Users may not create topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the following material (especially pertaining to Motorola copyrighted software, unless you want Motorola to come along and shut this site down):

  • Listing for sale or trade of, or links to sites offering for sale or trade of, or giving away, Radio
    Service Software (RSS) or Customer Programming Software (CPS)
  • Profanity, pornography, defamation, or slanderous remarks directed towards any individual or entity
  • Commercial advertising (except in the Batboard Vendors forum, as approved by the Admin/Mod Staff)
  • Any other items which may be deemed as offensive

If any topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the aforementioned material are brought to the attention of the Admin/Mod Staff, they will be deleted.

Additional FAQ items appear here in Forum Rules. Please review them for posting guidelines and further clarification.

SLR8000 Repeater

Moderator: Queue Moderator

johnny1225
Posts: 216
Joined: Thu Jul 22, 2004 8:27 am

SLR8000 Repeater

Postby johnny1225 » Wed Mar 22, 2017 9:13 am

I am setting up a SLR8000 Repeater with capacity plus. This is a UHF Repeater, working with XPR7550 Radios. The problem is it working great for about 30 seconds then the green power light goes red and then it will not work until the repeater is restarted. Then again it will work for around 30 seconds then it goes dead again with the same red light. I believe it is just a programming error can anyone help??? This is single site cap plus not multi site. Thanks

John

User avatar
Bill_G
Posts: 3055
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2009 5:00 am

Re: SLR8000 Repeater

Postby Bill_G » Wed Mar 22, 2017 11:28 am

Put it into a dummy load, and tell us what happens.

johnny1225
Posts: 216
Joined: Thu Jul 22, 2004 8:27 am

Re: SLR8000 Repeater

Postby johnny1225 » Wed Mar 22, 2017 12:20 pm

Dummy Loads work fine. doesnt power off at all

User avatar
Bill_G
Posts: 3055
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2009 5:00 am

Re: SLR8000 Repeater

Postby Bill_G » Wed Mar 22, 2017 12:28 pm

Then, I would sweep the xmit line and/or duplexer to find the problem.

User avatar
Vercomm
Posts: 426
Joined: Mon Apr 12, 2004 7:00 pm

Re: SLR8000 Repeater

Postby Vercomm » Thu Mar 23, 2017 3:39 pm

To high vswr, I've just put 6 of these into service and if the tx is seeing to much reflected they shut down as you have experienced. Bad Antenna, line, connector, filter....one of those (even filter out of tune).
"Life's journey is not to arrive at the grave safely in a well preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways, totally worn out, torn up and shouting... "Holy Sh*t...what a ride!!"

User avatar
arlojanis
Posts: 956
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2002 4:00 pm

Re: SLR8000 Repeater

Postby arlojanis » Fri Mar 24, 2017 5:57 am

Thinking about the shut down problem, do you like the SLR8000 better than the MTR3000?
"The world runs on radio."

n1gtl
Posts: 91
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 12:43 pm
What radios do you own?: XPR5550, XPR7550e

Re: SLR8000 Repeater

Postby n1gtl » Mon Mar 27, 2017 9:49 am

Simple test. Put the antenna directly to the TX connection. If it shuts down, it's the antenna or feedline. If it doesn't shut down, the duplexer may not be tuned correctly.

Put a dummy load on the duplexers antenna connection. Put your watt meter between the TX side of the duplexer and the TX side of the radio. Check SWR there. If your antenna is good, that will show you if the duplexer is reflecting the power back. Could be a bad cable too.

You can see the error log of the repeater using RDAC. It will tell you if the SWR is high.

Is this a single repeater, single site CP system or is there more than one repeater?

User avatar
escomm
Queue Moderator
Posts: 5131
Joined: Fri Mar 24, 2006 8:24 pm

Re: SLR8000 Repeater

Postby escomm » Sun Apr 02, 2017 10:43 am

johnny1225 wrote:Dummy Loads work fine. doesnt power off at all


:o


Return to “MotoTRBO Repeaters, Trunking, and Site Infrastructure”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest