Users may not create topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the following material (especially pertaining to Motorola copyrighted software, unless you want Motorola to come along and shut this site down):

  • Listing for sale or trade of, or links to sites offering for sale or trade of, or giving away, Radio
    Service Software (RSS) or Customer Programming Software (CPS)
  • Profanity, pornography, defamation, or slanderous remarks directed towards any individual or entity
  • Commercial advertising (except in the Batboard Vendors forum, as approved by the Admin/Mod Staff)
  • Any other items which may be deemed as offensive

If any topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the aforementioned material are brought to the attention of the Admin/Mod Staff, they will be deleted.

Additional FAQ items appear here in Forum Rules. Please review them for posting guidelines and further clarification.

Astro Saber Firmware Question

This forum is dedicated to discussions pertaining specifically to the Motorola ASTRO line of radios (those that use VSELP/IMBE/AMBE), including using digital modulation, digital programming, FlashPort upgrades, etc. If you have general questions please use the General or Programming forums.

Moderator: Queue Moderator

kb5tac
New User
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jul 27, 2014 10:31 am

Astro Saber Firmware Question

Postby kb5tac » Thu Dec 11, 2014 6:18 pm

I recently purchased an Astro Saber (VHF) to use on a project. This project requires narrow band freqs so I set out to program the radio. After spending quite a bit of time I tried to write the code plug to the radio and it failed stating the radio needed a firmware upgrade to take the narrow band channels. None of the Motorola shops around her can help me. Is there any way to get the firmware upgrade or am I dead in the water?

MattSR
Posts: 760
Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2003 10:00 pm

Re: Astro Saber Firmware Question

Postby MattSR » Thu Dec 11, 2014 11:35 pm

If you contact a motorola dealer and order a firmware refresh flashkey for something like an XTS5000, it will work on your ASRTO Saber too. Once you have the flashkey, you can download the .cvn firmware files off the internet (there is another P25 forum that hosts these) and then use your current CPS, flashkey and firmware file to do the upgrade.

jmr061
was KB9KST
Posts: 3176
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2001 4:00 pm
What radios do you own?: XTS2500

Re: Astro Saber Firmware Question

Postby jmr061 » Sat Dec 13, 2014 9:16 am

There are members here who can do it if you send them the radio. I am one of them. The key question is what is the current firmware version and is it a 512k or 1 meg vocon?
Check out www.fordpimods.com

N4KVE
Posts: 1582
Joined: Wed Apr 02, 2003 10:35 am
What radios do you own?: XTS3000/5000, TRBO, 900MHZ

Re: Astro Saber Firmware Question

Postby N4KVE » Sun Dec 14, 2014 8:32 am

OP, I see you are new here. I recently sent 2 radios to jmr061 for firmware upgrades. The turnaround time was immediate, & the results were fantastic. His price was very reasonable, & if that's what your radio needs, I recommend him to do the upgrade for you. GARY


Return to “Legacy Batboard Motorola ASTRO (VSELP/IMBE/AMBE) Equipment Forum”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests