Users may not create topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the following material (especially pertaining to Motorola copyrighted software, unless you want Motorola to come along and shut this site down):

  • Listing for sale or trade of, or links to sites offering for sale or trade of, or giving away, Radio
    Service Software (RSS) or Customer Programming Software (CPS)
  • Profanity, pornography, defamation, or slanderous remarks directed towards any individual or entity
  • Commercial advertising (except in the Batboard Vendors forum, as approved by the Admin/Mod Staff)
  • Any other items which may be deemed as offensive

If any topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the aforementioned material are brought to the attention of the Admin/Mod Staff, they will be deleted.

Additional FAQ items appear here in Forum Rules. Please review them for posting guidelines and further clarification.

Can't get the USB Cable to work with the CPS and XPR7550e

Moderator: Queue Moderator

User avatar
n4ogl
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Aug 14, 2006 11:35 am
What radios do you own?: APX7K, XPR7550e

Can't get the USB Cable to work with the CPS and XPR7550e

Postby n4ogl » Sun May 22, 2016 12:03 am

I can't seem to get my computer (running Win10 64 bit) to see my XPR7550e when I connect it with the USB Cable (same cable I program my APX7K with). CPS Version 13.0 build 666. Anyone have any idea where I can get drivers?
Mark
Back home, again, in California.

User avatar
SteveC0625
Posts: 446
Joined: Sat Jan 01, 2011 9:46 am
What radios do you own?: CDM's, CP's, CM's, and more

Re: Can't get the USB Cable to work with the CPS and XPR7550e

Postby SteveC0625 » Sun May 22, 2016 2:32 am

n4ogl wrote:I can't seem to get my computer (running Win10 64 bit) to see my XPR7550e when I connect it with the USB Cable (same cable I program my APX7K with). CPS Version 13.0 build 666. Anyone have any idea where I can get drivers?

Win 10 and USB cable? Sounds like it may be the dreaded cloned Prolific chip problem.

See this thread for one possible (and IMHO highly probable) cause and solution: viewtopic.php?f=15&t=112486

(The fact that the problem and fix involved a different family of radios is immaterial. The problem described is Windows 10 and the Prolific clones or counterfeits. What radio is on the other end of the cable really doesn't matter.)

rainbowpenguin
New User
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Jul 11, 2015 7:07 am

Re: Can't get the USB Cable to work with the CPS and XPR7550e

Postby rainbowpenguin » Sun May 22, 2016 10:46 am

The TRBO/APX usb cable does not have any type of serial converter chip inside. Prolific drivers won't do anything. It is a straight-thru usb cable with a 1-wire identification chip to tell the radio what's plugged into it. The radio will show up on the computer as an ethernet adapter when installed properly. The drivers should be on the DVD your copy of TRBO CPS came on, otherwise are available in the resource center section of your MOL account.

User avatar
escomm
Queue Moderator
Posts: 5131
Joined: Fri Mar 24, 2006 8:24 pm

Re: Can't get the USB Cable to work with the CPS and XPR7550e

Postby escomm » Thu May 26, 2016 12:48 pm

I don't think the TRBO CPS supports 64 bit Windows 10

KG4INW
Posts: 263
Joined: Thu May 22, 2008 3:31 pm
What radios do you own?: Not enough apparently!

Re: Can't get the USB Cable to work with the CPS and XPR7550e

Postby KG4INW » Sat May 28, 2016 10:37 am

According to MOL, it is Windows 10 compatible now (CPS 13.0, Build 666 - awesome number combination!).

User avatar
wavetar
Administrator
Posts: 7317
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2001 4:00 pm

Re: Can't get the USB Cable to work with the CPS and XPR7550e

Postby wavetar » Sun May 29, 2016 5:25 am

n4ogl wrote:I can't seem to get my computer (running Win10 64 bit) to see my XPR7550e when I connect it with the USB Cable (same cable I program my APX7K with). CPS Version 13.0 build 666. Anyone have any idea where I can get drivers?


Have you programmed the XPR on another machine? I'm thinking it's not Win10, it's probably your cable...what revision is it? The 'A' revision works fine on APX and first Gen XPR radios, but needs a modification to work with second Gen XPR portables...ground wire needs to be moved.
No trees were harmed in the posting of this message...however an extraordinarily large number of electrons were horribly inconvenienced.

Welcome to the /\/\achine.

N4KVE
Posts: 1582
Joined: Wed Apr 02, 2003 10:35 am
What radios do you own?: XTS3000/5000, TRBO, 900MHZ

Re: Can't get the USB Cable to work with the CPS and XPR7550e

Postby N4KVE » Thu Jun 02, 2016 4:03 pm

wavetar wrote:what revision is it? The 'A' revision works fine on APX and first Gen XPR radios, but needs a modification to work with second Gen XPR portables...ground wire needs to be moved.
Not on my 7550, & 7580. Bone stock A cable works just fine. GARY

User avatar
wavetar
Administrator
Posts: 7317
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2001 4:00 pm

Re: Can't get the USB Cable to work with the CPS and XPR7550e

Postby wavetar » Sat Jun 04, 2016 3:14 am

N4KVE wrote:
wavetar wrote:what revision is it? The 'A' revision works fine on APX and first Gen XPR radios, but needs a modification to work with second Gen XPR portables...ground wire needs to be moved.
Not on my 7550, & 7580. Bone stock A cable works just fine. GARY



It CAN work, but you're playing with fire a bit. The 'A' cable used the external antenna ground ring on the 6000 series for it's ground. You will note the 7000 series does not have that ring, thus no proper ground. You are programming your radio with a floating ground reference...not the most stable of things for programming. I have known them to work, though I don't know how, other than the floating ground reference is close enough to zero to have it work, but most of the time they don't work at all. It's a simple fix, and well worth your time to pop the accessory end apart & move the wire to a proper ground point. Then you will have a 'B' revision cable!
No trees were harmed in the posting of this message...however an extraordinarily large number of electrons were horribly inconvenienced.

Welcome to the /\/\achine.

N4KVE
Posts: 1582
Joined: Wed Apr 02, 2003 10:35 am
What radios do you own?: XTS3000/5000, TRBO, 900MHZ

Re: Can't get the USB Cable to work with the CPS and XPR7550e

Postby N4KVE » Sat Jun 04, 2016 7:14 am

wavetar wrote:It CAN work, but you're playing with fire a bit. The 'A' cable used the external antenna ground ring on the 6000 series for it's ground. You will note the 7000 series does not have that ring, thus no proper ground. You are programming your radio with a floating ground reference...not the most stable of things for programming. I have known them to work, though I don't know how, other than the floating ground reference is close enough to zero to have it work, but most of the time they don't work at all. It's a simple fix, and well worth your time to pop the accessory end apart & move the wire to a proper ground point. Then you will have a 'B' revision cable!
When my friend upgraded from a 6550, to a 7550, he was told he'd have to purchase the "B" cable, so he did. He sold me the practically new "A" cable for $20, as I had a 6550. So when I upgraded to a 7550, I too was prepared to buy a "B" cable, but figured I'd try my "A" cable first. Boy was I surprised when my "A" cable worked on my 7550. But my friend who sold me the "A" cable was visibly upset when he found out he did not have to buy his "B" cable. I do have the directions how to modify my "A" cable, but because it works perfectly, I never bothered to modify my "A" cable. GARY.


Return to “MotoTRBO Portables and Mobiles (3xxx/5xxx/7xxx/SL) 2.0 Series Subscribers”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests