Users may not create topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the following material (especially pertaining to Motorola copyrighted software, unless you want Motorola to come along and shut this site down):

  • Listing for sale or trade of, or links to sites offering for sale or trade of, or giving away, Radio
    Service Software (RSS) or Customer Programming Software (CPS)
  • Profanity, pornography, defamation, or slanderous remarks directed towards any individual or entity
  • Commercial advertising (except in the Batboard Vendors forum, as approved by the Admin/Mod Staff)
  • Any other items which may be deemed as offensive

If any topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the aforementioned material are brought to the attention of the Admin/Mod Staff, they will be deleted.

Additional FAQ items appear here in Forum Rules. Please review them for posting guidelines and further clarification.

R2001D Service Monitor

This forum exists for the purposes for discussing service monitors (This includes but is not limited to Motorola, HP, Aeroflex, GD, etc). Additional topics allowed include test procedures, interpretation of test results, where to find information about specific tests, antenna VSWR, return loss testing, duplexer and filter alignment, etc.

Moderator: Queue Moderator

W8TMT
New User
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2017 4:52 am

R2001D Service Monitor

Postby W8TMT » Tue Feb 28, 2017 2:16 pm

Recently acquired this unit and raised it from dead. Had some shorted diodes in the LV power supply, now starts up, beeps, passes self test and CRT display is bright and clear. Problem now is that the character fields that should be changeable by the keypad are displaying jibberish. A string of them looks like a ladder laid on its side. The cursor sometimes moves one position or maybe 3 positions with each arrow keypress depending on where you start. Any experts out there who have seen this?

Thanks,

Terry W8TMT

jry
Posts: 320
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2004 3:14 pm

Re: R2001D Service Monitor

Postby jry » Tue Feb 28, 2017 5:07 pm

re-cap the LV board.

W8TMT
New User
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2017 4:52 am

Re: R2001D Service Monitor

Postby W8TMT » Wed Mar 01, 2017 4:49 am

Already did that for good measure when replacing the diodes.

W8TMT
New User
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2017 4:52 am

Re: R2001D Service Monitor

Postby W8TMT » Wed Mar 01, 2017 5:33 am

More info - sometimes after boot-up the unit displays "HE"

DJP126
Posts: 862
Joined: Wed Jun 18, 2003 6:41 am
What radios do you own?: What's a radio?

Re: R2001D Service Monitor

Postby DJP126 » Thu Mar 02, 2017 8:19 am

Try re-setting the NVM using special function 99. To do this, press Both cursor arrows on the keypad at the same time, then the #9 twice.
Dave

W8TMT
New User
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2017 4:52 am

Re: R2001D Service Monitor

Postby W8TMT » Thu Mar 02, 2017 5:30 pm

Thanks for the tip, Dave. reset of NVM did not help, but "7-0 reset to factory control state" corrected the problem.

DJP126
Posts: 862
Joined: Wed Jun 18, 2003 6:41 am
What radios do you own?: What's a radio?

Re: R2001D Service Monitor

Postby DJP126 » Thu Mar 02, 2017 9:10 pm

Sorry, my error. Spcl fctn 99 gives you firmware version. 79 is the NVM reset. Guess I AM getting old.
Dave

W8TMT
New User
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2017 4:52 am

Re: R2001D Service Monitor

Postby W8TMT » Fri Mar 10, 2017 11:24 am

Your tip led me to the fix. Now to figure out where to get the special BNC connector with the antenna fuse and the fuse itself.

User avatar
kcbooboo
Batboard $upporter
Posts: 2087
Joined: Wed May 01, 2002 9:03 am

Re: R2001D Service Monitor

Postby kcbooboo » Sat Mar 11, 2017 12:38 pm

The fuse is most likely a PICO fuse. I never researched where to buy the connector though, but a lot of test equipment uses it. Probably a 1/16 amp.

Bob M.

User avatar
RJF19
New User
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2007 7:26 am
What radios do you own?: Icom 7600, 7000, 756 PROII

Re: R2001D Service Monitor

Postby RJF19 » Thu Mar 16, 2017 10:00 am

Been looking for that fused BNC connector for years, unobtainium. As for the fuse, try this guy: youtronix@hotmail.com
Bob Fehn W3RJF


Return to “Test Equipment & RF Equipment Alignment”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest