Users may not create topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the following material (especially pertaining to Motorola copyrighted software, unless you want Motorola to come along and shut this site down):

  • Listing for sale or trade of, or links to sites offering for sale or trade of, or giving away, Radio
    Service Software (RSS) or Customer Programming Software (CPS)
  • Profanity, pornography, defamation, or slanderous remarks directed towards any individual or entity
  • Commercial advertising (except in the Batboard Vendors forum, as approved by the Admin/Mod Staff)
  • Any other items which may be deemed as offensive

If any topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the aforementioned material are brought to the attention of the Admin/Mod Staff, they will be deleted.

Additional FAQ items appear here in Forum Rules. Please review them for posting guidelines and further clarification.

XPR6550 Programming Flaw?

Moderator: Queue Moderator

fchrist16
Posts: 283
Joined: Sun May 24, 2009 12:23 am
What radios do you own?: Spectra's, Jedi's & more

XPR6550 Programming Flaw?

Postby fchrist16 » Mon Nov 09, 2015 10:36 pm

Perhaps someone can help me with this one, details first.

Virtualbox on Mac OS X El Capitan Running Windows XP Pro SP3
OEM USB Programming Cable
MotoTRBO CPS R10 (Build 510)
XPR6550 (UHF Q and T Splits)

Here is the issue. For a long time now, I've been able to program the XPR6550 just fine this way, but I recently had to do a reboot of the whole machine, including Windows XP. EVERYTHING is setup exactly the same! Now for some STRANGE reason, the radio is showing up as a Network Adapter and not a Port Adapter. This makes it so that the radio can not be read or written too as CPS doesn't see the radio.

Has anyone run into this issue and have a fix?

Regards,

-Frank C.

User avatar
Bill_G
Posts: 3058
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2009 5:00 am

Re: XPR6550 Programming Flaw?

Postby Bill_G » Tue Nov 10, 2015 5:40 am

I don't have a lot of Trbo experience, and I definitely have zero Mac experience, or experience programming from within a VM. But, I can say that every time I plug in a Trbo, Windows responds with a question about the "new network". After programming several radios, I'll have a clobber of these screens buried under the Trbo application that have to be closed.

Wiregeek
Posts: 61
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2014 9:53 am

Re: XPR6550 Programming Flaw?

Postby Wiregeek » Tue Nov 10, 2015 12:24 pm

TRBO radios (and APX!) are network devices. Shut off Windows Firewall in your VM, and make sure the VM has all the appropriate permissions to IP over the USB. Also upgrade your CPS if you can, and if you can't try applying the MotoTRBO usb driver, which is available from either Moto online or the RVN5115 CD

Wiregeek
Posts: 61
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2014 9:53 am

Re: XPR6550 Programming Flaw?

Postby Wiregeek » Tue Nov 10, 2015 12:25 pm

a followup - newer CPS will not install in XP

fchrist16
Posts: 283
Joined: Sun May 24, 2009 12:23 am
What radios do you own?: Spectra's, Jedi's & more

Re: XPR6550 Programming Flaw?

Postby fchrist16 » Tue Nov 10, 2015 8:18 pm

Thanks Bill_G!

Wiregeek, This was working last week but now isn't after I had to re-install EVERYTHING. The MotoTRBO R10 (Build 510) has worked fine on XP in the past. It is just after this re-boot things went wonky! I'll try to re-boot everything again and see what happens. I've had the R10 (Build 510) working just fine on XP for a while.

Regards,

-Frank C.

User avatar
escomm
Queue Moderator
Posts: 5131
Joined: Fri Mar 24, 2006 8:24 pm

Re: XPR6550 Programming Flaw?

Postby escomm » Sat Nov 14, 2015 11:40 am

Wiregeek wrote:a followup - newer CPS will not install in XP

Sad but true. The cutoff is version 11 CPS. Motorola updated its dotnetfx framework reliance to 4.2 with this release, and M$ decided 4.2 cannot go on an XP computer. Win 7 or higher is now an absolute requirement

fchrist16
Posts: 283
Joined: Sun May 24, 2009 12:23 am
What radios do you own?: Spectra's, Jedi's & more

Re: XPR6550 Programming Flaw?

Postby fchrist16 » Sun Nov 15, 2015 2:27 pm

Okay a follow up to my Moto TRBO issue the other day. Got things running on my Windows 10 laptop. One radio reads/writes just fine, the other gives me this error via Windows.

"This device cannot start. (Code 10)"

Anyone seen this before?

Regards,

-Frank C.

Gtaman
Posts: 43
Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2014 11:51 pm

Re: XPR6550 Programming Flaw?

Postby Gtaman » Tue Mar 29, 2016 5:17 pm

Seems like a bad radio driver. Are they different bands?

fchrist16
Posts: 283
Joined: Sun May 24, 2009 12:23 am
What radios do you own?: Spectra's, Jedi's & more

Re: XPR6550 Programming Flaw?

Postby fchrist16 » Thu Mar 31, 2016 11:31 am

Gtaman wrote:Seems like a bad radio driver. Are they different bands?


Yes and no. They are Q and T splits but still UHF.

Regards,

-Frank C.

User avatar
wavetar
Administrator
Posts: 7317
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2001 4:00 pm

Re: XPR6550 Programming Flaw?

Postby wavetar » Thu Mar 31, 2016 2:57 pm

I've seen something similar in the past, with a single mobile. In my case, although it would not show up as a network connection, it did show up in the device manager...can't remember if it showed an error or not. Anyway, I deleted it from the device manager, then unplugged and plugged back in, which then caused it to reload the driver and everything was then ok.
No trees were harmed in the posting of this message...however an extraordinarily large number of electrons were horribly inconvenienced.

Welcome to the /\/\achine.

fchrist16
Posts: 283
Joined: Sun May 24, 2009 12:23 am
What radios do you own?: Spectra's, Jedi's & more

Re: XPR6550 Programming Flaw?

Postby fchrist16 » Fri Apr 01, 2016 6:19 pm

wavetar wrote:I've seen something similar in the past, with a single mobile. In my case, although it would not show up as a network connection, it did show up in the device manager...can't remember if it showed an error or not. Anyway, I deleted it from the device manager, then unplugged and plugged back in, which then caused it to reload the driver and everything was then ok.


I've had to do exactly this EVERY time I want/need to do a programming change. Sometimes 2 or 3 times before it takes. It gets rather irritating after a while.

Regards,

-Frank C.


Return to “MotoTRBO Portables and Mobiles (4xxx/6xxx) 1.0 Series Subscribers”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests