Users may not create topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the following material (especially pertaining to Motorola copyrighted software, unless you want Motorola to come along and shut this site down):

  • Listing for sale or trade of, or links to sites offering for sale or trade of, or giving away, Radio
    Service Software (RSS) or Customer Programming Software (CPS)
  • Profanity, pornography, defamation, or slanderous remarks directed towards any individual or entity
  • Commercial advertising (except in the Batboard Vendors forum, as approved by the Admin/Mod Staff)
  • Any other items which may be deemed as offensive

If any topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the aforementioned material are brought to the attention of the Admin/Mod Staff, they will be deleted.

Additional FAQ items appear here in Forum Rules. Please review them for posting guidelines and further clarification.

CDM1250 PL Problem

This forum is for discussions regarding all aspects of Motorola radio programming, including hardware, computers, installation and use of RSS/CPS, firmware upgrades, and troubleshooting. There are subforums for discussions of codeplugs, and also for software/firmware release notes and issues.

Moderator: Queue Moderator

N1lma
New User
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jul 27, 2013 5:40 am

CDM1250 PL Problem

Postby N1lma » Tue Dec 05, 2017 4:25 pm

I'm using repeater with two CDM1250's. After programming, I have no PL encode or decode even though both radios are programmed to have it. Could I have an audio setting incorrect that would override the channel setting?

n1gtl
Posts: 90
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 12:43 pm
What radios do you own?: XPR5550, XPR7550e

Re: CDM1250 PL Problem

Postby n1gtl » Wed Dec 06, 2017 9:48 am

Under RADIO CONFIGURATION look at the BASIC tab. Look for the Hook (HUB) defeats PL check box. Make sure it is unchecked.

Jim202
Posts: 3483
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2001 4:00 pm

Re: CDM1250 PL Problem

Postby Jim202 » Wed Dec 06, 2017 11:08 am

n1gtl wrote:Under RADIO CONFIGURATION look at the BASIC tab. Look for the Hook (HUB) defeats PL check box. Make sure it is unchecked.


That will not effect the PL encode.

Jim

n1gtl
Posts: 90
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 12:43 pm
What radios do you own?: XPR5550, XPR7550e

Re: CDM1250 PL Problem

Postby n1gtl » Wed Dec 06, 2017 11:21 am

True, I guess I need to learn to read slower.

What does pin 14 do? It is labeled "hook switch".

I've always made "crossover" cables with no logic between. Pins 2, 3, 7, 8 and 11. Program pin 8 for PL & CSQ/talkgroup detect and it's always worked.

Jim202
Posts: 3483
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2001 4:00 pm

Re: CDM1250 PL Problem

Postby Jim202 » Sun Dec 10, 2017 5:54 am

n1gtl wrote:True, I guess I need to learn to read slower.

What does pin 14 do? It is labeled "hook switch".


Hook switch is grounded to make the receiver work on CTCSS (continuous tone coded squelch system). If the line is not grounded, then the receiver will be in carrier squelch. Along with this is a software setting in the radio to make this active or to ignore the hook switch grounding and be carrier squelch all the time. This grounded hook switch also controls the scanning of the radio. In the ignore software setting, the radio will stay in the scan mode all the time, regardless of the mic in the hangup clip or in your hand.

Jim


Return to “Radio Programming”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests