Users may not create topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the following material (especially pertaining to Motorola copyrighted software, unless you want Motorola to come along and shut this site down):

  • Listing for sale or trade of, or links to sites offering for sale or trade of, or giving away, Radio
    Service Software (RSS) or Customer Programming Software (CPS)
  • Profanity, pornography, defamation, or slanderous remarks directed towards any individual or entity
  • Commercial advertising (except in the Batboard Vendors forum, as approved by the Admin/Mod Staff)
  • Any other items which may be deemed as offensive

If any topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the aforementioned material are brought to the attention of the Admin/Mod Staff, they will be deleted.

Additional FAQ items appear here in Forum Rules. Please review them for posting guidelines and further clarification.

DMR feature in APX

Covering the following Subscriber devices: APX1000/1500, APX3000, APX4000/4500, APX6000, APX6000XE, APX6500, APX7000, APX7000XE, APX7000L, APX7500, and APX8000.

Moderator: Queue Moderator

User avatar
ces911
Posts: 158
Joined: Sun Oct 26, 2008 10:41 pm
What radios do you own?: APX8000,NX5210

DMR feature in APX

Postby ces911 » Thu Jul 27, 2017 7:11 pm

Do you think they will or if they already have an option to add DMR to there APX line.. I think it would be great since they have alot of options already in them why not..
I monitor my PM's, So I should reply fairly quick...

MattSR
Posts: 765
Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2003 10:00 pm

Re: DMR feature in APX

Postby MattSR » Fri Jul 28, 2017 2:54 am

Maybe, maybe not.

User avatar
crazyboy
Posts: 350
Joined: Fri Aug 27, 2004 10:29 am

Re: DMR feature in APX

Postby crazyboy » Fri Jul 28, 2017 5:07 am

Never going to happen. If anything it would be a new line so they could suck out more money.

N4KVE
Posts: 1609
Joined: Wed Apr 02, 2003 10:35 am
What radios do you own?: XTS3000/5000, TRBO, 900MHZ

Re: DMR feature in APX

Postby N4KVE » Fri Jul 28, 2017 6:30 pm

Several people who work in Chicago have told me prototypes exist, but will never see the light of day. GARY

User avatar
FireCpt809
Posts: 1811
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2002 4:00 pm
What radios do you own?: Alot..

Re: DMR feature in APX

Postby FireCpt809 » Fri Jul 28, 2017 7:52 pm

N4KVE wrote:Several people who work in Chicago have told me prototypes exist, but will never see the light of day. GARY

That is the rumor but none who have ever claimed to have seen it or even claim to have it yet to produce it.

User avatar
chartofmaryland
Batboard $upporter
Posts: 408
Joined: Sat Dec 28, 2002 11:25 pm
What radios do you own?: Alot

Re: DMR feature in APX

Postby chartofmaryland » Mon Apr 09, 2018 11:48 am

Apparently there has been some movement,

Complete the survey if interested to increase the chance of getting MotoTrbo firmware into the APX product line

https://www.surveymonkey.com/r/96ZDJPQ

CoM
If the lights are out when you leave the station and then come on the second you key up, you know you have enough power.

User avatar
triptolemus
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2015 3:09 pm

Re: DMR feature in APX

Postby triptolemus » Mon Apr 09, 2018 3:22 pm

That survey is fake as hell. Motorola is not doing market research on friggin' Survey Monkey.

Give me a break. Stop wasting people's time.

User avatar
NERO
New User
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2018 5:56 pm
What radios do you own?: Enough to buy a house with.

Re: DMR feature in APX

Postby NERO » Mon Apr 09, 2018 3:23 pm

Survey Monkey? LMFAO :lol:
I moved upon the face of the darkness. And I saw that I was alone. Let there be light.

sjxts3000
Posts: 850
Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2011 8:14 pm
What radios do you own?: APX

Re: DMR feature in APX

Postby sjxts3000 » Mon Apr 09, 2018 3:56 pm

Maybe I'm missing something... but what the hell is a "Freon-based" radio?

User avatar
alex
Administrator
Posts: 5705
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2001 4:00 pm

Re: DMR feature in APX

Postby alex » Mon Apr 09, 2018 5:07 pm



I'll vouch for the authenticity of the survey. The intent at several meetings I've been made aware of is to gauge community interest in who wants it, who will pay for it, and what will they pay for it. This is one of the last efforts that will be put forth (if I had to guess) to get the feature put in APX. If you want it I would take the chances on a 2 minute Survey Monkey and submit it. What's the worst possible outcome? You still don't have DMR in the radio.
The Radio Information Board: http://www.radioinfoboard.com
Your source for information on: Harris/Ma-Comm/EFJ/RELM/Kenwood/ICOM/Thales, equipment.

resqguy911
Posts: 605
Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2004 3:35 pm

Re: DMR feature in APX

Postby resqguy911 » Tue Apr 10, 2018 2:04 pm

triptolemus wrote:That survey is fake as hell. Motorola is not doing market research on friggin' Survey Monkey.

Give me a break. Stop wasting people's time.

It most certainly is not.
"TDMA = digital and same great taste, half the bits"

resqguy911
Posts: 605
Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2004 3:35 pm

Re: DMR feature in APX

Postby resqguy911 » Tue Apr 10, 2018 2:05 pm

sjxts3000 wrote:Maybe I'm missing something... but what the hell is a "Freon-based" radio?

All APX8000 and APX6000BN radios use the "FREON" processor. All others use the "OMAP".
"TDMA = digital and same great taste, half the bits"

sjxts3000
Posts: 850
Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2011 8:14 pm
What radios do you own?: APX

Re: DMR feature in APX

Postby sjxts3000 » Tue Apr 10, 2018 2:09 pm

resqguy911 wrote:
sjxts3000 wrote:Maybe I'm missing something... but what the hell is a "Freon-based" radio?

All APX8000 and APX6000BN radios use the "FREON" processor. All others use the "OMAP".

My APX8000 says OMAP-L138 for the Processor Type

N4KVE
Posts: 1609
Joined: Wed Apr 02, 2003 10:35 am
What radios do you own?: XTS3000/5000, TRBO, 900MHZ

Re: DMR feature in APX

Postby N4KVE » Tue Apr 10, 2018 2:42 pm

My 8000XE too. OMAP L-138. GARY

radioinstl
Posts: 353
Joined: Tue Feb 11, 2003 1:07 pm
What radios do you own?: Liberty MBITR APX7000 75000

Re: DMR feature in APX

Postby radioinstl » Tue Apr 10, 2018 5:34 pm

Thats the neat thing about google.... Try googleing Freon Processor... you get OMAP-L138.

sjxts3000
Posts: 850
Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2011 8:14 pm
What radios do you own?: APX

Re: DMR feature in APX

Postby sjxts3000 » Tue Apr 10, 2018 5:41 pm

OK, to take the topic back on track....
DMR in an APX radio.... hell yes, I'd love to see it. If there was an APX8000/8500 (or 9000/9500?) which was all band + DMR, I'd buy it.
If mother /\/\ kept it in the top-tier APX line, I can't see any cannibalization of the XPR line.

N4KVE
Posts: 1609
Joined: Wed Apr 02, 2003 10:35 am
What radios do you own?: XTS3000/5000, TRBO, 900MHZ

Re: DMR feature in APX

Postby N4KVE » Tue Apr 10, 2018 6:51 pm

I can see putting DMR in the APX line. I do NOT see putting P25 in the XPR line. GARY

com501
Posts: 1021
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2001 4:00 pm
What radios do you own?: Over 50 - All Motorola

Re: DMR feature in APX

Postby com501 » Tue Apr 10, 2018 6:58 pm

Probably the only thing you might see is mirror image lines of XPR chassis radios. It's already being done with one APX. Motorola is NEVER going to allow dual mode radios, it trashes their profit line.

User avatar
d119
Posts: 3464
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2002 4:00 pm

Re: DMR feature in APX

Postby d119 » Wed Apr 11, 2018 10:07 am

resqguy911 wrote:
triptolemus wrote:That survey is fake as hell. Motorola is not doing market research on friggin' Survey Monkey.

Give me a break. Stop wasting people's time.

It most certainly is not.


Hahaha that jackass shows his true colors once again.

I completed the survey and there were definitely some "Motorola-esque" terms in there. I believe it to be 100% authentic and it's nice to see that Motorola is at least examining this one more time. If they truly believe in "interoperability", and want to push DMR on the commercial side, well, gotta get those P25 radios able to talk DMR, otherwise it's back to analog for everyone.

Kenwood is already doing it. Motorola needs to sit up and take notice to stay competitive.

User avatar
triptolemus
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2015 3:09 pm

Re: DMR feature in APX

Postby triptolemus » Wed Apr 11, 2018 4:11 pm

d119 wrote:Hahaha that jackass shows his true colors once again.


Let it go, Chris. Jeez. I'm sorry I wronged you one time many years ago.

As for the survey, sorry that I was skeptical of an unsolicited survey monkey link. How completely stupid my true colors are.

com501
Posts: 1021
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2001 4:00 pm
What radios do you own?: Over 50 - All Motorola

Re: DMR feature in APX

Postby com501 » Thu Apr 12, 2018 11:38 am

If the link didn't come from motorolasolutions I just delete them.

resqguy911
Posts: 605
Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2004 3:35 pm

Re: DMR feature in APX

Postby resqguy911 » Wed Apr 25, 2018 5:47 pm

com501 wrote:If the link didn't come from motorolasolutions I just delete them.

Only trusting people who work for the company that continues to disappoint you seems flawed.
"TDMA = digital and same great taste, half the bits"

User avatar
escomm
Queue Moderator
Posts: 5152
Joined: Fri Mar 24, 2006 8:24 pm

Re: DMR feature in APX

Postby escomm » Thu May 03, 2018 7:22 am

I heard from a birdy that they are planning on implementing this, but the radio will only support DMR or P25, and to change modes you will need to reboot it. So no DMR/P25 existing side by side. This definitely smells like some BS Motorola would pull

sjxts3000
Posts: 850
Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2011 8:14 pm
What radios do you own?: APX

Re: DMR feature in APX

Postby sjxts3000 » Thu May 03, 2018 8:52 am

escomm wrote:I heard from a birdy that they are planning on implementing this, but the radio will only support DMR or P25, and to change modes you will need to reboot it. So no DMR/P25 existing side by side. This definitely smells like some BS Motorola would pull

I think that's acceptable for the majority of the ham audience. As long as it can support VHF/UHF ham bands in both analog and DMR. There's not a lot of P25 ham repeaters out there. But ya, that's some crazy /\/\ BS they are pulling if they want you to reboot and choose one mode or the other, but not both.

User avatar
W3AXL
Posts: 107
Joined: Fri Sep 04, 2015 9:02 am
What radios do you own?: an unhealthy amount of them

Re: DMR feature in APX

Postby W3AXL » Thu May 03, 2018 11:29 am

I'm wondering if the 7000 will even be included in the DMR firmware. It should be by all means but it could easily become another "buy an 8000" selling point for the mothership to push.

sjxts3000
Posts: 850
Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2011 8:14 pm
What radios do you own?: APX

Re: DMR feature in APX

Postby sjxts3000 » Thu May 03, 2018 11:50 am

W3AXL wrote:I'm wondering if the 7000 will even be included in the DMR firmware. It should be by all means but it could easily become another "buy an 8000" selling point for the mothership to push.

Well, they currently have one firmware file for all APX models. When they initially released the 8000's, there were an '8000-only' firmware file, but then they lumped it into one APX firmware file. So there's hope!

User avatar
escomm
Queue Moderator
Posts: 5152
Joined: Fri Mar 24, 2006 8:24 pm

Re: DMR feature in APX

Postby escomm » Sat May 05, 2018 8:58 am

sjxts3000 wrote:
escomm wrote:I heard from a birdy that they are planning on implementing this, but the radio will only support DMR or P25, and to change modes you will need to reboot it. So no DMR/P25 existing side by side. This definitely smells like some BS Motorola would pull

I think that's acceptable for the majority of the ham audience. As long as it can support VHF/UHF ham bands in both analog and DMR. There's not a lot of P25 ham repeaters out there. But ya, that's some crazy /\/\ BS they are pulling if they want you to reboot and choose one mode or the other, but not both.

Yes, but acceptable to the actual audience it's intended for? I don't see it making sense. Big push with DMR in schools and so forth....... good lord can you imagine having to reboot so you can talk to dispatch, then reboot so you can talk to the principal? No way Jose!!

sjxts3000
Posts: 850
Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2011 8:14 pm
What radios do you own?: APX

Re: DMR feature in APX

Postby sjxts3000 » Sat May 05, 2018 9:01 am

escomm wrote:
sjxts3000 wrote:
escomm wrote:I heard from a birdy that they are planning on implementing this, but the radio will only support DMR or P25, and to change modes you will need to reboot it. So no DMR/P25 existing side by side. This definitely smells like some BS Motorola would pull

I think that's acceptable for the majority of the ham audience. As long as it can support VHF/UHF ham bands in both analog and DMR. There's not a lot of P25 ham repeaters out there. But ya, that's some crazy /\/\ BS they are pulling if they want you to reboot and choose one mode or the other, but not both.

Yes, but acceptable to the actual audience it's intended for? I don't see it making sense. Big push with DMR in schools and so forth....... good lord can you imagine having to reboot so you can talk to dispatch, then reboot so you can talk to the principal? No way Jose!!

Ya, I'm not a fan of that reboot nonsense. I mean, what the heck? Does it run on Windows?

User avatar
W3AXL
Posts: 107
Joined: Fri Sep 04, 2015 9:02 am
What radios do you own?: an unhealthy amount of them

Re: DMR feature in APX

Postby W3AXL » Sat May 05, 2018 10:32 am

I have to imagine they're going to at least try and make it more elegant than that. Maybe in the first testing release it'll require a reboot, but if their plan for the final implementation is the same then that's a non-starter for most agencies I can think of.

JPOPatents
Posts: 285
Joined: Thu Sep 25, 2008 7:36 pm

Re: DMR feature in APX

Postby JPOPatents » Sun May 06, 2018 6:24 pm

escomm wrote:I heard from a birdy that they are planning on implementing this, but the radio will only support DMR or P25, and to change modes you will need to reboot it. So no DMR/P25 existing side by side. This definitely smells like some BS Motorola would pull


Ah, like Kenwood's approach in the NX-3000 series radios that have analog/DMR/NXDN but will only allow you to program the radio to have analog/DMR or analog/NXDN at any one time. OTOH, I understand that the NX-5000 series allows you to select digital modes from the radio and can support analog and two digital modes at the same time: analog/DMR/NXDN, analog/NXDN/P25, and analog/DMR/P25.

So if Kenwood can do it without rebooting why can't Motorola?
-John

User avatar
mancow
Batboard $upporter
Posts: 2373
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2001 4:00 pm

Re: DMR feature in APX

Postby mancow » Sat May 12, 2018 11:36 am

JPOPatents wrote:
escomm wrote:I heard from a birdy that they are planning on implementing this, but the radio will only support DMR or P25, and to change modes you will need to reboot it. So no DMR/P25 existing side by side. This definitely smells like some BS Motorola would pull


Ah, like Kenwood's approach in the NX-3000 series radios that have analog/DMR/NXDN but will only allow you to program the radio to have analog/DMR or analog/NXDN at any one time. OTOH, I understand that the NX-5000 series allows you to select digital modes from the radio and can support analog and two digital modes at the same time: analog/DMR/NXDN, analog/NXDN/P25, and analog/DMR/P25.

So if Kenwood can do it without rebooting why can't Motorola?


They can. They just won't.

firecomm
was Fire4117
Posts: 412
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2004 5:37 pm

Re: DMR feature in APX

Postby firecomm » Sun May 13, 2018 8:33 am

JPOPatents wrote:
escomm wrote:I heard from a birdy that they are planning on implementing this, but the radio will only support DMR or P25, and to change modes you will need to reboot it. So no DMR/P25 existing side by side. This definitely smells like some BS Motorola would pull


Ah, like Kenwood's approach in the NX-3000 series radios that have analog/DMR/NXDN but will only allow you to program the radio to have analog/DMR or analog/NXDN at any one time. OTOH, I understand that the NX-5000 series allows you to select digital modes from the radio and can support analog and two digital modes at the same time: analog/DMR/NXDN, analog/NXDN/P25, and analog/DMR/P25.

So if Kenwood can do it without rebooting why can't Motorola?


Because making the end user turn the radio off then on again, will cause the on/off/volume knob to wear out faster thus increasing depot visits and replacement of parts = more $$$ in the pocket of Mother M.


Return to “APX Series Subscribers”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest