Users may not create topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the following material (especially pertaining to Motorola copyrighted software, unless you want Motorola to come along and shut this site down):

  • Listing for sale or trade of, or links to sites offering for sale or trade of, or giving away, Radio
    Service Software (RSS) or Customer Programming Software (CPS)
  • Profanity, pornography, defamation, or slanderous remarks directed towards any individual or entity
  • Commercial advertising (except in the Batboard Vendors forum, as approved by the Admin/Mod Staff)
  • Any other items which may be deemed as offensive

If any topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the aforementioned material are brought to the attention of the Admin/Mod Staff, they will be deleted.

Additional FAQ items appear here in Forum Rules. Please review them for posting guidelines and further clarification.

Astrolab Version B03.04.00 for astro spectra ?

Moderator: Queue Moderator

radiodude123
New User
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2017 9:53 am

Astrolab Version B03.04.00 for astro spectra ?

Postby radiodude123 » Fri Feb 24, 2017 1:04 pm

I have the astrolab Version B03.04.00. According to the astro mobiles section here on batlabs it should work for astro spectra.
When I start the program I notice it says for astro portables ?
Is there a different version for astro spectra ? Or am I not running the program correctly ?
I see a file called astrop.cfg. Do I need the same file for mobiles ? There is also a file called runtime.odb ?
Anyway I can't seem to read any astro spectra codeplugs, archives or srecords.
It will read astro saber files though.
Anyone have experience with this RSS ?
How do I get it to work with astro spectra ?
Thanks

Thomas
Posts: 71
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2008 5:35 pm
What radios do you own?: MCS2K,CDM1250,XTS3000,XTL2500

Re: Astrolab Version B03.04.00 for astro spectra ?

Postby Thomas » Wed Mar 15, 2017 6:23 am

Usually when there is separate CPS for mobiles and portables there is separate Lab software also. Though you most likely answered your own question through experimentation. If the software says it's for portables then it is what it is.

User avatar
d119
Posts: 3390
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2002 4:00 pm

Re: Astrolab Version B03.04.00 for astro spectra ?

Postby d119 » Wed Mar 15, 2017 11:18 am

I would not be using any of those old tools on a radio from "today's era" unless you know exactly what you are doing.

Experimentation with that old stuff on a radio that's not from that era of software (read: firmware/codeplug) will almost certainly leave you with a dead radio.

It has its uses, but that treads into an area I don't think the staff want discussed here on the site. I'll let them chime in on that.

My best advice is to leave that stuff alone lest you end up with a radio that's worse off than when you started.

User avatar
wavetar
Administrator
Posts: 7289
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2001 4:00 pm

Re: Astrolab Version B03.04.00 for astro spectra ?

Postby wavetar » Thu Mar 16, 2017 2:43 am

I recall regular Astro RSS was an all-in-one package, you simply typed 'astrop' for portables & 'astrom' for mobiles to run the applicable .bat file. Maybe the LAB RSS is similar?
No trees were harmed in the posting of this message...however an extraordinarily large number of electrons were horribly inconvenienced.

Welcome to the /\/\achine.

User avatar
d119
Posts: 3390
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2002 4:00 pm

Re: Astrolab Version B03.04.00 for astro spectra ?

Postby d119 » Thu Mar 16, 2017 5:35 pm

The DOS ASTRO Lab that's floating around out there is incredibly old. The codeplug structure has changed so much that any attempt to use it for anything other than read/write with no pack/unpack will brick a radio.

The only real use it has is pulling and pushing s-records.

Trying to change features/buttons/read/write the radio with it will give you a very expensive paperweight.

User avatar
wavetar
Administrator
Posts: 7289
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2001 4:00 pm

Re: Astrolab Version B03.04.00 for astro spectra ?

Postby wavetar » Fri Mar 17, 2017 11:19 am

d119 wrote:The only real use it has is pulling and pushing s-records.


And even that is dangerous. For Astro Spectras at least, it will corrupt the codeplug & the radio will give an 01/82 error after writing the packed s-record. Oddly, the MTSX LAB 3.02.00 has no issue with Astro Spectras, and can even fix the corruption cause by the Astro LAB by forcing in the same packed s-record properly.
No trees were harmed in the posting of this message...however an extraordinarily large number of electrons were horribly inconvenienced.

Welcome to the /\/\achine.

User avatar
d119
Posts: 3390
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2002 4:00 pm

Re: Astrolab Version B03.04.00 for astro spectra ?

Postby d119 » Fri Mar 17, 2017 12:46 pm

That is why you always use the read/write with no pack/unpack!

User avatar
wavetar
Administrator
Posts: 7289
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2001 4:00 pm

Re: Astrolab Version B03.04.00 for astro spectra ?

Postby wavetar » Sun Mar 19, 2017 7:52 am

d119 wrote:That is why you always use the read/write with no pack/unpack!


No, that still causes the corruption, is what I'm saying. Try it with an Astro Spectra, just make sure you have MTSX LAB to fix it!
No trees were harmed in the posting of this message...however an extraordinarily large number of electrons were horribly inconvenienced.

Welcome to the /\/\achine.

User avatar
d119
Posts: 3390
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2002 4:00 pm

Re: Astrolab Version B03.04.00 for astro spectra ?

Postby d119 » Sun Mar 19, 2017 12:44 pm

Aha! Well than that just makes more of a case to not use Astro LAB for anything, ever.

MTSX Lab can handle everything anyway.


Return to “ASTRO Series (Astro Saber, Spectra, XTS3000/3500) Subscribers”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest