Users may not create topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the following material (especially pertaining to Motorola copyrighted software, unless you want Motorola to come along and shut this site down):

  • Listing for sale or trade of, or links to sites offering for sale or trade of, or giving away, Radio
    Service Software (RSS) or Customer Programming Software (CPS)
  • Profanity, pornography, defamation, or slanderous remarks directed towards any individual or entity
  • Commercial advertising (except in the Batboard Vendors forum, as approved by the Admin/Mod Staff)
  • Any other items which may be deemed as offensive

If any topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the aforementioned material are brought to the attention of the Admin/Mod Staff, they will be deleted.

Additional FAQ items appear here in Forum Rules. Please review them for posting guidelines and further clarification.

2 Turbo repeaters

Moderator: Queue Moderator

User avatar
firemedic4
Posts: 1128
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2001 4:00 pm

2 Turbo repeaters

Postby firemedic4 » Sun Aug 09, 2015 8:10 am

Has anyone every synced two repeaters up using 4g veriozn modems ?

User avatar
Bill_G
Posts: 3058
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2009 5:00 am

Re: 2 Turbo repeaters

Postby Bill_G » Sun Aug 09, 2015 10:34 am

Yes. We use Cradlepoint product over Verizon service. Works fine if the local site isn't too busy.

User avatar
wavetar
Administrator
Posts: 7317
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2001 4:00 pm

Re: 2 Turbo repeaters

Postby wavetar » Mon Aug 17, 2015 2:49 am

Not Verizon, but I have also linked TRBO repeaters over cellular with LTE modems (Red Lion SN-6000 series):

http://www.redlion.net/cellular-routers

Formerly 'Sixnet', and before that, 'Bluetree'.
No trees were harmed in the posting of this message...however an extraordinarily large number of electrons were horribly inconvenienced.

Welcome to the /\/\achine.

User avatar
Bill_G
Posts: 3058
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2009 5:00 am

Re: 2 Turbo repeaters

Postby Bill_G » Mon Aug 17, 2015 4:09 am

Bill_G wrote:Yes. We use Cradlepoint product over Verizon service. Works fine if the local site isn't too busy.


Expanding on our usage -
We installed Trbo repeaters in all hospital locations in the Portland Metro area for a large health care provider. Their IT dept refused to cooperate. We used Verizon service with Cradlepoint modems that they suggested, and they have worked reasonably well. 23 out of 24 hours a day the links are good. But, one of the locations is near a Verizon site that hits it's site cap in the late afternoon almost everyday. Latency and frame loss increase. Voice quality goes towards the bubble zone. Having to repeat what you said becomes common. The local repeat is good. Only the link between sites, and dispatch is affected. Once we positively identified it, the customer decided it was good enough to live with. They understood the limits of the cellular technology, and elected not to move towards a dedicated DSL or any other options to fix it.

Since that time, we have used the same strategy elsewhere when we, or the customer, are unable to provide a physical network connection between their repeater locations. It's become very useful for our rentals department to deploy multiple repeaters around the area for an event linked together by cellular. They love it. If you have good cell rssi, it works just fine.


Return to “MotoTRBO Repeaters, Trunking, and Site Infrastructure”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest