Newbie Observations: My Experience Thus Far

This forum is dedicated to discussions pertaining specifically to the Motorola ASTRO line of radios (those that use VSELP/IMBE/AMBE), including using digital modulation, digital programming, FlashPort upgrades, etc. If you have general questions please use the General or Programming forums.

Moderator: Queue Moderator

PeterGV

Newbie Observations: My Experience Thus Far

Post by PeterGV »

I'm a new user of Moto portables. My interests are mainly in PS monitoring and ham repeater use.

As I was getting started, I found a lot of confusing, scattered and sometimes even conflicting information. I thought I'd share my experiences with others.

Let me start by saying that I have no experience using (or plans to sue) these radios on Trunked Radio Systems (TRS). So, my observations are related to conventional channels only.

My Observations Thus Far:

--------

1) The radios are really awesome for monitoring conventional police and fire channels. The sensitivity and especially the selectivity are far better than any scanner I've used. The P25 decoding is particularly good. Where I live (Southern NH) there are numerous "mixed" P25/analog channels, some of which also combined transmissions MDT data on the same channel. I've never heard a scanner that can properly handing combined MDT/P25/Analog channels. My Astro Saber and XTS-3K handle them perfectly.

2) To program the radios you need a copy of RSS or CPS. RSS is no longer available from Motorola. CPS *is* readily available (see below).