Users may not create topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the following material (especially pertaining to Motorola copyrighted software, unless you want Motorola to come along and shut this site down):

  • Listing for sale or trade of, or links to sites offering for sale or trade of, or giving away, Radio
    Service Software (RSS) or Customer Programming Software (CPS)
  • Profanity, pornography, defamation, or slanderous remarks directed towards any individual or entity
  • Commercial advertising (except in the Batboard Vendors forum, as approved by the Admin/Mod Staff)
  • Any other items which may be deemed as offensive

If any topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the aforementioned material are brought to the attention of the Admin/Mod Staff, they will be deleted.

Additional FAQ items appear here in Forum Rules. Please review them for posting guidelines and further clarification.

MCS2000 to 900MHz using CPS

This forum is for the discussions targeted at converting various models of Motorola equipment to operate in the 900MHz Amateur Band.

Moderator: Queue Moderator

ayaresr
Posts: 207
Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2005 8:22 pm

MCS2000 to 900MHz using CPS

Postby ayaresr » Sun May 04, 2008 8:35 pm

Has anyone here successfully used CPS to put an MCS2000 on 900 MHz ham frequencies as opposed to RSS? Any suggestions or tips greatly appreciated.
Thanks,
Ryan

User avatar
rrfd43
Posts: 434
Joined: Wed Mar 06, 2002 4:00 pm
What radios do you own?: Cobra 25 LTD Classic with echo

Re: MCS2000 to 900MHz using CPS

Postby rrfd43 » Mon May 05, 2008 9:44 am

Yep search out the freq in a hex edititor in the exe file. I looked at the freqency that displays when a new channel is added. I think it was something like 935.XXX. I then searched for that number and changed it to 927.000. I believe this info is on a post you can search for and /or is also on the main bat page.

ayaresr
Posts: 207
Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2005 8:22 pm

Re: MCS2000 to 900MHz using CPS

Postby ayaresr » Mon May 05, 2008 11:15 am

I wasn't aware this was worked out in the CPS yet. Are the frequencies saved as plain hex or is it anything like the band limits for the spectra?
Thanks, Ryan

User avatar
rrfd43
Posts: 434
Joined: Wed Mar 06, 2002 4:00 pm
What radios do you own?: Cobra 25 LTD Classic with echo

Re: MCS2000 to 900MHz using CPS

Postby rrfd43 » Mon May 05, 2008 11:27 am

Works in MCS. Does not in CDM (pro series). Follow to the mcs part of batlabs. The out of band links to the MTSX out of band. Here it tells you to modify the obd, just load up the exe file from CPS. You may have to convert the numbers you are looking for into hex and then search for them. I figured it out and got it, and I'm not all that good at hexing. Make all your back up copies so if you have a problem then you have a good copy.

Make sure you convert the proper version. I did all the work then got the codeplug too new error so I had to start all over...

User avatar
motorola_otaku
Posts: 1833
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 7:03 am
What radios do you own?: 2 turntables and a microphone

Re: MCS2000 to 900MHz using CPS

Postby motorola_otaku » Wed May 07, 2008 10:48 am

It works like the Astro CPS bandsplit mods. The band tables aren't at the same offset locations, obviously, but the table format is similar. Just follow the instructions here for converting the frequencies to hex and searching for them, and you'll be golden.

FYI, I tried it on version 2.02 CPS and it worked like a champ.
When exposed to Rapid Fire Growth or Thermal Emergency, two things are lost:
1. Ability to use fine motor skills
2. Presence of mind

n1oty
Posts: 77
Joined: Wed Apr 05, 2006 1:09 pm
What radios do you own?: xts3000/2500/mcs2000/mts2000

Re: MCS2000 to 900MHz using CPS

Postby n1oty » Thu May 08, 2008 1:18 pm

And the MCS2000's work sweet on the ham band.

John
N1OTY

KA8SCP
New User
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2008 6:51 pm
What radios do you own?: ASTRO Spectra VHF, MTX9250

Re: MCS2000 to 900MHz using CPS

Postby KA8SCP » Wed Mar 11, 2009 6:27 am

does the MCS do the older 900 MHz splits with this mod?

919.100/907.1 for example?

Terry - KA8SCP

fineshot1
Posts: 910
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2005 5:13 am

Re: MCS2000 to 900MHz using CPS

Postby fineshot1 » Thu Mar 12, 2009 10:11 am

KA8SCP wrote:does the MCS do the older 900 MHz splits with this mod?

919.100/907.1 for example?

Terry - KA8SCP


No - 25Mhz splits only. The VCO can not handle the 12Mhz split.
fineshot1
NJ USA


Return to “Converting Motorola Equipment to 900MHz Amateur”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest