Users may not create topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the following material (especially pertaining to Motorola copyrighted software, unless you want Motorola to come along and shut this site down):

  • Listing for sale or trade of, or links to sites offering for sale or trade of, or giving away, Radio
    Service Software (RSS) or Customer Programming Software (CPS)
  • Profanity, pornography, defamation, or slanderous remarks directed towards any individual or entity
  • Commercial advertising (except in the Batboard Vendors forum, as approved by the Admin/Mod Staff)
  • Any other items which may be deemed as offensive

If any topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the aforementioned material are brought to the attention of the Admin/Mod Staff, they will be deleted.

Additional FAQ items appear here in Forum Rules. Please review them for posting guidelines and further clarification.

Astro Saber/XTS3K FW updates

Moderator: Queue Moderator

User avatar
N4DES
was KS4VT
Posts: 1204
Joined: Thu Dec 25, 2003 7:59 am
What radios do you own?: APX,XTS2500,XTL2500,XTL1500

Astro Saber/XTS3K FW updates

Postby N4DES » Sun Apr 09, 2017 4:57 am

It has been a while since I have done a FW update on the subject radios and I'm having an issue with the CPS seeing the refresh dongle. I can read/write to the radios with no issues (32 bit Win7 with multiple serial ports) via a SmartRib but when I go to read the USB refresh dongle that is plugged in the CPS doesn't see it and won't unwrap the key during the FW update process.

The dongle is good and can be seen with Astro25 CPS on the same desktop.

Thanks!
Mark

jry
Posts: 310
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2004 3:14 pm

Re: Astro Saber/XTS3K FW updates

Postby jry » Sun Apr 09, 2017 8:17 am

the Ibutton IC changed so you may have the newer version ibutton that works with the P25 and APX CPS but was not supported on the Astro CPS. ( even 5.03 )

This issue also can happen on the ASK I button as well ...it's where i usually run into this.

At least we can go back to the old version I button on the ASK since we can generate those.

You may be out of luck on new factory Astro refreash keys though. doubt they will do an old version refresh.

User avatar
d119
Posts: 3422
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2002 4:00 pm

Re: Astro Saber/XTS3K FW updates

Postby d119 » Sun Apr 09, 2017 10:57 am

I've had this issue as well. It has something to do with high performance USB ports as far as I can tell. I've had to use older PC's with older USB ports to get this to work.

User avatar
N4DES
was KS4VT
Posts: 1204
Joined: Thu Dec 25, 2003 7:59 am
What radios do you own?: APX,XTS2500,XTL2500,XTL1500

Re: Astro Saber/XTS3K FW updates

Postby N4DES » Sun Apr 09, 2017 4:16 pm

OK I have access to some older PC's (XP Toughbooks) so I'll see if I can get it to see in on one of these. This is not a newer PC (refurb Tiger Direct desktop) that works all the way down to MTS, at least reading & writing via CPS, so I was confused as to why it doesn't see the ibutton.

I never thought about the model of the ibutton. I have had these for a quite a while and have others so I'll have to tear them apart and look at the model #'s to see what they are.

Appreciate the insight and will follow up after I figure it out.
Mark

User avatar
N4DES
was KS4VT
Posts: 1204
Joined: Thu Dec 25, 2003 7:59 am
What radios do you own?: APX,XTS2500,XTL2500,XTL1500

Re: Astro Saber/XTS3K FW updates

Postby N4DES » Mon Apr 10, 2017 12:52 pm

It ended being a computer capability issue. I moved to an older laptop and it saw the original dongle in CPS and the radios updated just fine.


Return to “ASTRO Series (Astro Saber, Spectra, XTS3000/3500) Subscribers”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MSS-Dave and 1 guest