Users may not create topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the following material (especially pertaining to Motorola copyrighted software, unless you want Motorola to come along and shut this site down):

  • Listing for sale or trade of, or links to sites offering for sale or trade of, or giving away, Radio
    Service Software (RSS) or Customer Programming Software (CPS)
  • Profanity, pornography, defamation, or slanderous remarks directed towards any individual or entity
  • Commercial advertising (except in the Batboard Vendors forum, as approved by the Admin/Mod Staff)
  • Any other items which may be deemed as offensive

If any topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the aforementioned material are brought to the attention of the Admin/Mod Staff, they will be deleted.

Additional FAQ items appear here in Forum Rules. Please review them for posting guidelines and further clarification.

Motorola CP185 Not Writing Channel Name

This forum is for discussions regarding all aspects of Motorola radio programming, including hardware, computers, installation and use of RSS/CPS, firmware upgrades, and troubleshooting. There are subforums for discussions of codeplugs, and also for software/firmware release notes and issues.

Moderator: Queue Moderator

1crazymax
Posts: 52
Joined: Sat Nov 10, 2012 3:01 pm
What radios do you own?: CP200's, CM300, Baofeng UV-5RC

Motorola CP185 Not Writing Channel Name

Postby 1crazymax » Sat Jul 15, 2017 7:52 pm

I'm dipping into the well of knowledge again... I've got a CP185 I'm programming for a guy and for some reason after I write the radio the channel name is not showing up in the display, it just says Channel 01. When I got the radios several months ago they had names for each channel and I changed them to channel 01, 02, 03, etc. and they wrote fine. I thought it was the radio so I got another and the same thing, got a third and the same thing. When I read the radios though the correct channel NAME shows up but the display stills shows Channel 01, etc. The radios are the same model number AAH03RDFAA7AN the 1st was firmware R01.05, the second R03.01, and the third R03.02. I'm using CPS Entry Level for CP185 R02.06. When I originally changed the names I was using my laptop in the basement this time I'm using my PC upstairs. Do you this it's the computer or have I neglected something? Thanks

com501
Posts: 994
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2001 4:00 pm
What radios do you own?: Over 50 - All Motorola

Re: Motorola CP185 Not Writing Channel Name

Postby com501 » Sat Jul 15, 2017 8:37 pm

I don't have a radio handy, but the default after programming is to display channel numbers. There is a button assignment or toggle in the software that changes the display to alpha characters.

1crazymax
Posts: 52
Joined: Sat Nov 10, 2012 3:01 pm
What radios do you own?: CP200's, CM300, Baofeng UV-5RC

Re: Motorola CP185 Not Writing Channel Name

Postby 1crazymax » Sun Jul 16, 2017 6:52 am

Thanks com501. It was in the button programming as an Channel/Alias option. Problem solved, you're never to old to learn.


Return to “Radio Programming”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 1 guest