Users may not create topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the following material (especially pertaining to Motorola copyrighted software, unless you want Motorola to come along and shut this site down):

  • Listing for sale or trade of, or links to sites offering for sale or trade of, or giving away, Radio
    Service Software (RSS) or Customer Programming Software (CPS)
  • Profanity, pornography, defamation, or slanderous remarks directed towards any individual or entity
  • Commercial advertising (except in the Batboard Vendors forum, as approved by the Admin/Mod Staff)
  • Any other items which may be deemed as offensive

If any topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the aforementioned material are brought to the attention of the Admin/Mod Staff, they will be deleted.

Additional FAQ items appear here in Forum Rules. Please review them for posting guidelines and further clarification.

XTL5000 w3 with o-series tib

Moderator: Queue Moderator

NHfirefighter
Posts: 305
Joined: Mon Jun 05, 2006 4:12 am

XTL5000 w3 with o-series tib

Postby NHfirefighter » Tue Mar 21, 2017 1:58 am

I recall a thread on CS showing someone had hooked up a W3 head to an O-series tib using the db25 connector. I know the radio needs to be flashed for a W3 head but is there any risk in doing it this way? The poster indicated it worked fine just wanted to see if anyone else knew of risks about it before I tried.

NHfirefighter
Posts: 305
Joined: Mon Jun 05, 2006 4:12 am

Re: XTL5000 w3 with o-series tib

Postby NHfirefighter » Thu Mar 23, 2017 10:04 am

An update for anyone who might be encountering this I am happy to report if you change the control head from O5 to W3 but leave the o-series TIB in place it will work! This is great news for me because I was upgrading a previous install of an AS W3 so all I need to do is change out the drawer. There is one downside however it appears the power button on the HHCH isn't mapped appropriately when using the O-tib which means power needs to be on a separate switched power supply. That is a pretty easy and inexpensive fix however and prevents the need to run all new wiring and HHCH cables.

User avatar
wavetar
Administrator
Posts: 7316
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2001 4:00 pm

Re: XTL5000 w3 with o-series tib

Postby wavetar » Fri Mar 24, 2017 2:41 am

That is great information, thanks for sharing!
No trees were harmed in the posting of this message...however an extraordinarily large number of electrons were horribly inconvenienced.

Welcome to the /\/\achine.


Return to “ASTRO25 Series (XTS/XTL 1500/2500/5000) Subscribers”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest