Users may not create topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the following material (especially pertaining to Motorola copyrighted software, unless you want Motorola to come along and shut this site down):

  • Listing for sale or trade of, or links to sites offering for sale or trade of, or giving away, Radio
    Service Software (RSS) or Customer Programming Software (CPS)
  • Profanity, pornography, defamation, or slanderous remarks directed towards any individual or entity
  • Commercial advertising (except in the Batboard Vendors forum, as approved by the Admin/Mod Staff)
  • Any other items which may be deemed as offensive

If any topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the aforementioned material are brought to the attention of the Admin/Mod Staff, they will be deleted.

Additional FAQ items appear here in Forum Rules. Please review them for posting guidelines and further clarification.

Motorola R2670 Questions

This forum exists for the purposes for discussing service monitors (This includes but is not limited to Motorola, HP, Aeroflex, GD, etc). Additional topics allowed include test procedures, interpretation of test results, where to find information about specific tests, antenna VSWR, return loss testing, duplexer and filter alignment, etc.

Moderator: Queue Moderator

User avatar
d119
Posts: 3436
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2002 4:00 pm

Motorola R2670 Questions

Postby d119 » Tue Oct 07, 2008 3:37 pm

I have an R2670 (it's currently out for calibration so I don't have it in front of me), but I believe it's an "A" model.

It has firmware version 5.something in it.

What do I need to do to get this thing set up so it's compatible with the GD AutoTest software? We're considering ordering the software if we can get our existing monitor upgraded to support it.

Can the R2670 be upgraded with the necessary firmware/options?

User avatar
firemedic
Posts: 210
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2001 4:00 pm

Re: Motorola R2670 Questions

Postby firemedic » Tue Oct 07, 2008 3:44 pm

The GD Autotest will work with the A revision monitors, just not as fast as I think it is limited to 9600 baud vs the B models 115k. Which version of autotest do you want to run, and does the monitor have the options in it that you want to test for, i.e. Project 25, secure, etc.

I have the autotest for the XTS3000/Astro Saber and it is very flakey with my setup. Sometimes it will work, other times it won't. If I try to do a full alignment/test sequence it errors out. If I do the tests one at a time which defeats my purpose of setting the radio to go and letting the software do the work, it seems to work ok. Pretty much no rhyme or reason to it. GD's normal answer is, weird, we've never seen that before, we'll call you back. It's been about a month and no call back. Go figure.

Anyway, when it works it does work well and takes alot of the work out of aligning the radios. Still a few things need tweaked by hand though.
Keith Dobbins N8KLD
IT Mainframe Network Engineer
W8TAP Repeater Group
Repeater Technician
Parkersburg, WV

User avatar
d119
Posts: 3436
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2002 4:00 pm

Re: Motorola R2670 Questions

Postby d119 » Tue Oct 07, 2008 5:20 pm

Very good. I'll investigate further. The specs for the software indicate the service monitor must have version 6 firmware, ours has version 5. Which are you using?

User avatar
firemedic
Posts: 210
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2001 4:00 pm

Re: Motorola R2670 Questions

Postby firemedic » Tue Oct 07, 2008 5:30 pm

I'm using the most current. I contacted GD support and they sent us a CD with the update program and the current firmware free of charge. This was last year but I assume that's still the case. The support guys on the monitor are pretty good to deal with so far when I've had problems. Mine's due for calibration now so I gotta be without it for a week and I think I'm going to go through withdraw. I might still have a copy of the disk (free from GD, has some other demo stuff on it as well and some tools for printing out the screen to a PC) here I can send you as well if you wanted it.
Keith Dobbins N8KLD
IT Mainframe Network Engineer
W8TAP Repeater Group
Repeater Technician
Parkersburg, WV

DJP126
Posts: 862
Joined: Wed Jun 18, 2003 6:41 am
What radios do you own?: What's a radio?

Re: Motorola R2670 Questions

Postby DJP126 » Tue Oct 14, 2008 6:25 am

Common practice at the service depot (CTDI) is to automatically update the firmware to the latest version.
Dave

User avatar
d119
Posts: 3436
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2002 4:00 pm

Re: Motorola R2670 Questions

Postby d119 » Tue Oct 14, 2008 2:12 pm

Thanks for the heads up Dave. We send our monitors to Cardinal Electronics for repair, so we'll see if they do any firmware updates or whatnot.

DJP126
Posts: 862
Joined: Wed Jun 18, 2003 6:41 am
What radios do you own?: What's a radio?

Re: Motorola R2670 Questions

Postby DJP126 » Tue Oct 14, 2008 7:01 pm

I don't know if Bob updates the firmware or not. Call him and ask. Otherwise call Ricky at CTDI (1-800-323-6967), he can help.Also, if you guys with questions on test equipment will put them in the General forum, I will be able to respond quicker. (I don't come into the Infrastructure forum too often).
Dave

User avatar
d119
Posts: 3436
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2002 4:00 pm

Re: Motorola R2670 Questions

Postby d119 » Wed Oct 15, 2008 9:45 am

Wish we had a forum dedicated to test equipment...

Bob says that firmware updates "can only be done by Motorola".

I don't buy.

User avatar
Wowbagger
Aeroflex
Posts: 1287
Joined: Tue Dec 10, 2002 10:46 am

Re: Motorola R2670 Questions

Postby Wowbagger » Wed Oct 15, 2008 1:16 pm

d119 wrote:Wish we had a forum dedicated to test equipment...


Seconded. I'd really like it if folks would ask questions about our (Aeroflex) gear in a public forum rather than in a PM, as that way everybody gets to see the answer.
This is my opinion, not Aeroflex's.

I WILL NOT give you proprietary information. I make too much money to jeopardize my job.

I AM NOT the Service department: You want official info, manuals, service info, parts, calibration, etc., contact Aeroflex directly, please.

User avatar
alex
Administrator
Posts: 5695
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2001 4:00 pm

Re: Motorola R2670 Questions

Postby alex » Wed Oct 15, 2008 1:26 pm

I think maybe my arm could be twisted.........

I'll see what the others say, but I don't object to the addition of a test equipment forum.

-Alex
The Radio Information Board: http://www.radioinfoboard.com
Your source for information on: Harris/Ma-Comm/EFJ/RELM/Kenwood/ICOM/Thales, equipment.

User avatar
xmo
Moderator
Posts: 2542
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2001 4:00 pm

Re: Motorola R2670 Questions

Postby xmo » Wed Oct 15, 2008 1:39 pm

I do like the idea of a "Test" forum.

In addition to questions about specific instruments, their operation, comparison to other instruments, etc. subjects could include test procedures, interpretation of test results, where to find information about specific tests, antenna VSWR and return loss testing, duplexer and filter alignment and testing, and many others.

User avatar
d119
Posts: 3436
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2002 4:00 pm

Re: Motorola R2670 Questions

Postby d119 » Wed Oct 15, 2008 1:59 pm

Well I'll once again reiterate that it'd be great to have a forum for test equipment. It would be ideal if it could allow discussion of non-Motorola service monitors, as I personally own an IFR-1500S/A, and I use R2600B's and R2670's at work.

I also agree with XMO's statement. The forum could be called "Test Equipment & RF Equipment Alignment"

Lets get it going!!!! Test equipment forum! I'll even volunteer to help moderate it if someone is needed to help with that, if not, thats fine too, let's just get it going!

User avatar
Wowbagger
Aeroflex
Posts: 1287
Joined: Tue Dec 10, 2002 10:46 am

Re: Motorola R2670 Questions

Postby Wowbagger » Wed Oct 15, 2008 2:35 pm

Should we have sub-forums for different manufactures and/or models of test gear, and for test advice?
d119 wrote:It would be ideal if it could allow discussion of non-Motorola service monitors...

Technically, there *are* no more "Motorola" monitors: that division got spun off into General Dynamics Decision Systems (and now-a-days Motorola works very close with us (Aeroflex) for their test solutions).
This is my opinion, not Aeroflex's.

I WILL NOT give you proprietary information. I make too much money to jeopardize my job.

I AM NOT the Service department: You want official info, manuals, service info, parts, calibration, etc., contact Aeroflex directly, please.

User avatar
d119
Posts: 3436
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2002 4:00 pm

Re: Motorola R2670 Questions

Postby d119 » Wed Oct 15, 2008 2:36 pm

Even better.

User avatar
alex
Administrator
Posts: 5695
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2001 4:00 pm

Re: Motorola R2670 Questions

Postby alex » Wed Oct 15, 2008 4:17 pm

viewforum.php?f=42

Done. I directly plagiarized some of the ideas/text/etc with some minor cleanup (which probably still could use fine tuning) and created the forum.

-Alex
The Radio Information Board: http://www.radioinfoboard.com
Your source for information on: Harris/Ma-Comm/EFJ/RELM/Kenwood/ICOM/Thales, equipment.

User avatar
d119
Posts: 3436
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2002 4:00 pm

Re: Motorola R2670 Questions

Postby d119 » Wed Oct 15, 2008 4:25 pm

SWEET! Thank you alex. Now can you please move this thread over there and we'll get back on topic!

User avatar
alex
Administrator
Posts: 5695
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2001 4:00 pm

Re: Motorola R2670 Questions

Postby alex » Wed Oct 15, 2008 4:33 pm

Oh I guess... :)
The Radio Information Board: http://www.radioinfoboard.com
Your source for information on: Harris/Ma-Comm/EFJ/RELM/Kenwood/ICOM/Thales, equipment.

studsmerkel
New User
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2013 2:08 pm

Re: Motorola R2670 Questions

Postby studsmerkel » Sat Sep 24, 2016 9:10 pm

I am considering buying a service monitor in anticipation of contracting some rf work to augment my retirement. I am considering the 2670. My question is do I buy a base model and purchase options or get one optioned out to begin with. I haven't been able to find any info on the costs of the individual options. I would like to have P25 conventional and trunking and maybe the secure options.


Return to “Test Equipment & RF Equipment Alignment”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests