Users may not create topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the following material (especially pertaining to Motorola copyrighted software, unless you want Motorola to come along and shut this site down):

  • Listing for sale or trade of, or links to sites offering for sale or trade of, or giving away, Radio
    Service Software (RSS) or Customer Programming Software (CPS)
  • Profanity, pornography, defamation, or slanderous remarks directed towards any individual or entity
  • Commercial advertising (except in the Batboard Vendors forum, as approved by the Admin/Mod Staff)
  • Any other items which may be deemed as offensive

If any topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the aforementioned material are brought to the attention of the Admin/Mod Staff, they will be deleted.

Additional FAQ items appear here in Forum Rules. Please review them for posting guidelines and further clarification.

ADP on XTS5000

This forum is dedicated to discussions pertaining specifically to the Motorola ASTRO line of radios (those that use VSELP/IMBE/AMBE), including using digital modulation, digital programming, FlashPort upgrades, etc. If you have general questions please use the General or Programming forums.

Moderator: Queue Moderator

60EMT15
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2013 3:27 pm

ADP on XTS5000

Postby 60EMT15 » Mon Aug 05, 2013 12:38 pm

My XTS5000 is flashed with ADP. However when i set up a secure channel i get "Key Fail" when i hit the PTT. Any Ideas?? I dont know much about encryption.

Bigfella237
Posts: 151
Joined: Wed May 02, 2012 11:30 am

Re: ADP on XTS5000

Postby Bigfella237 » Mon Aug 05, 2013 4:52 pm

ADP 101...

1. Read the radio with CPS
2. In Radio Configuration > Controls > Switches: Set the concentric switch "Position A" to "Secure Tx Select" and "Position B" to "Clear Tx Select"
3. In Radio Configuration > Secure > Secure Configuration > General tab: Check "Secure Equipped" and "Advanced Digital Privacy"
4. In Radio Configuration > Secure > Secure Multikey List: Enter your ADP keys (pick a nice easy number to remember :lol: )
5. In Conventional > Conv Personality > Conv Pers 1(2,3 etc) > Secure tab: Set "Secure/Clear Strapping" to "Select"
6. In Conventional > Conv Personality > Conv Pers 1(2,3 etc) > Secure II tab: Set "Voice - Key Strapping" to "Select" and in "Key Selection" select the ADP key you want to use for that personality
7. Re-write the codeplug

Now select the channel on the radio that uses the personality in step 5 and you should be able to switch between clear and enc via the concentric switch, you should also see a symbol on the display letting you know you're secure?

Of course it helps to have more than one radio for testing? :p

Andrew

User avatar
spectragod
Posts: 1963
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2001 4:00 pm
What radios do you own?: FPP 6 meter XTL 5K's

Re: ADP on XTS5000

Postby spectragod » Mon Aug 05, 2013 5:12 pm

SW ADP will only work on digital channels.
Kilgore: Smell that? You smell that?
Lance: What?
Kilgore: Napalm, son. Nothing in the world smells like that.
Kilgore: I love the smell of napalm in the morning. You know, one time we had a hill bombed, for 12 hours. When it was all over, I walked up. We didn't find one of 'em, not one stinkin' dink body. The smell, you know that gasoline smell, the whole hill. Smelled like... victory. Someday this war's gonna end...

____________
Revelation 6:8

Bigfella237
Posts: 151
Joined: Wed May 02, 2012 11:30 am

Re: ADP on XTS5000

Postby Bigfella237 » Mon Aug 05, 2013 5:30 pm

spectragod wrote:SW ADP will only work on digital channels.

Is there any other kind these days? :D

Thanks SG, I knew I'd forgotten something!

Andrew

User avatar
spectragod
Posts: 1963
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2001 4:00 pm
What radios do you own?: FPP 6 meter XTL 5K's

Re: ADP on XTS5000

Postby spectragod » Tue Aug 06, 2013 3:35 am

Bigfella237 wrote:
spectragod wrote:SW ADP will only work on digital channels.

Is there any other kind these days? :D

Thanks SG, I knew I'd forgotten something!

Andrew


Uhhhhmmmm yeah, been there and done that myself.
Kilgore: Smell that? You smell that?
Lance: What?
Kilgore: Napalm, son. Nothing in the world smells like that.
Kilgore: I love the smell of napalm in the morning. You know, one time we had a hill bombed, for 12 hours. When it was all over, I walked up. We didn't find one of 'em, not one stinkin' dink body. The smell, you know that gasoline smell, the whole hill. Smelled like... victory. Someday this war's gonna end...

____________
Revelation 6:8

60EMT15
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2013 3:27 pm

Re: ADP on XTS5000

Postby 60EMT15 » Thu Aug 08, 2013 3:56 pm

Bigfella237 wrote:ADP 101...

1. Read the radio with CPS
2. In Radio Configuration > Controls > Switches: Set the concentric switch "Position A" to "Secure Tx Select" and "Position B" to "Clear Tx Select"
3. In Radio Configuration > Secure > Secure Configuration > General tab: Check "Secure Equipped" and "Advanced Digital Privacy"
4. In Radio Configuration > Secure > Secure Multikey List: Enter your ADP keys (pick a nice easy number to remember :lol: )
5. In Conventional > Conv Personality > Conv Pers 1(2,3 etc) > Secure tab: Set "Secure/Clear Strapping" to "Select"
6. In Conventional > Conv Personality > Conv Pers 1(2,3 etc) > Secure II tab: Set "Voice - Key Strapping" to "Select" and in "Key Selection" select the ADP key you want to use for that personality
7. Re-write the codeplug

Now select the channel on the radio that uses the personality in step 5 and you should be able to switch between clear and enc via the concentric switch, you should also see a symbol on the display letting you know you're secure?

Of course it helps to have more than one radio for testing? :p

Andrew



I followed what you said to do. Now when i select ADP it creates 8 "Keys". They are named CKR1 through CKR8. The selectable ADP key ID is 0001 through 0008. And the Selectable ADP Key data is all star out. As in ******. I set the centric switch for clear and secure. I still get the key fail when i key up on the digital channel i pick to use the ADP on.

Bigfella237
Posts: 151
Joined: Wed May 02, 2012 11:30 am

Re: ADP on XTS5000

Postby Bigfella237 » Fri Aug 09, 2013 12:17 pm

There is much more detail in the CPS help menu on ADP but yes, with software-based encryption you are fixed at eight keys, no more, no less.

The display of the actual key data in the Multikey list is masked ("********"), but (as in step 4) you still must enter these keys before use as even a blank field gets masked, which seems stupid to me.

Andrew

wa6ylb
Posts: 164
Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2008 1:33 pm

Re: ADP on XTS5000

Postby wa6ylb » Sat Aug 10, 2013 9:08 am

Bigfella237 wrote:There is much more detail in the CPS help menu on ADP but yes, with software-based encryption you are fixed at eight keys, no more, no less.

The display of the actual key data in the Multikey list is masked ("********"), but (as in step 4) you still must enter these keys before use as even a blank field gets masked, which seems stupid to me.

Andrew


To add to this - even if your not going to use all 8 keys, put something in all of them - When we first started with ADP, we just put a single key in the radio (first key), and left keys 2-8 blank as read from the radio. This didn't get it. It wasn't until we put values in all 8 positions that the keys stayed and or that we stopped having wierd things happen (like loss of key). Even though we never use this particular key, we put 0123456789 into unused keys. BTW, the key is a 10 digit hexidecimal key - 0-9,A-F are valid characters.
B.

Forts
Posts: 91
Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2004 7:28 am

Re: ADP on XTS5000

Postby Forts » Tue Oct 22, 2013 10:08 am

I've had no problems just entering data for a single key (XTS2500 & XTL2500/5000).

Doesn't sound like the original poster entered anything for key data.

Terriers618
was Jason618
Posts: 414
Joined: Wed Dec 17, 2003 9:23 pm
What radios do you own?: Motorola Syntor X9000.....

Re: ADP on XTS5000

Postby Terriers618 » Thu Nov 28, 2013 4:14 pm

Does the multikey flashcode option not affect ADP? Last I checked if you don't have multikey you only get one key regardless of encryption type you want to use. Maybe I am mistaken with the 5000


Return to “Legacy Batboard Motorola ASTRO (VSELP/IMBE/AMBE) Equipment Forum”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests