Users may not create topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the following material (especially pertaining to Motorola copyrighted software, unless you want Motorola to come along and shut this site down):

  • Listing for sale or trade of, or links to sites offering for sale or trade of, or giving away, Radio
    Service Software (RSS) or Customer Programming Software (CPS)
  • Profanity, pornography, defamation, or slanderous remarks directed towards any individual or entity
  • Commercial advertising (except in the Batboard Vendors forum, as approved by the Admin/Mod Staff)
  • Any other items which may be deemed as offensive

If any topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the aforementioned material are brought to the attention of the Admin/Mod Staff, they will be deleted.

Additional FAQ items appear here in Forum Rules. Please review them for posting guidelines and further clarification.

SLR5700 repeaters with IP switch

Moderator: Queue Moderator

johnny1225
Posts: 216
Joined: Thu Jul 22, 2004 8:27 am

SLR5700 repeaters with IP switch

Postby johnny1225 » Mon Nov 27, 2017 5:32 pm

Has anyone heard of hooking up 3 SLR5700 repeaters through a large building kind of like IP site connect but just using a IP switch and cat6 ethernet cabling to attach to switch and back of repeaters. A rf technican said he does this all the time and it works quite well. The antennas and feedline are already in place with one repeater but the coverage is not that good. Can anyone tell me more about this type of setup?

Thanks

John

User avatar
Astro Spectra
Posts: 609
Joined: Sat Sep 22, 2001 4:00 pm

Re: SLR5700 repeaters with IP switch

Postby Astro Spectra » Tue Nov 28, 2017 12:46 am

Why do you think it's not IPSC?

RFguy
Posts: 1294
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2005 6:17 am

Re: SLR5700 repeaters with IP switch

Postby RFguy » Tue Nov 28, 2017 7:04 am

As mentioned, this sounds like IP Site connect (you need different frequencies for each repeater), or if it's only a talback issue, Digital Voting. Only one repeater pair needed then.

n1gtl
Posts: 91
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 12:43 pm
What radios do you own?: XPR5550, XPR7550e

Re: SLR5700 repeaters with IP switch

Postby n1gtl » Tue Nov 28, 2017 7:22 am

johnny1225 wrote:A rf technican said he does this all the time and it works quite well.


It can be done. As was mentioned, you'll need two more frequency pairs. You'll need to get the infrastructure in place and take RSSI readings. You'll need to adjust power output of the repeaters and balance the roaming RSSI settings so the subscribers roam to the different repeaters at the right time.

As was also mentioned. if you're hearing the repeater but not getting in, you can set a repeater up as a voting receiver for the system.

No matter what, it can be a pain in a** to balance everything and get it right. Anyone can just throw it in and hope for the best.


Return to “MotoTRBO Repeaters, Trunking, and Site Infrastructure”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest