Users may not create topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the following material (especially pertaining to Motorola copyrighted software, unless you want Motorola to come along and shut this site down):

  • Listing for sale or trade of, or links to sites offering for sale or trade of, or giving away, Radio
    Service Software (RSS) or Customer Programming Software (CPS)
  • Profanity, pornography, defamation, or slanderous remarks directed towards any individual or entity
  • Commercial advertising (except in the Batboard Vendors forum, as approved by the Admin/Mod Staff)
  • Any other items which may be deemed as offensive

If any topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the aforementioned material are brought to the attention of the Admin/Mod Staff, they will be deleted.

Additional FAQ items appear here in Forum Rules. Please review them for posting guidelines and further clarification.

Programming CM200

This forum is for discussions regarding all aspects of Motorola radio programming, including hardware, computers, installation and use of RSS/CPS, firmware upgrades, and troubleshooting. There are subforums for discussions of codeplugs, and also for software/firmware release notes and issues.

Moderator: Queue Moderator

W0KTB
New User
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Sep 17, 2017 1:19 pm
What radios do you own?: Moto, Baofeng, Yaesu, Kenwood

Programming CM200

Postby W0KTB » Sun Sep 17, 2017 1:30 pm

Hey all,
I've recently purchased one of the 8-in-1 programming cables from Amazon and I'm trying to get it to talk to my CM200 radios so I can potentially start a repeater project, plus set up a couple for GMRS, HAM, whatever. Using CPS v5.00 set up on two systems, one has XP Pro, the other Windows 7 Ultimate.

I've finally got the bugs worked out with the drivers, or so I think.

Any suggestions? I figured it's probably just something really minor I'm looking for or looking over or maybe a COM port setting.

Thank you!
Trey B
W0KTB / WQYJ711
73 from Trey B.
W0KTB / WQYJ711
Terre Haute, Indiana
facebook.com/kbtechindiana - 812-397-4111

User avatar
SteveC0625
Posts: 445
Joined: Sat Jan 01, 2011 9:46 am
What radios do you own?: CDM's, CP's, CM's, and more

Re: Programming CM200

Postby SteveC0625 » Sun Sep 17, 2017 3:38 pm

If you are using a Win 10 computer, you may bumped into the cloned Prolific chip issue. Win 10 automatically finds and installs the newest driver for anything you pop into a USB port. The new Prolific drivers recognize the cloned chips and won't run them. If you get any 2303 v3.2.x driver and install it, you can then roll back the driver via the Device Manager and everything should work.

This is a well documented problem across the net and affects many different USB cables, and not just in the radio world.

W0KTB
New User
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Sep 17, 2017 1:19 pm
What radios do you own?: Moto, Baofeng, Yaesu, Kenwood

Re: Programming CM200

Postby W0KTB » Sun Sep 17, 2017 3:48 pm

I had to get a different type of driver that wasn't PL2303, I'll backup the current and uninstall, and throw the PL2303 on.

I plug the two RJ45 style mic connectors in, one gives me nothing, the other scrolls through the channels but never connects to the radio.

Thanks for your input Steve, I'm gonna keep monkeying around with this. Always welcome to new suggestions or things to at least try.

73
73 from Trey B.
W0KTB / WQYJ711
Terre Haute, Indiana
facebook.com/kbtechindiana - 812-397-4111

W0KTB
New User
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Sep 17, 2017 1:19 pm
What radios do you own?: Moto, Baofeng, Yaesu, Kenwood

Re: Programming CM200

Postby W0KTB » Sun Sep 17, 2017 3:50 pm

SteveC0625 wrote:If you are using a Win 10 computer, you may bumped into the cloned Prolific chip issue. Win 10 automatically finds and installs the newest driver for anything you pop into a USB port.


My desktops at my bench run Win7 Ultimate and XP Pro, my programming laptop also has Win7 ultimate.
73 from Trey B.
W0KTB / WQYJ711
Terre Haute, Indiana
facebook.com/kbtechindiana - 812-397-4111

W0KTB
New User
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Sep 17, 2017 1:19 pm
What radios do you own?: Moto, Baofeng, Yaesu, Kenwood

Re: Programming CM200

Postby W0KTB » Sun Sep 17, 2017 4:55 pm

Also wanted to add that my device manager shows: "Silicon Labs CP210x USB to UART Bridge"
73 from Trey B.
W0KTB / WQYJ711
Terre Haute, Indiana
facebook.com/kbtechindiana - 812-397-4111

User avatar
SteveC0625
Posts: 445
Joined: Sat Jan 01, 2011 9:46 am
What radios do you own?: CDM's, CP's, CM's, and more

Re: Programming CM200

Postby SteveC0625 » Sun Sep 17, 2017 5:34 pm

OK, then the UART in the cable is not the problem.

I am not familiar with the 8-in-1 programming cables, preferring a single function cable for each different radio family. With the CM200/300/PM400 radios, you may need an adapter that goes inline with the RJ45 mic connector. All it does is jumper pin 1 to pin 3 of the mic connector. Doing this tells the radio to reconfigure Pin 2 to BOOT and Pin 7 to SCI, allowing the radio to be programmed. In particular, when Pin 7 becomes SCI, that facilitates serial communication with the radio. That information is in the basic maintenance manual and in the install manual.

This adapter allows the standard cable for the Radius, GM300, and CDM radios to be used on the Commercial Series mobiles. There are some out there who will swear that they program these radios fine without the adapter with its jumpering of 1 to 3. My 20 CM300's needed the adapter.

There are plenty of previous threads on the topic here and on RR, easily found with a tiny bit of searching.

Search tags: The Commercial Series included:

Portables: CP150 CP200 CP200XLS PR400
Mobiles CM200 CM300 PM400

It may be helpful to search using wildcards.
If someone asks a question about one model,
the answer usually pertains to most, if not all.

They are all programmed with RVN4191 CPS.
The last version of the CPS released before the
product line was discontinued is R05.18.

If you need a blank codeplug, there is a folder
full of them, one for each possible model
number already on your hard drive. The folder is
in Program Files where your CPS is installed.
It is labelled SAMPLES.

ve3nsv
Posts: 277
Joined: Sat May 27, 2006 8:43 am

Re: Programming CM200

Postby ve3nsv » Mon Sep 18, 2017 12:10 pm

I can't program the commercial series radios with my Sealevel USB to serial adapter and have to use a my dock with the serial port.


Return to “Radio Programming”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests