Users may not create topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the following material (especially pertaining to Motorola copyrighted software, unless you want Motorola to come along and shut this site down):

  • Listing for sale or trade of, or links to sites offering for sale or trade of, or giving away, Radio
    Service Software (RSS) or Customer Programming Software (CPS)
  • Profanity, pornography, defamation, or slanderous remarks directed towards any individual or entity
  • Commercial advertising (except in the Batboard Vendors forum, as approved by the Admin/Mod Staff)
  • Any other items which may be deemed as offensive

If any topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the aforementioned material are brought to the attention of the Admin/Mod Staff, they will be deleted.

Additional FAQ items appear here in Forum Rules. Please review them for posting guidelines and further clarification.

Kvl 4000 and astro saber

This forum is dedicated to discussions pertaining specifically to the Motorola ASTRO line of radios (those that use VSELP/IMBE/AMBE), including using digital modulation, digital programming, FlashPort upgrades, etc. If you have general questions please use the General or Programming forums.

Moderator: Queue Moderator

scoops
Posts: 69
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2001 4:00 pm

Kvl 4000 and astro saber

Postby scoops » Sun May 04, 2014 8:00 am

I have an astro saber des-ofb that was loaded years ago with a kvl3000. I tried using a kvl4000 with the radio and it will not connect. The radio displays "keyloading" but will not communicate with the kvl4000. I tried 3 keyloading cables including one with the hirose "D" and a TNK8531 cable. I also tried 2 other radio housings , all with no success. Any help would be appreciated .
Thanks
Chris

User avatar
d119
Posts: 3436
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2002 4:00 pm

Re: Kvl 4000 and astro saber

Postby d119 » Sun May 04, 2014 1:56 pm

Does your KVL 4000 have ASN mode? The Astro Saber will not load in CKR mode, as I recall. You must put the KVL 4000 in ASN mode, and I believe that may be an option, and not a standard feature (don't quote me).

scoops
Posts: 69
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2001 4:00 pm

Re: Kvl 4000 and astro saber

Postby scoops » Sun May 04, 2014 6:08 pm

I only have astro 25 and radio authentication in the kvl4000. I tried both with no luck.

User avatar
d119
Posts: 3436
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2002 4:00 pm

Re: Kvl 4000 and astro saber

Postby d119 » Sun May 04, 2014 6:16 pm

That's your problem then. The ASTRO Saber & XTS 3000 do not support ASTRO25 mode, as they aren't ASTRO25 radios.

scoops
Posts: 69
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2001 4:00 pm

Re: Kvl 4000 and astro saber

Postby scoops » Sun May 04, 2014 6:33 pm

Thanks, I would think since the 4000 replaces the 3000, it would be compatible.

jpa
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2004 9:26 am

Re: Kvl 4000 and astro saber

Postby jpa » Sun May 04, 2014 8:33 pm

Astro radios support CKR key management for multikey, assuming recent firmware and that the option is configured in CPS.

User avatar
escomm
Queue Moderator
Posts: 5131
Joined: Fri Mar 24, 2006 8:24 pm

Re: Kvl 4000 and astro saber

Postby escomm » Sun May 04, 2014 9:49 pm

scoops wrote:Thanks, I would think since the 4000 replaces the 3000, it would be compatible.

Nobody said it the 4000 wasn't compatible

You just don't have the right software option in your unit

scoops
Posts: 69
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2001 4:00 pm

Re: Kvl 4000 and astro saber

Postby scoops » Mon May 05, 2014 2:13 am

Thanks to all the replied .. I found the part number for the ASN option. I'll have to update the kvl..

jpa
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2004 9:26 am

Re: Kvl 4000 and astro saber

Postby jpa » Mon May 05, 2014 5:06 am

Jiminy Christmas...

Before you go spend $600 (not to mention the hassle of getting it ordered), go read your radio with CPS, make sure it has multikey, and try enabling CKR mode.

If you're not sure, post the version of CPS you're using, and the host, DSP, and flashcode of your radio.

scoops
Posts: 69
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2001 4:00 pm

Re: Kvl 4000 and astro saber

Postby scoops » Mon May 05, 2014 6:42 am

Its not multikey, 7.70 and 8.03 Flash is 100008-000000-0. It has des-xl , des-ofb .So if its flashed for multikey and the latest host, it will keyload? I know I can get it upgraded to the latest flash with multikey..

User avatar
motorola_otaku
Posts: 1833
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 7:03 am
What radios do you own?: 2 turntables and a microphone

Re: Kvl 4000 and astro saber

Postby motorola_otaku » Wed May 07, 2014 8:43 pm

jpa wrote:Jiminy Christmas...

Before you go spend $600 (not to mention the hassle of getting it ordered), go read your radio with CPS, make sure it has multikey, and try enabling CKR mode.

If you're not sure, post the version of CPS you're using, and the host, DSP, and flashcode of your radio.

CKR is just another method of organizing keys within the keyloader and radio (technically the secure module) itself, versus physical ID (PID) or physical key slot. Astro25 and ASN are keyfill data protocols and are the actual transport medium between the keyloader and the radio/secure module. Yes, you can do CKR key management in legacy Astro radios but without ASN capability in the keyloader you cannot put CKR-organized keys in the radio.

What you CAN do, however, is copy the keys to another keyloader that has both Astro25 and ASN capability and use it to load the radio.
When exposed to Rapid Fire Growth or Thermal Emergency, two things are lost:
1. Ability to use fine motor skills
2. Presence of mind

scoops
Posts: 69
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2001 4:00 pm

Re: Kvl 4000 and astro saber

Postby scoops » Thu May 08, 2014 3:08 am

Thanks motorola_otaku

V188
New User
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2014 12:46 pm
What radios do you own?: Astro Spectra, XTS, Kenwood

Re: Kvl 4000 and astro saber

Postby V188 » Wed May 14, 2014 10:14 am

All of the suggestions should work. I had a similar problem with no ASN in my kvl. Rather than spend to upgrade, I borrowed a keyloaded. Also the CKR issue is very important. Check to see how your set up.

MattSR
Posts: 760
Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2003 10:00 pm

Re: Kvl 4000 and astro saber

Postby MattSR » Sun May 18, 2014 9:43 pm

This will work has long as you have HOST firmware 7.xx or greater and the crypto boards EMC (UCM version) is 3.xx.

Go into the radio's Secure settings, click on the "Multikey Options" tab and enable "CKR Key Management". CKR = ASTRO25 mode.

scoops wrote:I only have astro 25 and radio authentication in the kvl4000. I tried both with no luck.

p47r4ck
Posts: 52
Joined: Sat Jun 29, 2013 9:35 am

Re: Kvl 4000 and astro saber

Postby p47r4ck » Tue May 20, 2014 3:11 pm

MattSR wrote:...CKR = ASTRO25 mode...


That is incredibly useful to know (not being sarcastic).

I still have some R02.XX EMCs, so I'll have to continue to use ASN for those

But, I'll have to play around with the one XTS3000 I have with an R03.XX UCM and get that programmed the same way as my ASTRO 25 gear.

Thank you! 8)

scoops
Posts: 69
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2001 4:00 pm

Re: Kvl 4000 and astro saber

Postby scoops » Tue May 20, 2014 4:16 pm

I get the radio back this week. I had it flashed to the latest host and added a ucm with AES. From what is posted here, it should now work. I'll post my results. Thanks to all for the help..

scoops
Posts: 69
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2001 4:00 pm

Re: Kvl 4000 and astro saber

Postby scoops » Thu May 22, 2014 3:13 pm

All is well now. Enabled CKR, loaded my keys..Thanks to all for the help.

MattSR
Posts: 760
Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2003 10:00 pm

Re: Kvl 4000 and astro saber

Postby MattSR » Thu May 29, 2014 3:15 pm

Good to hear!

No flashing required, and more proof that the older ASTRO gear works with "CKR" aka "SLN" aka "APCO25" aka "TIA.102-AACD compliant" aka "ASTRO25" mode keyloading. I just wish the powers that be could stick with a single naming convention..


Return to “Legacy Batboard Motorola ASTRO (VSELP/IMBE/AMBE) Equipment Forum”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests