APX CPS Save issue

This forum is for discussions regarding all aspects of Motorola radio programming, including hardware, computers, installation and use of RSS/CPS, firmware upgrades, and troubleshooting. There are subforums for discussions of codeplugs, and also for software/firmware release notes and issues.

Moderator: Queue Moderator

Post Reply
jmr061
was KB9KST
Posts: 3176
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2001 4:00 pm

APX CPS Save issue

Post by jmr061 »

I have run into a problem with the current release of APX CPS (its the only version I have used actually.) When I read a radio and then try to save the plug it comes up with an unknown error and won't save it. I have no idea why. It does this on two different computers with two different operating systems...one XP and the other WIN7. Strange thing is if I bring up a saved codeplug (I did manage to save one early on) that saves just fine.

Any ideas? Am I missing something?

Thanks

Jason
User avatar
Tom in D.C.
Posts: 3859
Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2001 4:00 pm
What radios do you own?: Progreso soup can with CRT

Re: APX CPS Save issue

Post by Tom in D.C. »

Jason,

That's a strange one. If you try saving it with a different suffix, say APX instead of CPG, will it be saved? And then, if you
are successful, will the CPS open from the *.APX file? Might be worth a shot.

Regards,
Tom in D.C.
In 1920, the U.S. Post Office Department ruled
that children may not be sent by parcel post.
jmr061
was KB9KST
Posts: 3176
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2001 4:00 pm

Re: APX CPS Save issue

Post by jmr061 »

It doesn't even get to the point where I can put in a file name. As soon as I click SAVE or SAVE AS, in the status box it reports UNKNOWN ERROR and I can't do anything.

Jason
User avatar
MSS-Dave
Posts: 770
Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2003 6:02 pm
What radios do you own?: XTL5K, NX300, PD782, Spark Gap

Re: APX CPS Save issue

Post by MSS-Dave »

I've hit my radio several times with 5.00.00 and not had any problems on 2 different computers. My Host/DSP is 4.00.25 though. You have the 5.xx F/W installed or something older? How about Advanced System Key? I had some issues when I first got going on this platform about a year ago where the driver for the key got corrupted and caused some goofy errors. Did a couple of CPS reinstalls and ASK reinstalls (1-Wire USB device) and haven't had an issue since. Running XP Pro 2002 Service Pack 3 on both my desktop and laptop.

These are about the only problems I've had, just throwing it out there. Probably doens't have anything to do with your problem though......

Dave
User avatar
Tom in D.C.
Posts: 3859
Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2001 4:00 pm
What radios do you own?: Progreso soup can with CRT

Re: APX CPS Save issue

Post by Tom in D.C. »

Jason,

Can you erase/uninstall the APX CPS and reinstall it?

I'm also running 5.00.00 and, despite its running slow on my laptop and desktop it works okay. I think that the
correct suffix, unlike what I wrote above, is .mc and not .cpg -- sorry about that. The overall design of the CPS
stinks, IMHO, but what do I know? I have to go with the way it's written.

Regards,
Tom in D.C.
In 1920, the U.S. Post Office Department ruled
that children may not be sent by parcel post.
jmr061
was KB9KST
Posts: 3176
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2001 4:00 pm

Re: APX CPS Save issue

Post by jmr061 »

I've uninstalled and reinstalled before, maybe the original file is corrupt. I'll DL from MOL again and see how that goes.

On a side note, how the heck do you keep the computer from going to the APX when doing internet stuff. It takes priority over my LAN connection. The instructions in the CPS help don't make sense to me. I don't see the advance menu they are talking about.

Jason
jmr061
was KB9KST
Posts: 3176
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2001 4:00 pm

Re: APX CPS Save issue

Post by jmr061 »

Uninstalled, new DL/Extract. Installed, same issue. I can even write my saved plug I did early on the radio then read it and try to save it and still the same problem.

Jason
jmr061
was KB9KST
Posts: 3176
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2001 4:00 pm

Re: APX CPS Save issue

Post by jmr061 »

I just did a fresh install of the cps on a never been touched with cps XP laptop. Same exact problem.

Jason
resqguy911
Posts: 613
Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2004 3:35 pm

Re: APX CPS Save issue

Post by resqguy911 »

Have you tried reading and saving another known good APX? Perhaps the problem is the radio?
"TDMA = digital and same great taste, half the bits"
jmr061
was KB9KST
Posts: 3176
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2001 4:00 pm

Re: APX CPS Save issue

Post by jmr061 »

resqguy911 wrote:Have you tried reading and saving another known good APX? Perhaps the problem is the radio?
Let me pluck one off the APX tree I have growing in the back yard, lol.

My guess is its something with the radio too, its weird. Just started out of the blue.

Jason
cpd249
New User
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2007 1:49 am

Re: APX CPS Save issue

Post by cpd249 »

I am using Windows's 7 on my desktop and XP on my laptop and have had the same problem with both computers using 5 different radios.
jmr061
was KB9KST
Posts: 3176
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2001 4:00 pm

Re: APX CPS Save issue

Post by jmr061 »

cpd249 wrote:I am using Windows's 7 on my desktop and XP on my laptop and have had the same problem with both computers using 5 different radios.
Your having the same save issue?
User avatar
Tom in D.C.
Posts: 3859
Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2001 4:00 pm
What radios do you own?: Progreso soup can with CRT

Re: APX CPS Save issue

Post by Tom in D.C. »

Jason,

I'm running 5.00.00. Is there a later version, and is that what you're using? I suppose if there's a later
version that's what you're using since you've just downloaded it from /\/\. As Dave said, the 5.00.00
seems to work fine...so far.

Regards,
Tom in D.C.
In 1920, the U.S. Post Office Department ruled
that children may not be sent by parcel post.
jmr061
was KB9KST
Posts: 3176
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2001 4:00 pm

Re: APX CPS Save issue

Post by jmr061 »

The latest is 5.01.00 which I am using.

Jason
User avatar
Victor Xray
Posts: 845
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2001 4:00 pm

Re: APX CPS Save issue

Post by Victor Xray »

KB9KST wrote:
cpd249 wrote:I am using Windows's 7 on my desktop and XP on my laptop and have had the same problem with both computers using 5 different radios.
Your having the same save issue?
He is having the exact same issue as you Jason. I told him to post in this thread after he told me the same story a few weeks ago.
jmr061
was KB9KST
Posts: 3176
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2001 4:00 pm

Re: APX CPS Save issue

Post by jmr061 »

Victor Xray wrote:
KB9KST wrote:
cpd249 wrote:I am using Windows's 7 on my desktop and XP on my laptop and have had the same problem with both computers using 5 different radios.
Your having the same save issue?
He is having the exact same issue as you Jason. I told him to post in this thread after he told me the same story a few weeks ago.
Well that sure is intereting then. I appreciate it. At least I am not the only one so I know its more of an issue than just me. Since he is having issues with 5 of them I am guessing his are tagged? Mine is not. Would be nice to know if he is using 5.01 as well.

I did some talking with Akardam last night and went through some things. If I clone in a plug from another radio it starts to work. Put mine back in, back to the issue. So if he is running a fleet of radios he may want to clone in a working plug.

Jason
cpd249
New User
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2007 1:49 am

Re: APX CPS Save issue

Post by cpd249 »

Yes, I am having the same issues. I am using 5.01.00 and am unable to save codeplugs. The agency I work for has several APX7000 and APX6000 demo radios that we are trying out so they are tagged.

I am a novice at programming these radios but when I have a chance I'll try to mess with cloning.
tvsjr
Posts: 4118
Joined: Fri Nov 28, 2003 9:46 am

Re: APX CPS Save issue

Post by tvsjr »

Sounds like 5.01 is the common thread. I've not experienced the issue with 5.00.
jmr061
was KB9KST
Posts: 3176
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2001 4:00 pm

Re: APX CPS Save issue

Post by jmr061 »

Yeah I HIGHLY suggest NOT TO USE 5.01.

Jason
User avatar
rc50won
Posts: 234
Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2007 6:37 am
What radios do you own?: Don't ask my wife.

Re: APX CPS Save issue

Post by rc50won »

What firewall and virus software are you guys running?

M
jmr061
was KB9KST
Posts: 3176
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2001 4:00 pm

Re: APX CPS Save issue

Post by jmr061 »

Standard XP/WIN7 Microsoft FW and Virus.

That should have nothing to do with it however. It reads the radio, loads the codeplug just fine, just can't save it. Take a saved codeplug from a radio that doesn't have this issue that was saved previously, open it and save it no problem. Take this same saved codeplug, do a drag and drop from the codeplug that won't save....guess what, it saves. Write this "new" plug to the radio, read the radio, back to the no save issue. Weird.

Jason
User avatar
fail999
Batboard $upporter
Posts: 123
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2001 4:00 pm
What radios do you own?: APX7K, XTS, XTL and on and on

Re: APX CPS Save issue

Post by fail999 »

I am running 5.01 on a XP, SP3 desktop and a Win 7 Laptop and have incountered zero problems.

fail999
jmr061
was KB9KST
Posts: 3176
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2001 4:00 pm

Re: APX CPS Save issue

Post by jmr061 »

So I took a codeplug from a different radio and basically defaulted everything. I can write, read and save it no problem with my radio. Done it numerous times. I went through and set it up with my programming by hand (not drag and drop) and did everything except put all the actual frequencies and modes in. I set up only 2 channels. Everything else was setup though (channel announce, multikey encryption, multiple conventional personalities, etc). I saved the file. I wrote it to the radio. Then I read it and attempted to save it (made zero changes to it), guess what...UNKNOWN ERROR. The CPS doesn't like something obviously even though there are no invalid fields showing.

I am at a complete loss.

Jason
User avatar
escomm
Queue Moderator
Posts: 5170
Joined: Fri Mar 24, 2006 8:24 pm

Re: APX CPS Save issue

Post by escomm »

Open a GCC case IMHo
cpd249
New User
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2007 1:49 am

Re: APX CPS Save issue

Post by cpd249 »

I was in a class this week and one of the guys wanted my codeplug. He read my APX 7000 and tried to save it. He got the unknown error message. He changed the save location from the default and it saved fine. I came home and tried it on my computer and it worked once I changed the default location. It has worked on both the APX 7000 and APX 6000.
jmr061
was KB9KST
Posts: 3176
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2001 4:00 pm

Re: APX CPS Save issue

Post by jmr061 »

cpd249 wrote:I was in a class this week and one of the guys wanted my codeplug. He read my APX 7000 and tried to save it. He got the unknown error message. He changed the save location from the default and it saved fine. I came home and tried it on my computer and it worked once I changed the default location. It has worked on both the APX 7000 and APX 6000.

And how do you change that?

Jason
cpd249
New User
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2007 1:49 am

Re: APX CPS Save issue

Post by cpd249 »

When I press save it pops up a screen to save it in the CPS file and asks for the name. At the top of the box it says "save in" and by default. I just selected the down arrow and went to my documents and saved it there.
jmr061
was KB9KST
Posts: 3176
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2001 4:00 pm

Re: APX CPS Save issue

Post by jmr061 »

cpd249 wrote:When I press save it pops up a screen to save it in the CPS file and asks for the name. At the top of the box it says "save in" and by default. I just selected the down arrow and went to my documents and saved it there.
Then I guess our issues are different. The CPS errors before it even gets to that point whether I use "save" or "save as." Therefore the save location selection doesn't even show up.

I even tried installing the software in a non default location. It didn't help.

Jason
Last edited by jmr061 on Fri May 20, 2011 8:31 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: added info on installing software in non default location
jmr061
was KB9KST
Posts: 3176
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2001 4:00 pm

Re: APX CPS Save issue

Post by jmr061 »

Well CPS 6 came out today. I STILL can't save the codeplug contained within my radio. This is really putting a sour taste in my mouth regarding these radios.

At least instead of unknown error it now says:
"Error - Could not show file dialog box."

I'm still lost though.

Jason
User avatar
Astro Spectra
Posts: 669
Joined: Sat Sep 22, 2001 4:00 pm

Re: APX CPS Save issue

Post by Astro Spectra »

Is your 'My Documents' located somewhere other than ‘C:\Documents and Settings\[your user name]\My Documents’ for Win95/98, Win 2000, and XP or ‘C:\Users\[your user name]\Documents’ for Vista and Win7 (where C:\ = the hard drive for Windows)?

I have a very similar problem using my corporate XP and Win 7 machines with several software packages. It seems to be related to where 'My Documents' is actually located and presumably to the environment variable and/or Registry. In our corporate LAN the My Docs are on a server, not the local machine. See: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/My_Documents

Most programes work just fine while others won't install, or install fine then just hang or give vauge error messages when open/closing files.
User avatar
wavetar
Administrator
Posts: 7340
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2001 4:00 pm

Re: APX CPS Save issue

Post by wavetar »

Astro Spectra wrote:Is your 'My Documents <--....-->Most programes work just fine while others won't install, or install fine then just hang or give vauge error messages when open/closing files.
I think you're missing the point that it can save other codeplugs just fine, and even an earlier version of the codeplug saves with no issue. It's only when that particular radio is read and then a save is attempted, even with no changes attempted. that the CPS barfs.

KB9KST, have you tried a firmware refresh to the latest 5.05.xx (somewhere around there) at all?
No trees were harmed in the posting of this message...however an extraordinarily large number of electrons were horribly inconvenienced.

Welcome to the /\/\achine.
jmr061
was KB9KST
Posts: 3176
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2001 4:00 pm

Re: APX CPS Save issue

Post by jmr061 »

Yes it has the latest firmware. It has to do with something in the codeplug. I can clone in a blank one and it save fine. I put all my data in and it barfs then. I am currently using conventional analog and digital personalities, I have channel announce enabled. Nothing out of the ordinary that I am aware of. Something in the codeplug is preventing it from saving but I don't want to spend hours upon hours modifiying it little by little to find out what it is.

It is just odd.

Jason
User avatar
wavetar
Administrator
Posts: 7340
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2001 4:00 pm

Re: APX CPS Save issue

Post by wavetar »

KB9KST wrote:Yes it has the latest firmware. It has to do with something in the codeplug. I can clone in a blank one and it save fine. I put all my data in and it barfs then. I am currently using conventional analog and digital personalities, I have channel announce enabled. Nothing out of the ordinary that I am aware of. Something in the codeplug is preventing it from saving but I don't want to spend hours upon hours modifiying it little by little to find out what it is.

It is just odd.

Jason
Go on MOL & use the 'contact us' to open a GCC (Global Customer Care) ticket. Motorola will contact you & work with you to try & solve the issue. They'll ask for all your radio info (host, dsp, flashcode, etc) and will also ask for a copy of the 'bad' codeplug. They'll use this info to try & replicate your issue. Heck, they might even ask for you to ship the unit in to them, if they can't figure it out remotely...but they will figure it out eventually.
No trees were harmed in the posting of this message...however an extraordinarily large number of electrons were horribly inconvenienced.

Welcome to the /\/\achine.
jmr061
was KB9KST
Posts: 3176
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2001 4:00 pm

Re: APX CPS Save issue

Post by jmr061 »

Issued resolved!!!

Here is the problem (thanks to a former member). In the radio alias ID I was using the character "/" and when you go to save the file and have a radio alias ID typed in will use your radio alias ID as the file name. "/" is not a valid character for saving a Windows file name therefore it errors out!!

You must follow Windows file name rules for your radio alias ID.

Jason
User avatar
wavetar
Administrator
Posts: 7340
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2001 4:00 pm

Re: APX CPS Save issue

Post by wavetar »

Lol, simple solution to a simple problem, in the end. Thanks for the update...maybe Motorola will have a window pop up saying not to use certain characters, like other softwares do?
No trees were harmed in the posting of this message...however an extraordinarily large number of electrons were horribly inconvenienced.

Welcome to the /\/\achine.
Post Reply

Return to “Radio Programming”