Users may not create topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the following material (especially pertaining to Motorola copyrighted software, unless you want Motorola to come along and shut this site down):

  • Listing for sale or trade of, or links to sites offering for sale or trade of, or giving away, Radio
    Service Software (RSS) or Customer Programming Software (CPS)
  • Profanity, pornography, defamation, or slanderous remarks directed towards any individual or entity
  • Commercial advertising (except in the Batboard Vendors forum, as approved by the Admin/Mod Staff)
  • Any other items which may be deemed as offensive

If any topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the aforementioned material are brought to the attention of the Admin/Mod Staff, they will be deleted.

Additional FAQ items appear here in Forum Rules. Please review them for posting guidelines and further clarification.

XPR5350 - converting into a XPR5550

Moderator: Queue Moderator

g8tzl2004
Posts: 1082
Joined: Wed Sep 08, 2004 10:13 am

XPR5350 - converting into a XPR5550

Postby g8tzl2004 » Tue Dec 30, 2014 12:37 pm

Can you convert a basic XPR5350 into a full featured XPR5550 by swapping the basic XPR5350 head for the XPR5550 color display head and flashing with XPR5550 firmware?

com501
Posts: 1000
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2001 4:00 pm
What radios do you own?: Over 50 - All Motorola

Re: XPR5350 - converting into a XPR5550

Postby com501 » Fri Jan 23, 2015 2:01 pm

Have you looked at the Detailed Service Manual for the two boards and compared them yet? Also, I am assuming you have Labtool 10 or better or something similar.

g8tzl2004
Posts: 1082
Joined: Wed Sep 08, 2004 10:13 am

Re: XPR5350 - converting into a XPR5550

Postby g8tzl2004 » Thu Jan 29, 2015 8:24 am

I don't have an XPR5350 to convert (yet). I just wondered whether in principle it is possible - like you can mod an XTL1500 into an XTL5000 by changing the head and flashing new firmware and features.

Forts
Posts: 91
Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2004 7:28 am

Re: XPR5350 - converting into a XPR5550

Postby Forts » Fri Jan 30, 2015 7:27 am

In theory it's likely possible... Good luck getting ahold of the Depot software to make it happen though.

User avatar
escomm
Queue Moderator
Posts: 5131
Joined: Fri Mar 24, 2006 8:24 pm

Re: XPR5350 - converting into a XPR5550

Postby escomm » Fri Jan 30, 2015 9:48 am

com501 wrote:Have you looked at the Detailed Service Manual for the two boards and compared them yet? Also, I am assuming you have Labtool 10 or better or something similar.

Doubt he'll be getting his hands on that without an NDA


Return to “MotoTRBO Portables and Mobiles (4xxx/6xxx) 1.0 Series Subscribers”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest