Users may not create topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the following material (especially pertaining to Motorola copyrighted software, unless you want Motorola to come along and shut this site down):

  • Listing for sale or trade of, or links to sites offering for sale or trade of, or giving away, Radio
    Service Software (RSS) or Customer Programming Software (CPS)
  • Profanity, pornography, defamation, or slanderous remarks directed towards any individual or entity
  • Commercial advertising (except in the Batboard Vendors forum, as approved by the Admin/Mod Staff)
  • Any other items which may be deemed as offensive

If any topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the aforementioned material are brought to the attention of the Admin/Mod Staff, they will be deleted.

Additional FAQ items appear here in Forum Rules. Please review them for posting guidelines and further clarification.

XTL5000 W4 remote to dash

Moderator: Queue Moderator

User avatar
NSPD
Posts: 1586
Joined: Sun Aug 04, 2002 4:52 pm
What radios do you own?: Motorola FR50!

XTL5000 W4 remote to dash

Postby NSPD » Tue Jul 11, 2017 7:43 am

I know this is the opposite of what most people do... but I have a remote mount XTL5000 with a W-series TIB that I removed from a Futurecom repeater package. I also have a W4 remote head. I would like to convert this mobile to a dash mount.

Is there anything additional I need to make this work after I take the back off the remote W4 head and the TIB off the radio? Can I use the same head bridge and flex?

Thanks!
Jake

User avatar
motorola_otaku
Posts: 1820
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 7:03 am
What radios do you own?: 2 turntables and a microphone

Re: XTL5000 W4 remote to dash

Postby motorola_otaku » Tue Jul 11, 2017 8:09 am

Head bridge is the same, the flex is not. Think about how the head mates to an Astro Spectra and you'll understand why.
When exposed to Rapid Fire Growth or Thermal Emergency, two things are lost:
1. Ability to use fine motor skills
2. Presence of mind

User avatar
NSPD
Posts: 1586
Joined: Sun Aug 04, 2002 4:52 pm
What radios do you own?: Motorola FR50!

Re: XTL5000 W4 remote to dash

Postby NSPD » Tue Jul 11, 2017 9:41 am

motorola_otaku wrote:Head bridge is the same, the flex is not. Think about how the head mates to an Astro Spectra and you'll understand why.


Excellent.. I will try and find the appropriate flex then.

Thanks for the info!
Jake

User avatar
spectragod
Posts: 1959
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2001 4:00 pm
What radios do you own?: FPP 6 meter XTL 5K's

Re: XTL5000 W4 remote to dash

Postby spectragod » Tue Jul 11, 2017 4:27 pm

Any w series flex for a xtl will work.
Kilgore: Smell that? You smell that?
Lance: What?
Kilgore: Napalm, son. Nothing in the world smells like that.
Kilgore: I love the smell of napalm in the morning. You know, one time we had a hill bombed, for 12 hours. When it was all over, I walked up. We didn't find one of 'em, not one stinkin' dink body. The smell, you know that gasoline smell, the whole hill. Smelled like... victory. Someday this war's gonna end...

____________
Revelation 6:8

User avatar
NSPD
Posts: 1586
Joined: Sun Aug 04, 2002 4:52 pm
What radios do you own?: Motorola FR50!

Re: XTL5000 W4 remote to dash

Postby NSPD » Tue Jul 11, 2017 4:39 pm

So.... I can use the flex that was connecting the brick to the W-Series TIB then? Just connect it to the back of the W4 head?

Edit: Nevermind, I see I can't. Off to the For Sale/Wanted forum!
Jake


Return to “ASTRO25 Series (XTS/XTL 1500/2500/5000) Subscribers”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest