Users may not create topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the following material (especially pertaining to Motorola copyrighted software, unless you want Motorola to come along and shut this site down):

  • Listing for sale or trade of, or links to sites offering for sale or trade of, or giving away, Radio
    Service Software (RSS) or Customer Programming Software (CPS)
  • Profanity, pornography, defamation, or slanderous remarks directed towards any individual or entity
  • Commercial advertising (except in the Batboard Vendors forum, as approved by the Admin/Mod Staff)
  • Any other items which may be deemed as offensive

If any topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the aforementioned material are brought to the attention of the Admin/Mod Staff, they will be deleted.

Additional FAQ items appear here in Forum Rules. Please review them for posting guidelines and further clarification.

External Time Base T5829A for Quantar

This forum is for the discussions targeted at converting various models of Motorola equipment to operate in the 900MHz Amateur Band.

Moderator: Queue Moderator

abrigno1
New User
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Dec 28, 2008 5:38 pm
What radios do you own?: Moto Commercial, GE and Kenwoo

External Time Base T5829A for Quantar

Postby abrigno1 » Sat Jun 17, 2017 9:29 am

Planning to use MOTO External Time Base T5829A on Quantar 900 MHz for Amateur. Have issue. Time base is showing non-sine wave output with voltage of little over 6 V into 1 meg input on high quality Lecroy scope.

Quantar docs show external voltage should be 1.0 V(RMS) +/- 0.5V

Is this an issue? What output voltage should be on output terminals of the T5829A.

Also, does anyone have any docs on T5829A. It was donated to our ham club but we have no documentation.

Any help would be appreciated

User avatar
Astro Spectra
Posts: 578
Joined: Sat Sep 22, 2001 4:00 pm

Re: External Time Base T5829A for Quantar

Postby Astro Spectra » Sat Jun 17, 2017 4:40 pm

Well for starters V peek-to-peek is roughly 2.8 x V RMS for a sine wave. Also you're measuring the open circuit voltage. If it comes from a 50 or 75 ohm source, it will be half what you measure now when terminated in 50 or 75 ohms.

So if you are measuring 6 volts peek-to-peek and the source is intended for the Quantar then it probably about right. Use a BNC T and either run it into the Quantar or if you're worried a 50 ohm load and measure again.

abrigno1
New User
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Dec 28, 2008 5:38 pm
What radios do you own?: Moto Commercial, GE and Kenwoo

Re: External Time Base T5829A for Quantar

Postby abrigno1 » Sat Jun 17, 2017 5:58 pm

Closer than I thought. Still taking readings. On a quick check what I saw with a 50 ohm jumper was about 5.2 V RMS. Still little high.

Repeater arrived this afternoon so I will be testing and measuring with actual repeater.

Really appreciate answer. Want to make sure I don't damage repeater.

fineshot1
Posts: 889
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2005 5:13 am

Re: External Time Base T5829A for Quantar

Postby fineshot1 » Sat Jul 01, 2017 2:49 pm

The Trak 9100 is the typical and usual time source for most of todays Motorola trunk systems
with Quantars. IIRC they use a 5 or 10Mhz 1VRMS P-P sinwave. Click on the url below.

http://www.simulcastsolutions.com/userf ... ak9100.pdf
fineshot1
NJ USA

abrigno1
New User
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Dec 28, 2008 5:38 pm
What radios do you own?: Moto Commercial, GE and Kenwoo

Re: External Time Base T5829A for Quantar

Postby abrigno1 » Sat Jul 01, 2017 4:44 pm

I have a 5829 that is working. Issue is voltage is about 3.5V RMS vs book value of 1 +_>0.5 Seems to be working fine.

Jim202
Posts: 3443
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2001 4:00 pm

Re: External Time Base T5829A for Quantar

Postby Jim202 » Sun Jul 02, 2017 4:50 am

abrigno1 wrote:I have a 5829 that is working. Issue is voltage is about 3.5V RMS vs book value of 1 +_>0.5 Seems to be working fine.


If your that concerned, then add an in line 3 db pad. That should bring the voltage down to about 1.5 volts.

Jim

abrigno1
New User
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Dec 28, 2008 5:38 pm
What radios do you own?: Moto Commercial, GE and Kenwoo

Re: External Time Base T5829A for Quantar

Postby abrigno1 » Sun Jul 02, 2017 5:19 am

Voltage divider would work equally well for 5MHz. One issue is the 5829 has 8 BNC connections. I was wondering if there was some malfunction as I don't have the specs for it. Also could the output be reset to some lower value.

I would like to know more about the 5829A. It is one of the very few pieces of equipment that I don't have a manual for.


Return to “Converting Motorola Equipment to 900MHz Amateur”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest