Users may not create topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the following material (especially pertaining to Motorola copyrighted software, unless you want Motorola to come along and shut this site down):

  • Listing for sale or trade of, or links to sites offering for sale or trade of, or giving away, Radio
    Service Software (RSS) or Customer Programming Software (CPS)
  • Profanity, pornography, defamation, or slanderous remarks directed towards any individual or entity
  • Commercial advertising (except in the Batboard Vendors forum, as approved by the Admin/Mod Staff)
  • Any other items which may be deemed as offensive

If any topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the aforementioned material are brought to the attention of the Admin/Mod Staff, they will be deleted.

Additional FAQ items appear here in Forum Rules. Please review them for posting guidelines and further clarification.

P16 to P25???

Moderator: Queue Moderator

dfc2
Posts: 353
Joined: Sun Mar 10, 2002 4:00 pm

P16 to P25???

Postby dfc2 » Wed Dec 23, 2015 1:09 pm

Can someone help me here. I need a little info about upgrading an XTS3000 from P16 to P25.

my (Small) agency has an opportunity to get some XTS3000's (800 MHz), but they are flashed for P16, we need P25 for our county wide system.

I have never dealt with the newer radios, so cn someone tell me what it takes to get the radios upgraded, possible costs, what needs done?



thanks.

Dave

talviar
Posts: 119
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2001 4:00 pm

Re: P16 to P25???

Postby talviar » Thu Dec 24, 2015 2:44 pm

As a System Administrator for a Regional P25 System- I'd say- first- check with the System Owner to verify they still accept XTS3000's onto the system.

Second- Since the XTS3000 is beyond end of life, end of support, you probably aren't going to get upgrades from Motorola to enable the P25 option set in the radio.

I'd recommend other radios before I'd go the route of upgrading XTS3000's.

dfc2
Posts: 353
Joined: Sun Mar 10, 2002 4:00 pm

Re: P16 to P25???

Postby dfc2 » Sun Dec 27, 2015 12:46 am

Thanks for the suggestion, but it does not answer my question.

I have done some reading in the last few day. It seems it can be done. The question is, at this point, all a matter of cost. Who can Do it, and what does it cost per unit.

Yes, I know there are other options, that's why I'm asking for cost info. To decide if it's cost effective.

Thanks.

User avatar
Java
Posts: 138
Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2013 10:01 pm
What radios do you own?: Astro, XTS, XTL, WARIS

Re: P16 to P25???

Postby Java » Fri Jan 15, 2016 3:06 pm

ok, i have to ask what is P16 is that VSELP?
and is that something that can be enabled on a old Astro saber analog only?
Java
Image

User avatar
Twisted_Pear
Batboard $upporter
Posts: 510
Joined: Thu Sep 06, 2001 4:00 pm

Re: P16 to P25???

Postby Twisted_Pear » Fri Jan 15, 2016 10:14 pm

Java wrote:ok, i have to ask what is P16 is that VSELP?
and is that something that can be enabled on a old Astro saber analog only?
P16 as in APCO Project 16. Motorola's SmartNet/Zone is their implementation of the standard. VSELP was originally marketed as "ASTRO" without the 25. ASTRO25 became IMBE.

I can only guess he wants to make a radio that supports 3600 do 9600 trunking. Hopefully he's aware they won't do both if upgraded for 9600/P25 trunking.

User avatar
radiokid
Posts: 123
Joined: Tue Nov 09, 2004 1:06 pm

Re: P16 to P25???

Postby radiokid » Sat Jan 16, 2016 7:14 pm

XTS3000 can do both a 3600 and a 9600 system at the same time. The 3600 system is limited in features. We had this done in mid 2000's.

resqguy911
Posts: 597
Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2004 3:35 pm

Re: P16 to P25???

Postby resqguy911 » Sun Jan 17, 2016 6:54 am

dfc2 wrote:Thanks for the suggestion, but it does not answer my question.

I have done some reading in the last few day. It seems it can be done. The question is, at this point, all a matter of cost. Who can Do it, and what does it cost per unit.

Yes, I know there are other options, that's why I'm asking for cost info. To decide if it's cost effective.

Thanks.


It cannot officially be done anymore as Motorola stopped selling flashport upgrades for that line years ago. As a matter of fact, they are also about to stop selling upgrades for the Astro25 series as well, so get them while you can. You will have much less grief just buying some properly configured XTS5000s instead.
"TDMA = digital and same great taste, half the bits"


Return to “ASTRO Series (Astro Saber, Spectra, XTS3000/3500) Subscribers”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest