Users may not create topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the following material (especially pertaining to Motorola copyrighted software, unless you want Motorola to come along and shut this site down):

  • Listing for sale or trade of, or links to sites offering for sale or trade of, or giving away, Radio
    Service Software (RSS) or Customer Programming Software (CPS)
  • Profanity, pornography, defamation, or slanderous remarks directed towards any individual or entity
  • Commercial advertising (except in the Batboard Vendors forum, as approved by the Admin/Mod Staff)
  • Any other items which may be deemed as offensive

If any topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the aforementioned material are brought to the attention of the Admin/Mod Staff, they will be deleted.

Additional FAQ items appear here in Forum Rules. Please review them for posting guidelines and further clarification.

APX RSSI Display

Covering the following Subscriber devices: APX1000/1500, APX3000, APX4000/4500, APX6000, APX6000XE, APX6500, APX7000, APX7000XE, APX7000L, APX7500, and APX8000.

Moderator: Queue Moderator

User avatar
NSPD
Posts: 1587
Joined: Sun Aug 04, 2002 4:52 pm
What radios do you own?: Motorola FR50!

APX RSSI Display

Postby NSPD » Mon Apr 17, 2017 4:06 pm

Where or what exactly determines if the trunked RSSI is displayed on the screen of an APX portable or mobile?

I have an APX6000 programmed with multiple systems (legit subscriber, both 4.1 and P25 systems). The main system is a 4.1 and I get no RSSI display on the screen. It shows on the P25 systems and neighboring 4.1 systems, but not the main one.

I also have an APX6500 mobile and the RSSI is on the display for the main system and P25 systems, but not one of the neighboring 4.1 systems.

I can't for the life of me figure out what I am missing here... I know it's probably something stupid. Any ideas?
Jake

sjxts3000
Posts: 802
Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2011 8:14 pm
What radios do you own?: APX

Re: APX RSSI Display

Postby sjxts3000 » Mon Apr 17, 2017 4:18 pm

Just confirming... are your P25 systems conventional or trunked? There's a "Conventional RSSI Display" setting under the "Features" section of each conventional personality. I could be wrong, but I don't think the RSSI display is valid for trunked systems. You have the signal strength bars for that. Again, though, I could be wrong (I don't work with trunked systems)

User avatar
NSPD
Posts: 1587
Joined: Sun Aug 04, 2002 4:52 pm
What radios do you own?: Motorola FR50!

Re: APX RSSI Display

Postby NSPD » Mon Apr 17, 2017 4:21 pm

sjxts3000 wrote:Just confirming... are your P25 systems conventional or trunked? There's a "Conventional RSSI Display" setting under the "Features" section of each conventional personality. I could be wrong, but I don't think the RSSI display is valid for trunked systems. You have the signal strength bars for that. Again, though, I could be wrong (I don't work with trunked systems)


These are all trunked systems... I guess it is "Signal Strength Bars" that I am talking about.. Up in the left corner of the display.
Jake

sjxts3000
Posts: 802
Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2011 8:14 pm
What radios do you own?: APX

Re: APX RSSI Display

Postby sjxts3000 » Mon Apr 17, 2017 4:23 pm

NSPD wrote:
sjxts3000 wrote:Just confirming... are your P25 systems conventional or trunked? There's a "Conventional RSSI Display" setting under the "Features" section of each conventional personality. I could be wrong, but I don't think the RSSI display is valid for trunked systems. You have the signal strength bars for that. Again, though, I could be wrong (I don't work with trunked systems)


These are all trunked systems... I guess it is "Signal Strength Bars" that I am talking about.. Up in the left corner of the display.

OK, that clears it up. I wish I could help you on the trunked systems part. I know only enough that the RSSI "bars" show upon successful affiliation.

User avatar
N4DES
was KS4VT
Posts: 1207
Joined: Thu Dec 25, 2003 7:59 am
What radios do you own?: APX,XTS2500,XTL2500,XTL1500

Re: APX RSSI Display

Postby N4DES » Tue Apr 18, 2017 3:15 pm

If the radio is programmed for SmartNet (not SmartZone) the bars in the display won't show.

If you have a button set to query the site and always wondered what the RSSI level means in dbm, below is what I calculated a while back:

dbm RSSI
-130 6
-125 16
-120 26
-115 36
-110 46
-105 56
-100 66
-95 76
-90 86
-85 96
-80 106
-75 116
-70 126
-65 136
-60 146
-55 156
-50 166

Mark

User avatar
alex
Administrator
Posts: 5697
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2001 4:00 pm

Re: APX RSSI Display

Postby alex » Tue Apr 18, 2017 4:19 pm

N4DES wrote:
If you have a button set to query the site and always wondered what the RSSI level means in dbm, below is what I calculated a while back:

Mark


FYI - experimentation has shown that different models give slightly different RSSI to DB ratings. It is worth testing the specific model you wish to measure including A vs B revisions of products to ensure you are close enough to a match.
The Radio Information Board: http://www.radioinfoboard.com
Your source for information on: Harris/Ma-Comm/EFJ/RELM/Kenwood/ICOM/Thales, equipment.

User avatar
N4DES
was KS4VT
Posts: 1207
Joined: Thu Dec 25, 2003 7:59 am
What radios do you own?: APX,XTS2500,XTL2500,XTL1500

Re: APX RSSI Display

Postby N4DES » Tue Apr 18, 2017 4:40 pm

The original target radio was a APX7K and rested on a 6K and a 1K with repeated results as to what I posted + 1 or 2 digits, but close enough in my book for an field approximation.

User avatar
NSPD
Posts: 1587
Joined: Sun Aug 04, 2002 4:52 pm
What radios do you own?: Motorola FR50!

Re: APX RSSI Display

Postby NSPD » Wed Apr 19, 2017 2:48 am

N4DES wrote:If the radio is programmed for SmartNet (not SmartZone) the bars in the display won't show.


This appears to have been it... coverage type was set to Disabled.

Thanks!
Jake


Return to “APX Series Subscribers”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest