Users may not create topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the following material (especially pertaining to Motorola copyrighted software, unless you want Motorola to come along and shut this site down):

  • Listing for sale or trade of, or links to sites offering for sale or trade of, or giving away, Radio
    Service Software (RSS) or Customer Programming Software (CPS)
  • Profanity, pornography, defamation, or slanderous remarks directed towards any individual or entity
  • Commercial advertising (except in the Batboard Vendors forum, as approved by the Admin/Mod Staff)
  • Any other items which may be deemed as offensive

If any topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the aforementioned material are brought to the attention of the Admin/Mod Staff, they will be deleted.

Additional FAQ items appear here in Forum Rules. Please review them for posting guidelines and further clarification.

How well does 700 mhz work

This forum is dedicated to discussions pertaining specifically to the Motorola ASTRO line of radios (those that use VSELP/IMBE/AMBE), including using digital modulation, digital programming, FlashPort upgrades, etc. If you have general questions please use the General or Programming forums.

Moderator: Queue Moderator

User avatar
efc
Posts: 156
Joined: Thu Mar 16, 2006 8:42 pm
What radios do you own?: cdm 1250

How well does 700 mhz work

Postby efc » Wed Mar 19, 2014 6:19 pm

Hello,Just wondering,how well does 700 mhz,Astro 25,work in a urban /city area?I have no experience with this band and am wondering about this.Now i realize with enough sites in Astro,it could work well,but i a fairly flat large geographic atea witj a mixture of farm,city,it may prove interesting.

Thanks
John

User avatar
efc
Posts: 156
Joined: Thu Mar 16, 2006 8:42 pm
What radios do you own?: cdm 1250

Re: How well does 700 mhz work

Postby efc » Wed Mar 19, 2014 6:22 pm

The above area is about 630 square miles,semi flat terrain with some rolling hills.

Thanks
John

User avatar
Bill_G
Posts: 3062
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2009 5:00 am

Re: How well does 700 mhz work

Postby Bill_G » Wed Mar 19, 2014 6:40 pm

It works as well as 800M. Got any of that to compare to?

User avatar
efc
Posts: 156
Joined: Thu Mar 16, 2006 8:42 pm
What radios do you own?: cdm 1250

Re: How well does 700 mhz work

Postby efc » Thu Mar 20, 2014 7:53 am

No,not really,there is a state system,that we do not take care of,and it works so so from hat i hear,but the state pd is primarily on highways,and i am concetned about the building penetration,primarilt those with alot of metal,concrete.An kotorola ho is installing he system withus has identified 39 buildings that are lossy.I am not sure how they will address that unles they use BDAs,or change config of the site antennas.I also realize how well digital works,and am actually going ti Motorola next week for the M core overview class.I guess we will.see.

Thanks
John

Squad5
was mwb9122
Posts: 706
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2010 8:46 pm

Re: How well does 700 mhz work

Postby Squad5 » Thu Mar 20, 2014 7:58 am

efc wrote:No,not really,there is a state system,that we do not take care of,and it works so so from hat i hear,but the state pd is primarily on highways,and i am concetned about the building penetration,primarilt those with alot of metal,concrete.An kotorola ho is installing he system withus has identified 39 buildings that are lossy.I am not sure how they will address that unles they use BDAs,or change config of the site antennas.I also realize how well digital works,and am actually going ti Motorola next week for the M core overview class.I guess we will.see.

Thanks


Y u do dis?

jpa
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2004 9:26 am

Re: How well does 700 mhz work

Postby jpa » Thu Mar 20, 2014 8:03 am

efc wrote:No,not really,there is a state system,that we do not take care of,and it works so so from hat i hear,but the state pd is primarily on highways,and i am concetned about the building penetration,primarilt those with alot of metal,concrete.An kotorola ho is installing he system withus has identified 39 buildings that are lossy.I am not sure how they will address that unles they use BDAs,or change config of the site antennas.I also realize how well digital works,and am actually going ti Motorola next week for the M core overview class.I guess we will.see.

Thanks

Can't... sentance... properly...

User avatar
efc
Posts: 156
Joined: Thu Mar 16, 2006 8:42 pm
What radios do you own?: cdm 1250

Re: How well does 700 mhz work

Postby efc » Thu Mar 20, 2014 10:05 am

Yes i did type this,and no i did not worry about proper grammar,thought this was a radio site not English 101.
John

User avatar
Bill_G
Posts: 3062
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2009 5:00 am

Re: How well does 700 mhz work

Postby Bill_G » Thu Mar 20, 2014 10:15 am

efc wrote:No,not really,there is a state system,that we do not take care of,and it works so so from hat i hear,but the state pd is primarily on highways,and i am concetned about the building penetration,primarilt those with alot of metal,concrete.An kotorola ho is installing he system withus has identified 39 buildings that are lossy.I am not sure how they will address that unles they use BDAs,or change config of the site antennas.I also realize how well digital works,and am actually going ti Motorola next week for the M core overview class.I guess we will.see.

Thanks


We don't have kotorola hos here. (big grin)

Building penetration issues are a problem in any band. The single site brute force burn your way to the basement way of doing things never really worked all that well. Everybody has had to deal with it especially in urban core areas. As budgets get tight, they try to shift responsibility to property owners with minimum first responder signal strength requirements. That has led to growth in the DAS/BDA markets that offer products to improve both public safety and cellular services that benefit their tenants.

But, for agencies that do have the budget, they typically add more sites, and adopt a high-low strategy. They build high sites to give the system long legs that cover the majority of their service area. They add low sites with limited coverage to address specific areas where additional coverage is needed. And as a last resort, they require property owners to put in BDA's to address areas deep in the bowels of their building.

This kind of planning doesn't happen over night. Generally, you build a system, and over time address the coverage issues as you find them. It takes years. Comm managers can spend their entire career, and not see a system fully built out before they retire. In fact, they spend a lot of time treading water as budget cycles ebb and flow. So, whatever happens with the system you are building, the problems you face won't be because it's 700Mhz. I haven't built one yet that didn't have a problem, or wasn't lacking in some way.

User avatar
efc
Posts: 156
Joined: Thu Mar 16, 2006 8:42 pm
What radios do you own?: cdm 1250

Re: How well does 700 mhz work

Postby efc » Thu Mar 20, 2014 6:10 pm

Thanks Bill,thats great input,yea.....no kotolas here (also big grin).That is a really good way to look at ,adding as you go because you find problems,never thought of it that way.My understanding is that the building owners may be approached about BDA's.A fire chief told me that that may be a new code requirement now to allow coverage for public safety.Mother M told the customer,97 percent coverage,I guess we will see.They ,Motorola ,are supposed to do a per square mile coverage test to insure this,time will tell.

Thanks alot for your input
John

User avatar
escomm
Queue Moderator
Posts: 5131
Joined: Fri Mar 24, 2006 8:24 pm

Re: How well does 700 mhz work

Postby escomm » Thu Mar 20, 2014 6:21 pm

700mhz works great you have more mhz than 450mhz or 150mhz

User avatar
Bill_G
Posts: 3062
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2009 5:00 am

Re: How well does 700 mhz work

Postby Bill_G » Thu Mar 20, 2014 7:18 pm

efc wrote:Thanks Bill,thats great input,yea.....no kotolas here (also big grin).That is a really good way to look at ,adding as you go because you find problems,never thought of it that way.My understanding is that the building owners may be approached about BDA's.A fire chief told me that that may be a new code requirement now to allow coverage for public safety.Mother M told the customer,97 percent coverage,I guess we will see.They ,Motorola ,are supposed to do a per square mile coverage test to insure this,time will tell.

Thanks alot for your input


Got an STI, or some other method of drive testing the system? If we were betting men, I'd say 97% coverage means outdoor mobile coverage, not indoors, and not portable coverage. On the bright side, you'll become very familiar with DAQ (delivered audio quality) testing. It all depends on how the contract is written, and whom is holding who's feet to the fire during the system acceptance tests.

User avatar
efc
Posts: 156
Joined: Thu Mar 16, 2006 8:42 pm
What radios do you own?: cdm 1250

Re: How well does 700 mhz work

Postby efc » Fri Mar 21, 2014 11:00 am

Yes 700 mhz has more Mhz,(big grins).Yes Bill,I agree with you,I am thinking that they mean mobile,not portable,and me thinks that the customer is in for rude awakening.
John

User avatar
Astro Spectra
Posts: 611
Joined: Sat Sep 22, 2001 4:00 pm

Re: How well does 700 mhz work

Postby Astro Spectra » Fri Mar 21, 2014 4:14 pm



Return to “Legacy Batboard Motorola ASTRO (VSELP/IMBE/AMBE) Equipment Forum”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest