Users may not create topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the following material (especially pertaining to Motorola copyrighted software, unless you want Motorola to come along and shut this site down):

  • Listing for sale or trade of, or links to sites offering for sale or trade of, or giving away, Radio
    Service Software (RSS) or Customer Programming Software (CPS)
  • Profanity, pornography, defamation, or slanderous remarks directed towards any individual or entity
  • Commercial advertising (except in the Batboard Vendors forum, as approved by the Admin/Mod Staff)
  • Any other items which may be deemed as offensive

If any topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the aforementioned material are brought to the attention of the Admin/Mod Staff, they will be deleted.

Additional FAQ items appear here in Forum Rules. Please review them for posting guidelines and further clarification.

R2670A stupid question

This forum exists for the purposes for discussing service monitors (This includes but is not limited to Motorola, HP, Aeroflex, GD, etc). Additional topics allowed include test procedures, interpretation of test results, where to find information about specific tests, antenna VSWR, return loss testing, duplexer and filter alignment, etc.

Moderator: Queue Moderator

tgundo2003
New User
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed May 07, 2008 8:40 am

R2670A stupid question

Postby tgundo2003 » Sun Mar 05, 2017 8:54 am

I am a relatively new owner of an R2670A. Had it in for repair and calibration back in august.

I don't understand one simple thing, when I am checking things like Insertion loss and I connect the Gen out to the Ant in to get a baseline measurement why doesn't the generator output level match (or be close less cables and connectors loss) the reading of the input level? If I have my generator set to 0dBm out it will be measuring something around -55dBm in. Its less of a difference if I use the RF out port at the lower level, but there's still a difference.

I'm sure it's just something silly I just don't understand. Someone please educate me!

Thanks!

User avatar
xmo
Moderator
Posts: 2542
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2001 4:00 pm

Re: R2670A stupid question

Postby xmo » Mon Mar 06, 2017 5:49 am

Check your front panel fuses - Gen Out & Ant in - One of them is probably blown.

jry
Posts: 320
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2004 3:14 pm

Re: R2670A stupid question

Postby jry » Mon Mar 06, 2017 7:12 am

sounds like antenna fuse is blown if it fails on both GEN and RF I/O

Not sure when it was calibrated but they clearly should have caught that

tgundo2003
New User
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed May 07, 2008 8:40 am

Re: R2670A stupid question

Postby tgundo2003 » Mon Mar 06, 2017 10:52 am

Thanks for the replies. I will check them tonight.

Yea- I wasn't to happy with the place it got repaired/calibrated, poor communications.

tgundo2003
New User
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed May 07, 2008 8:40 am

Re: R2670A stupid question

Postby tgundo2003 » Mon Mar 06, 2017 6:25 pm

Just a follow up- the gen out fuse is blown- good call.

Suggestions on a good source for replacement fuses?

Thanks again!


Return to “Test Equipment & RF Equipment Alignment”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests