Users may not create topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the following material (especially pertaining to Motorola copyrighted software, unless you want Motorola to come along and shut this site down):

  • Listing for sale or trade of, or links to sites offering for sale or trade of, or giving away, Radio
    Service Software (RSS) or Customer Programming Software (CPS)
  • Profanity, pornography, defamation, or slanderous remarks directed towards any individual or entity
  • Commercial advertising (except in the Batboard Vendors forum, as approved by the Admin/Mod Staff)
  • Any other items which may be deemed as offensive

If any topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the aforementioned material are brought to the attention of the Admin/Mod Staff, they will be deleted.

Additional FAQ items appear here in Forum Rules. Please review them for posting guidelines and further clarification.

XPR-6550 Windows Code 10 Error

Moderator: Queue Moderator

fchrist16
Posts: 283
Joined: Sun May 24, 2009 12:23 am
What radios do you own?: Spectra's, Jedi's & more

XPR-6550 Windows Code 10 Error

Postby fchrist16 » Tue May 16, 2017 7:54 am

On Windows 10, I plug my XPR-6550 #2 into the computer with a good known working cable. I get the Windows Error Code 10 "This Device cannot start."

Drivers are all up to date, I'm using the most current CPS R14 Build 717.

Anyone got an idea as to why the radio won't start as a network device? It shows up in the network devices list in Device Manager, but shows the error to it. Used to be plugging/un-plugging the programming cable a few times would fix this, and now it doesn't.

Regards,

-Frank C.

User avatar
W3AXL
Posts: 90
Joined: Fri Sep 04, 2015 9:02 am
What radios do you own?: an unhealthy amount of them

Re: XPR-6550 Windows Code 10 Error

Postby W3AXL » Tue May 16, 2017 8:57 am

I've always had this issue and the solution has always been to power cycle the radio until it shows up without the error.

I'm not sure what causes this issue, and I haven't programmed any TRBO radios with the latest version of Win10 yet, but it was always a minor inconvenience as opposed to an unfixable error.

fchrist16
Posts: 283
Joined: Sun May 24, 2009 12:23 am
What radios do you own?: Spectra's, Jedi's & more

Re: XPR-6550 Windows Code 10 Error

Postby fchrist16 » Tue May 16, 2017 9:06 am

I've done the same power cycling of everything. Nothing is helping this time around.

Regards,

-Frank C.

User avatar
SteveC0625
Posts: 446
Joined: Sat Jan 01, 2011 9:46 am
What radios do you own?: CDM's, CP's, CM's, and more

Re: XPR-6550 Windows Code 10 Error

Postby SteveC0625 » Tue May 16, 2017 10:09 am

You can always go into the Task Manager of Windows and restart the device.

ve3nsv
Posts: 277
Joined: Sat May 27, 2006 8:43 am

Re: XPR-6550 Windows Code 10 Error

Postby ve3nsv » Tue May 16, 2017 10:29 am

There was a period of time where disabling / enabling the radio in device manager worked for me.

fchrist16
Posts: 283
Joined: Sun May 24, 2009 12:23 am
What radios do you own?: Spectra's, Jedi's & more

Re: XPR-6550 Windows Code 10 Error

Postby fchrist16 » Tue May 16, 2017 10:39 am

SteveC0625 wrote:You can always go into the Task Manager of Windows and restart the device.


Do you mean the Device Manager? I have done that with no results.

ve3nsv wrote:There was a period of time where disabling / enabling the radio in device manager worked for me.


Yup, tried that too! No results.

I've even gone so far as to swap chassis between the two XPR-6550's I have and it gives the same problem.

Regards,

-Frank C.

com501
Posts: 1000
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2001 4:00 pm
What radios do you own?: Over 50 - All Motorola

Re: XPR-6550 Windows Code 10 Error

Postby com501 » Tue May 16, 2017 9:00 pm

In the NA market, build 738 is current. The previous R14 release was buggy.

fchrist16
Posts: 283
Joined: Sun May 24, 2009 12:23 am
What radios do you own?: Spectra's, Jedi's & more

Re: XPR-6550 Windows Code 10 Error

Postby fchrist16 » Wed May 17, 2017 4:48 am

com501 wrote:In the NA market, build 738 is current. The previous R14 release was buggy.


This issue, albeit less buggy, has gone on for me since CPS12...I'll upgrade to build 738 when I can and see if that fixes anything.

Regards,

-Frank C.

jsilberberg
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2005 1:55 pm

Re: XPR-6550 Windows Code 10 Error

Postby jsilberberg » Wed May 17, 2017 6:02 am

@Frank

"Drivers are up to date" -- This could be your issue, I have had to drop back to older versions of CPS to get some of my XPR-4550s updated. The issue appears to be related to the USB driver and changes to it that are not necessarily compatible with older firmware. Also recently I have had a couple of issues with new CPS and older subscriber hardware where the CPS had to be in the base OS not in a VMBox.
J. Silberberg
CompuDesigns, Inc.
Atlanta, GA.


Return to “MotoTRBO Portables and Mobiles (4xxx/6xxx) 1.0 Series Subscribers”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests