Users may not create topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the following material (especially pertaining to Motorola copyrighted software, unless you want Motorola to come along and shut this site down):

  • Listing for sale or trade of, or links to sites offering for sale or trade of, or giving away, Radio
    Service Software (RSS) or Customer Programming Software (CPS)
  • Profanity, pornography, defamation, or slanderous remarks directed towards any individual or entity
  • Commercial advertising (except in the Batboard Vendors forum, as approved by the Admin/Mod Staff)
  • Any other items which may be deemed as offensive

If any topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the aforementioned material are brought to the attention of the Admin/Mod Staff, they will be deleted.

Additional FAQ items appear here in Forum Rules. Please review them for posting guidelines and further clarification.

No flashcode on label?

Moderator: Queue Moderator

User avatar
kf4sqb
Posts: 1491
Joined: Mon May 19, 2003 9:11 pm
What radios do you own?: I can't enter that much....

No flashcode on label?

Postby kf4sqb » Sun Dec 04, 2016 9:23 pm

There is currently an Astro Spectra listed on Ebay, that has no flashcode on the radio's label. The model number does indicate it to be an Astro. Is there anywhere else on the radio's case that the flashcode might be located? If not, is there a "test mode" in the Astros that I could possible get the seller to walk it through that would give the flashcode? I don't want to purchase a radio, then find that the flashcode in it won't do what I need it to do. The auction is located HERE. Thanks!
kf4sqb "at" wetsnet "dot" com



Look for the new "Jedi" series portables!

Bat-Phone= BAT-CAVE (2283)

-.- .. ....- -.-. -.-- . .. ... -- -.-- -... .-. --- - .... . .-. .-.-.-

User avatar
d119
Posts: 3422
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2002 4:00 pm

Re: No flashcode on label?

Postby d119 » Tue Dec 06, 2016 8:26 am

Powering up the radio and pressing the HOME key on the control head five times should enter test mode. This being a 1MEG radio, it is probably new enough that the test mode will cycle through the radio information display and show the flashcode. Other than that, there is no way to find out what it is short of reading the radio.

Interesting the flashcode didn't make it onto the tag. Almost looks like there might've been a factory error in the printing alignment of the label. It happens.

User avatar
kf4sqb
Posts: 1491
Joined: Mon May 19, 2003 9:11 pm
What radios do you own?: I can't enter that much....

Re: No flashcode on label?

Postby kf4sqb » Tue Dec 06, 2016 3:40 pm

Will it actually say that it is the flashcode, or will it just show a string of numbers? If just the numbers, will it be in the normal "configuration", or will it have to scroll? I don't have any experience with the Astro lines, only the older conventional Spectras, and need to know what to tell the seller to look for. Thanks for your help!
kf4sqb "at" wetsnet "dot" com







Look for the new "Jedi" series portables!



Bat-Phone= BAT-CAVE (2283)



-.- .. ....- -.-. -.-- . .. ... -- -.-- -... .-. --- - .... . .-. .-.-.-

User avatar
d119
Posts: 3422
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2002 4:00 pm

Re: No flashcode on label?

Postby d119 » Fri Dec 16, 2016 11:49 am

Just have them copy down all the output from the test mode, and post it here. The rest of us will figure it out for you.

RADIOMAN2002
Posts: 1102
Joined: Thu Apr 04, 2002 4:00 pm
What radios do you own?: More than I can count

Re: No flashcode on label?

Postby RADIOMAN2002 » Wed Jan 04, 2017 6:42 am

If the radio doesn't have it labeled on the outside by the serial number chances are the radio is analog only or VSLEP. Based on the serial number that is a very old (1995) built radio which unless the radio was upgraded is more than likely analog.

Getting the info from the test mode will give you the best information, and you will also probably have to replace the caps. Any flash code that starts with a 1 or 5 is P-25 and all other options can be put in.


Return to “ASTRO Series (Astro Saber, Spectra, XTS3000/3500) Subscribers”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests