Users may not create topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the following material (especially pertaining to Motorola copyrighted software, unless you want Motorola to come along and shut this site down):

  • Listing for sale or trade of, or links to sites offering for sale or trade of, or giving away, Radio
    Service Software (RSS) or Customer Programming Software (CPS)
  • Profanity, pornography, defamation, or slanderous remarks directed towards any individual or entity
  • Commercial advertising (except in the Batboard Vendors forum, as approved by the Admin/Mod Staff)
  • Any other items which may be deemed as offensive

If any topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the aforementioned material are brought to the attention of the Admin/Mod Staff, they will be deleted.

Additional FAQ items appear here in Forum Rules. Please review them for posting guidelines and further clarification.

Anybody familiar with using TUNER, especially for MTR3000?

Moderator: Queue Moderator

User avatar
wavetar
Administrator
Posts: 7317
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2001 4:00 pm

Anybody familiar with using TUNER, especially for MTR3000?

Postby wavetar » Wed Apr 04, 2012 11:57 am

I've never had occasion to use the tuner software, ever. In trying to use it with an MTR3000, the only parameters I get onscreen are:

Image


According to the tuner help files, i should be able to access all this:

Image


Any idea what I'm missing here? There doesn't appear to be an "expert" view like in the regular CPS. Using the latest tuner version 7.0
No trees were harmed in the posting of this message...however an extraordinarily large number of electrons were horribly inconvenienced.

Welcome to the /\/\achine.

User avatar
wavetar
Administrator
Posts: 7317
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2001 4:00 pm

Re: Anybody familiar with using TUNER, especially for MTR300

Postby wavetar » Sun Apr 15, 2012 5:42 am

As an update, Motorola confirmed to me that in the basic MTR3000, that's all you get in the tuner. More fields show up if the station is equipped with a wireline card, for instance. Other fields shown in the help files are applicable to other TRBO models such as portables & mobiles. In short, there isn't a lot one can do in the basic MTR3000 with Tuner.
No trees were harmed in the posting of this message...however an extraordinarily large number of electrons were horribly inconvenienced.

Welcome to the /\/\achine.

User avatar
Bill_G
Posts: 3055
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2009 5:00 am

Re: Anybody familiar with using TUNER, especially for MTR300

Postby Bill_G » Sun Apr 15, 2012 6:11 am

Great. We have to jail break our radios to align them.

User avatar
escomm
Queue Moderator
Posts: 5131
Joined: Fri Mar 24, 2006 8:24 pm

Re: Anybody familiar with using TUNER, especially for MTR300

Postby escomm » Sun Apr 15, 2012 7:59 am

wavetar wrote:As an update, Motorola confirmed to me that in the basic MTR3000, that's all you get in the tuner. More fields show up if the station is equipped with a wireline card, for instance. Other fields shown in the help files are applicable to other TRBO models such as portables & mobiles. In short, there isn't a lot one can do in the basic MTR3000 with Tuner.

So are they self tuning??

User avatar
Bill_G
Posts: 3055
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2009 5:00 am

Re: Anybody familiar with using TUNER, especially for MTR300

Postby Bill_G » Sun Apr 15, 2012 9:40 am

Everybody sing -

When you tune an MTR, makes no difference where you are ....

User avatar
wavetar
Administrator
Posts: 7317
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2001 4:00 pm

Re: Anybody familiar with using TUNER, especially for MTR300

Postby wavetar » Mon Apr 16, 2012 2:48 am

escomm wrote:
wavetar wrote:As an update, Motorola confirmed to me that in the basic MTR3000, that's all you get in the tuner. More fields show up if the station is equipped with a wireline card, for instance. Other fields shown in the help files are applicable to other TRBO models such as portables & mobiles. In short, there isn't a lot one can do in the basic MTR3000 with Tuner.

So are they self tuning??


Pretty much, lol. To tune the reference oscillator, you need to connect a 5 or 10 MHz reference source into the external BNC connector, whereupon the station will go into some sort of 'test mode' and calibrate itself. This is what the person on the other end of the phone at Motorola told me, I haven't tried or read about it myself.
No trees were harmed in the posting of this message...however an extraordinarily large number of electrons were horribly inconvenienced.

Welcome to the /\/\achine.

User avatar
escomm
Queue Moderator
Posts: 5131
Joined: Fri Mar 24, 2006 8:24 pm

Re: Anybody familiar with using TUNER, especially for MTR300

Postby escomm » Mon Apr 16, 2012 7:28 am

Fascinating

kblazk
New User
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2009 11:28 am

Re: Anybody familiar with using TUNER, especially for MTR3000?

Postby kblazk » Fri Jan 08, 2016 5:03 pm

I have an MTR3000 on UHF that a service monitor is showing is 500 hertz low on the Transmitter. I have the tuning software but see no option to align this. How do I get this machine on frequency?

User avatar
jackhackett
Posts: 1402
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 8:52 am

Re: Anybody familiar with using TUNER, especially for MTR3000?

Postby jackhackett » Sat Jan 09, 2016 7:47 am

Like wavetar said, you connect a 5 or 10 MHz reference and it calibrates itself.

I've never done it myself, but here are Station Reference Alignment Procedure instructions from the MTR3000 Basic Service Manual:

The base station/repeater reference needs to be aligned yearly to maintain optimum functionality.
To align the base station/repeater reference:

1. Remove the front bezel of the base station/repeater.
2. Connect the External Reference to J3008M7 of the SCM. The SCM accepts a 5 MHz or 10 MHz sine or square wave with a level of 2 Vpp (min) to 5 Vpp (max).
3. The reference LED on the SCM will turn solid amber to indicate that the alignment is in progress.
4. The reference LED on the SCM will turn solid green to indicate that the alignment is completed successfully.
5. Remove the External Reference from J3008M7, and the reference LED will turn off.
6. Replace the front bezel of the base station/repeater.


Return to “MotoTRBO Portables and Mobiles (4xxx/6xxx) 1.0 Series Subscribers”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests