Users may not create topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the following material (especially pertaining to Motorola copyrighted software, unless you want Motorola to come along and shut this site down):

  • Listing for sale or trade of, or links to sites offering for sale or trade of, or giving away, Radio
    Service Software (RSS) or Customer Programming Software (CPS)
  • Profanity, pornography, defamation, or slanderous remarks directed towards any individual or entity
  • Commercial advertising (except in the Batboard Vendors forum, as approved by the Admin/Mod Staff)
  • Any other items which may be deemed as offensive

If any topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the aforementioned material are brought to the attention of the Admin/Mod Staff, they will be deleted.

Additional FAQ items appear here in Forum Rules. Please review them for posting guidelines and further clarification.

P25 system question?

This forum is for discussions regarding all aspects of Motorola radio programming, including hardware, computers, installation and use of RSS/CPS, firmware upgrades, and troubleshooting. There are subforums for discussions of codeplugs, and also for software/firmware release notes and issues.

Moderator: Queue Moderator

dfc2
Posts: 356
Joined: Sun Mar 10, 2002 4:00 pm

P25 system question?

Postby dfc2 » Mon Nov 06, 2017 9:35 am

Can a P25 system (xtl5000/xts5000) have a zone programmed with talkgroups in all channels (for the same system) but also have a single channel programmed as a repeater channel?

the goal would be to have an interop channel programmed into the same talkgroup, so that we use our radios as normal, but if needed, switch over to an interop channel without having to mess with changing zones.

Possible?

User avatar
KE4ZNR
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2005 7:11 am
What radios do you own?: APX 8000XE, APX 6000, APX 7000

Re: P25 system question?

Postby KE4ZNR » Mon Nov 06, 2017 11:09 am

dfc2 wrote:Can a P25 system (xtl5000/xts5000) have a zone programmed with talkgroups in all channels (for the same system) but also have a single channel programmed as a repeater channel?

the goal would be to have an interop channel programmed into the same talkgroup, so that we use our radios as normal, but if needed, switch over to an interop channel without having to mess with changing zones.

Possible?


I believe you are asking in an XTS/XTL5000 if you can have a zone filled with Trunked Talkgroups with an additional conventional (non-trunked) channel included in that zone. The answer is yes. You can mix conventional and trunked in the same zone with one caveat: You can't scan the trunked and non-trunked together. As long as you are aware of that then you should not have any problems. An Example is a City FD that I work with that has 15 Trunked talkgroups and 1 conventional DVRS (Digital Vehicle Repeater) channel in their first zone. This allows them to quickly switch to the DVRS channel should they need to.

Marshall KE4ZNR

User avatar
wavetar
Administrator
Posts: 7316
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2001 4:00 pm

Re: P25 system question?

Postby wavetar » Thu Nov 09, 2017 9:13 am

KE4ZNR wrote: The answer is yes. You can mix conventional and trunked in the same zone with one caveat: You can't scan the trunked and non-trunked together.


Sure you can, you just need to set the 'Scan Type' to "Talkgroup", and check off the "Multi System Scan" checkbox in the General tab.
No trees were harmed in the posting of this message...however an extraordinarily large number of electrons were horribly inconvenienced.

Welcome to the /\/\achine.

User avatar
KE4ZNR
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2005 7:11 am
What radios do you own?: APX 8000XE, APX 6000, APX 7000

Re: P25 system question?

Postby KE4ZNR » Thu Nov 09, 2017 12:29 pm

wavetar wrote:
KE4ZNR wrote: The answer is yes. You can mix conventional and trunked in the same zone with one caveat: You can't scan the trunked and non-trunked together.


Sure you can, you just need to set the 'Scan Type' to "Talkgroup", and check off the "Multi System Scan" checkbox in the General tab.


Well let me qualify: I NEVER recommend using Multi-scan for public safety usage. I never offer it as an option to any of the public safety agencies on the system I help manage/maintain.

User avatar
wavetar
Administrator
Posts: 7316
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2001 4:00 pm

Re: P25 system question?

Postby wavetar » Fri Nov 10, 2017 7:54 am

KE4ZNR wrote:
wavetar wrote:
KE4ZNR wrote: The answer is yes. You can mix conventional and trunked in the same zone with one caveat: You can't scan the trunked and non-trunked together.


Sure you can, you just need to set the 'Scan Type' to "Talkgroup", and check off the "Multi System Scan" checkbox in the General tab.


Well let me qualify: I NEVER recommend using Multi-scan for public safety usage. I never offer it as an option to any of the public safety agencies on the system I help manage/maintain.


Nor do I, in fact scanning of any kind is strongly dissuaded for public safety, even regular talkgroup scan. However, the capability exists.
No trees were harmed in the posting of this message...however an extraordinarily large number of electrons were horribly inconvenienced.

Welcome to the /\/\achine.

User avatar
motorola_otaku
Posts: 1824
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 7:03 am
What radios do you own?: 2 turntables and a microphone

Re: P25 system question?

Postby motorola_otaku » Fri Nov 24, 2017 12:00 pm

wavetar wrote:Nor do I, in fact scanning of any kind is strongly dissuaded for public safety, even regular talkgroup scan. However, the capability exists.

That depends on your traffic load and level of system access. If you have sufficient system access to define priority talkgroups and doing so won't cause loading issues it works quite well.

What WILL get you is IV&D context activation. Until the radio gets an IP you can forget about getting voice traffic on anything except your selected channel.
When exposed to Rapid Fire Growth or Thermal Emergency, two things are lost:
1. Ability to use fine motor skills
2. Presence of mind

dfc2
Posts: 356
Joined: Sun Mar 10, 2002 4:00 pm

Re: P25 system question?

Postby dfc2 » Fri Dec 01, 2017 1:51 pm

My goal is NOT to scan. My goal is to simply switch over to the interop channel when needed. WITHOUT having to talk 20 officers through switching zones and changing channel number.


Return to “Radio Programming”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests