am

Re: MTS2000 CPS on Windows 7 64 Bit????

Postby fineshot1 » Thu Oct 06, 2016 10:45 am

fineshot1 wrote:Not sure but i think you have to build a virtual XP start up environment in windows 7 and run it under the virtual xp


here is the url to download the microsoft win 7 virtual xp environment

https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/downloa ... px?id=8002
fineshot1
NJ USA

chrisf8657
New User
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2016 7:23 pm

Re: MTS2000 CPS on Windows 7 64 Bit????

Postby chrisf8657 » Sat Dec 03, 2016 8:58 pm

Won't work under 64-bit. Ask me.
Had to shove it into a XP virtual machine.

saberjerk
Posts: 376
Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2002 4:00 pm

Re: MTS2000 CPS on Windows 7 64 Bit????

Postby saberjerk » Tue Feb 07, 2017 7:47 am

Any help would be great

User avatar
d119
Posts: 3433
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2002 4:00 pm

Re: MTS2000 CPS on Windows 7 64 Bit????

Postby d119 » Tue Feb 07, 2017 9:37 am

I've never had success getting this to work, like everyone else, I've had to create an XP VM in Windows 7, and run the CPS under that.

The unfortunate issue I've encountered is that XP does not have the proper drivers for the newer releases of USB, therefore flash upgrading radios that require a flashkey using the XP VM seems impossible. I've only been able to get it to work on older machines with older USB ports.

Anyone have a fix for THAT?

sjxts3000
Posts: 780
Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2011 8:14 pm
What radios do you own?: APX

Re: MTS2000 CPS on Windows 7 64 Bit????

Postby sjxts3000 » Tue Feb 07, 2017 10:07 am

Seriously, everyone, pick up one of the zillion used WinXP 32-bit PC's on FleaBay ...they're like $50 at most and work just fine. Just make sure it has a serial port....and then get yourself a ribless cheapo programming cable from one of the other zillion sellers (they're like $15 at most) and you'll be set. The cables work just fine as long as you have a serial port. I've never bricked a radio with that setup.

p47r4ck
Posts: 52
Joined: Sat Jun 29, 2013 9:35 am

Re: MTS2000 CPS on Windows 7 64 Bit????

Postby p47r4ck » Tue Feb 07, 2017 10:06 pm

There's 16-bit calls in the MTS2000 CPS, and that's a no-go on a 64-bit Windows Operating System. This was no big deal when most of the folks about there servicing /\/\ gear used 32-bit operating system (biggest being : Windows XP Professional)... now, not so much :-/

Long story short : You'll either need to run a 32-bit VM (if you want to stick with a 64-bit OS as your main OS), or wipe and install a 32-bit OS on your machine.

I've personally done Read/Write Codeplug and Firmware Refresh operations (USB iButton FLASHKey) with MTS2000 CPS R02.03 on Windows 7 32-bit with no issues.

Not stray too far from the thread topic, but the same hold true for the Astro Saber & XTS3000 / Astro Spectra CPS packages as well.

KE7JFF
Posts: 270
Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2008 7:27 pm
What radios do you own?: MX300 lunchbox

Re: MTS2000 CPS on Windows 7 64 Bit????

Postby KE7JFF » Sun Mar 05, 2017 3:51 am

Talking with someone who deals with supporting legacy software on modern to the extreme (he gets to figure out the hard way what gets broken and attempts to find work arounds) he said the 16-bit calls in most radio programming software are are related to the access of the serial port.
Mountain Wave Search & Rescue http://www.mwave.org
Support Search & Rescue: Get Lost!

N7AS
New User
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Dec 11, 2010 2:46 am
What radios do you own?: GP2000

Re: MTS2000 CPS on Windows 7 64 Bit????

Postby N7AS » Sun May 14, 2017 6:35 am

fineshot1 wrote:
fineshot1 wrote:Not sure but i think you have to build a virtual XP start up environment in windows 7 and run it under the virtual xp


here is the url to download the microsoft win 7 virtual xp environment

https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/downloa ... px?id=8002


Will this work with Windows 10 64bit?


Return to “Radio Programming”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests