Users may not create topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the following material (especially pertaining to Motorola copyrighted software, unless you want Motorola to come along and shut this site down):

  • Listing for sale or trade of, or links to sites offering for sale or trade of, or giving away, Radio
    Service Software (RSS) or Customer Programming Software (CPS)
  • Profanity, pornography, defamation, or slanderous remarks directed towards any individual or entity
  • Commercial advertising (except in the Batboard Vendors forum, as approved by the Admin/Mod Staff)
  • Any other items which may be deemed as offensive

If any topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the aforementioned material are brought to the attention of the Admin/Mod Staff, they will be deleted.

Additional FAQ items appear here in Forum Rules. Please review them for posting guidelines and further clarification.

Motorola R2670A Hardware Questions

This forum exists for the purposes for discussing service monitors (This includes but is not limited to Motorola, HP, Aeroflex, GD, etc). Additional topics allowed include test procedures, interpretation of test results, where to find information about specific tests, antenna VSWR, return loss testing, duplexer and filter alignment, etc.

Moderator: Queue Moderator

sabersco
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 10:17 am
What radios do you own?: Saber III, HT1250, XTS5K, APX

Motorola R2670A Hardware Questions

Postby sabersco » Tue Aug 23, 2016 6:46 am

Hi , I am looking for hardware information on the R2670A service Monitor.

1-The monitor can have ad-on boards at the back of device , one would be trunking option board . what would be the purpose of the second board ?
2-Can the ECM modules (I guest they are the small boards on the last board) be moved on a monitor with only one board layer ?
3-What would be require to add ADP and AES to the ECM ?
4-is there a way to add options to monitor via eeprom flashing ?
Ive found a old tread with no reply (viewtopic.php?f=42&t=86007)
5-Is there a way to obtain ad-on monitor board firmware upgrade ?

Thanks

VE3HKB
New User
Posts: 53
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2009 11:11 am

Re: Motorola R2670A Hardware Questions

Postby VE3HKB » Tue Aug 23, 2016 9:18 pm

3 -I don't see ADP or AES listed in the original product description DES, DVP.
5 - maybe. A long time ago, 2002 to be precise, Motorola offered a Toolkit CD for the R26xx series.
It included a flashtool for firmware upgrades.
The CD I have is listed as Version 1.01, and is labelled "Includes: Toolkit Manager, Flashtool, Screen Capture Tool and latest Flash Files".
It does not list the specific versions and the individual files are zipped.
Any official support for this model has long ended, but limited support may still be available from Freedom or it's authorized service dealers.

sabersco
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 10:17 am
What radios do you own?: Saber III, HT1250, XTS5K, APX

Re: Motorola R2670A Hardware Questions

Postby sabersco » Wed Aug 24, 2016 5:13 pm

Thanks VE3HKB for the info !!!
That CD is probably what I need; I think it would really help me. Worts a try…
Yes ADP (software encryption) and AES-256 were available for the R2670 I have seen KG menu with it. I do have a pic of it.

Still wonder if the Modules really require being installed the last backplane ad-on board since there seem to be 2 unused emc (UCM) connector in the first AD-ON Board which I suspect to be the “trunking board”.

Do you still own your test set ?


xtssco

VE3HKB
New User
Posts: 53
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2009 11:11 am

Re: Motorola R2670A Hardware Questions

Postby VE3HKB » Thu Aug 25, 2016 5:53 pm

I've never owned an R2670 - I had ordered the CD in my previous life where I used an R2660.
I think the files are small enough I could probably email the contents, but burning a copy is also possible.
I have not tried any of the files, so I can't vouch for much. The last time I played around with R26xx software was in 1998 when the Test Equipment division still ran a BBS.
Unfortunately, I never bothered to download anything from the Motorola/General Dynamics website. Not sure what the latest version of F/W is or if it's still available.

In Canada, some support may still be available from Navair in Mississauga, ON. I've taken my work R2590 there a few times.

PM me with an email address

sabersco
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 10:17 am
What radios do you own?: Saber III, HT1250, XTS5K, APX

Re: Motorola R2670A Hardware Questions

Postby sabersco » Fri Aug 26, 2016 4:49 pm

PM SENT !

sabersco
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 10:17 am
What radios do you own?: Saber III, HT1250, XTS5K, APX

Re: Motorola R2670A Hardware Questions

Postby sabersco » Sun Aug 28, 2016 1:09 pm

the Motorola Toolkit CD for the R26xx series is only for later color screen model, this one require removing the U48 and U59 chips in the ad-on boards to update DSP.
Unfortunately I do not have V6.XX bin files for the P25 board.

Also the emc wont work on a trunking board. the DSP boards are the same as the P25 beside one module added and U48/U59 and the soldered feature chips U30 the other one.

a test set wont regonise the P25 DSP board unless the FW is compatible and the termination removed in the trunking DSP.

so the only chance here is to have the DSP bin file and write back to eeprom.

WB5ITT
Posts: 44
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2005 8:09 am

Re: Motorola R2670A Hardware Questions

Postby WB5ITT » Tue Jan 03, 2017 3:25 pm

The P25 module was an add on option for the 2670...had it at a former employment (and it cost almost as much as the monitor alone!! :) )

User avatar
d119
Posts: 3436
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2002 4:00 pm

Re: Motorola R2670A Hardware Questions

Postby d119 » Wed Jan 25, 2017 12:02 pm

If I recall it wasn't so much a P25 module as it was a P25 trunking module. The 2670 should do P25 in the box (probably as a software option) without anything hardware-wise added to it.


Return to “Test Equipment & RF Equipment Alignment”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests