Users may not create topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the following material (especially pertaining to Motorola copyrighted software, unless you want Motorola to come along and shut this site down):

  • Listing for sale or trade of, or links to sites offering for sale or trade of, or giving away, Radio
    Service Software (RSS) or Customer Programming Software (CPS)
  • Profanity, pornography, defamation, or slanderous remarks directed towards any individual or entity
  • Commercial advertising (except in the Batboard Vendors forum, as approved by the Admin/Mod Staff)
  • Any other items which may be deemed as offensive

If any topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the aforementioned material are brought to the attention of the Admin/Mod Staff, they will be deleted.

Additional FAQ items appear here in Forum Rules. Please review them for posting guidelines and further clarification.

syntor 5 to a7 help

This forum is for the discussions targeted at converting various models of Motorola equipment to operate in the 900MHz Amateur Band.

Moderator: Queue Moderator

photo2000a
New User
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun May 25, 2008 1:33 am

syntor 5 to a7 help

Postby photo2000a » Sat Jun 07, 2008 2:54 pm

hi

I just got a 900mhz syntor w/an a5 head the person i got from said it's 'programmed' as a7

not really sure what that ment, however i did buy a a7 head, the cables and a faceplate for the rig
(believe i have all the physical parts)

question does this mean i can just swap the head or would someone still need to modify the programming ??


Excuse the newbie question just dont want to blow it out ,

thanks

photo2000a
New User
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun May 25, 2008 1:33 am

oops spectra b 5 to a7 help

Postby photo2000a » Sat Jun 07, 2008 3:40 pm

i made a typos in my previous post, bought a 2 rigs , and got them confused being new at this , sorry!!

the radio is actually a Spectra 900 Mhz 30 watt, 128 ch .

the radio head should have said b5 head programmed as b7 as purchased.

what i bought was a remote head A7 with the cables etc...

my questions are :

a) is this compatable w/spectra?
b) if it's compatable, is it just plug n play in this case or do i have to also have the rig reprogrammed to accomodate the new head?

thanks very much

photo2000a
New User
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun May 25, 2008 1:33 am

Re: syntor 5 to a7 help

Postby photo2000a » Sat Jul 12, 2008 1:21 pm

wow nobody has any technical advice? I thought i'd get at least one reply

User avatar
rrfd43
Posts: 434
Joined: Wed Mar 06, 2002 4:00 pm
What radios do you own?: Cobra 25 LTD Classic with echo

Re: syntor 5 to a7 help

Postby rrfd43 » Mon Jul 14, 2008 6:03 pm

To my memory you will have to reprogram the spectra and tell it what head it has...

Time to find a rib and someone with RSS

photo2000a
New User
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun May 25, 2008 1:33 am

Re: syntor 5 to a7 help

Postby photo2000a » Mon Jul 14, 2008 6:23 pm

thanks for the reply , i wasn't sure if the a and b were in fact compatable thanks again


Return to “Converting Motorola Equipment to 900MHz Amateur”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest