Users may not create topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the following material (especially pertaining to Motorola copyrighted software, unless you want Motorola to come along and shut this site down):

  • Listing for sale or trade of, or links to sites offering for sale or trade of, or giving away, Radio
    Service Software (RSS) or Customer Programming Software (CPS)
  • Profanity, pornography, defamation, or slanderous remarks directed towards any individual or entity
  • Commercial advertising (except in the Batboard Vendors forum, as approved by the Admin/Mod Staff)
  • Any other items which may be deemed as offensive

If any topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the aforementioned material are brought to the attention of the Admin/Mod Staff, they will be deleted.

Additional FAQ items appear here in Forum Rules. Please review them for posting guidelines and further clarification.

APX - Adding AES

Covering the following Subscriber devices: APX1000/1500, APX3000, APX4000/4500, APX6000, APX6000XE, APX6500, APX7000, APX7000XE, APX7000L, APX7500, and APX8000.

Moderator: Queue Moderator

KDN
Posts: 139
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 4:23 am

APX - Adding AES

Postby KDN » Sun Oct 30, 2016 12:55 pm

Looking into adding AES Encyption to a fleet of existing APX6K's.

They have a MACE with KG1: ADP, as well as Multikey, if I am reading correctly, it should be as simple as ordering a PCMCIA Crypto update card for the KVL to add it into the radio, correct?

Anyone have a ballpark on the cost of an AES update?

Thanks!

Rwiller
Posts: 36
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2004 3:53 pm

Re: APX - Adding AES

Postby Rwiller » Wed Nov 02, 2016 5:48 am

Motorola doesn't support the KVL-3000+ so no more PCMCIA cards. You have to buy the KVL-4000 now and then they just send you a file.

Sorry for the bad news.


take care

User avatar
wavetar
Administrator
Posts: 7316
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2001 4:00 pm

Re: APX - Adding AES

Postby wavetar » Thu Nov 17, 2016 5:44 pm

Rwiller wrote:Motorola doesn't support the KVL-3000+ so no more PCMCIA cards. You have to buy the KVL-4000 now and then they just send you a file.

Sorry for the bad news.


take care


Partially true. You do need a KVL4000 now, for sure. But, the upgrades come on a CD, and the upgrade package on the CD is serialized to only work with the KVL you provided the serial number from at time of order. You transfer the package to the KVL via the USB cradle (need to order that too if you don't have one). The KVL does a validation check of the package, and if it matches the KVL serial number, you are good to go.
No trees were harmed in the posting of this message...however an extraordinarily large number of electrons were horribly inconvenienced.

Welcome to the /\/\achine.


Return to “APX Series Subscribers”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests