Users may not create topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the following material (especially pertaining to Motorola copyrighted software, unless you want Motorola to come along and shut this site down):

  • Listing for sale or trade of, or links to sites offering for sale or trade of, or giving away, Radio
    Service Software (RSS) or Customer Programming Software (CPS)
  • Profanity, pornography, defamation, or slanderous remarks directed towards any individual or entity
  • Commercial advertising (except in the Batboard Vendors forum, as approved by the Admin/Mod Staff)
  • Any other items which may be deemed as offensive

If any topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the aforementioned material are brought to the attention of the Admin/Mod Staff, they will be deleted.

Additional FAQ items appear here in Forum Rules. Please review them for posting guidelines and further clarification.

SLR8000 Repeater

Moderator: Queue Moderator

johnny1225
Posts: 212
Joined: Thu Jul 22, 2004 8:27 am

SLR8000 Repeater

Postby johnny1225 » Thu May 18, 2017 3:36 pm

have a SLR8000 UHF Repeater hooked up to battery back up. I have two batteries hooked up in parallel. I have the Motorola battery back up cable hooked to the back of the repeater and under general settings i have battery checked, DC System normal set for 12V, battery charging check marked and output charger voltage set at 13.8v. They had a power shut down and it seemed that the battery backup didnt kick in. I am wondering if there is something i am forgetting. First time doing a battery back up on a SLR8000, and info would be greatly appreciated

john

User avatar
Bill_G
Posts: 2971
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2009 5:00 am

Re: SLR8000 Repeater

Postby Bill_G » Thu May 18, 2017 7:21 pm

Still a new product for us too. Haven't played with battery backup yet.

User avatar
Bill_G
Posts: 2971
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2009 5:00 am

Re: SLR8000 Repeater

Postby Bill_G » Fri May 19, 2017 7:51 am

Something I forgot to mention last night - If this product is like the MTR2K series, it *DOES NOT* charge the batteries - it merely draws from them. It's a DC input. You need an external battery management system, like the infamous Argus, to charge the battery pile.

jsilberberg
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2005 1:55 pm

Re: SLR8000 Repeater

Postby jsilberberg » Sun May 21, 2017 11:58 am

Check you settings in CPS under General --

There is a Section Label Battery now -- CPS 14 - 717

I would past a screen shot here but not having luck --
J. Silberberg
CompuDesigns, Inc.
Atlanta, GA.

User avatar
chartofmaryland
Batboard $upporter
Posts: 388
Joined: Sat Dec 28, 2002 11:25 pm
What radios do you own?: Alot

Re: SLR8000 Repeater

Postby chartofmaryland » Tue May 23, 2017 11:29 am

Afternoon Johnny,

This repeater is configurable for 2 power levels of backup. 50 watts which is only for 12VDC and 100W which is for 24VDC

If you have 2 batteries running this can be wired in either format but the voltage and power needs to be configured as mentioned under the battery backup settings.

Section is battery under general settings, check the box and then configure for system voltage, battery charging or not, and then
If the lights are out when you leave the station and then come on the second you key up, you know you have enough power.

RFguy
Posts: 1239
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2005 6:17 am

Re: SLR8000 Repeater

Postby RFguy » Tue May 23, 2017 12:24 pm

Bill_G wrote:Something I forgot to mention last night - If this product is like the MTR2K series, it *DOES NOT* charge the batteries - it merely draws from them. It's a DC input. You need an external battery management system, like the infamous Argus, to charge the battery pile.


FYI: The SLR8000 has full battery revert now with a built-in 5-amp charger.

User avatar
Bill_G
Posts: 2971
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2009 5:00 am

Re: SLR8000 Repeater

Postby Bill_G » Tue May 23, 2017 1:27 pm

RFguy wrote:
Bill_G wrote:Something I forgot to mention last night - If this product is like the MTR2K series, it *DOES NOT* charge the batteries - it merely draws from them. It's a DC input. You need an external battery management system, like the infamous Argus, to charge the battery pile.


FYI: The SLR8000 has full battery revert now with a built-in 5-amp charger.


Holy Cow Batman! Someone actually thought out the process! Amazing!
Thx! :)


Return to “MotoTRBO Repeaters, Trunking, and Site Infrastructure”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest