Users may not create topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the following material (especially pertaining to Motorola copyrighted software, unless you want Motorola to come along and shut this site down):

  • Listing for sale or trade of, or links to sites offering for sale or trade of, or giving away, Radio
    Service Software (RSS) or Customer Programming Software (CPS)
  • Profanity, pornography, defamation, or slanderous remarks directed towards any individual or entity
  • Commercial advertising (except in the Batboard Vendors forum, as approved by the Admin/Mod Staff)
  • Any other items which may be deemed as offensive

If any topics, posts, or private messages containing or relating to the aforementioned material are brought to the attention of the Admin/Mod Staff, they will be deleted.

Additional FAQ items appear here in Forum Rules. Please review them for posting guidelines and further clarification.

CPS BUTTON PROGRAMMING ISSUE

Covering the following Subscriber devices: APX1000/1500, APX3000, APX4000/4500, APX6000, APX6000XE, APX6500, APX7000, APX7000XE, APX7000L, APX7500, and APX8000.

Moderator: Queue Moderator

User avatar
webby52
Posts: 63
Joined: Sun Dec 10, 2006 3:17 am
What radios do you own?: HT1250, XTS2500, APX6500

CPS BUTTON PROGRAMMING ISSUE

Postby webby52 » Tue May 23, 2017 9:23 am

I am trying to add a Zone Up/Zone Down button on the side of a APX6000ex portable. It works fairly well with the XTS2500 radio where when in Conventional channel in our A Bank, channel 2, you press the button and it goes "up one zone" which puts it on our main trunk channel 2. When you want to switch to main fire ground channel in conventional channel 2, press the button again in trunking and it goes "down one zone". This ultimately makes the button a switch between two main channels in different zones.

The wonderful think tank in IL decided that this was not a good idea. When I try to ass[/img]ign the button in APX, it greys out the trunked box assignment. Or if I try to make the conventional side unprogrammed, the selection of the Zone up/down comes up red on the trunked side. I've removed all associated zone commands from the radio via side and front buttons and it will not let me assign any button with this setup. I've tried APX 15.00.2, 16, and a codeplug from an 8000.

Anyone have an idea why its not complying? Images can be sent to email upon request. Unless someone has a public site to post to.

User avatar
motorola_otaku
Posts: 1828
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 7:03 am
What radios do you own?: 2 turntables and a microphone

Re: CPS BUTTON PROGRAMMING ISSUE

Postby motorola_otaku » Tue May 23, 2017 12:40 pm

What you are trying to do should work, but you may need Enhanced Zone Bank Operation in the flash. I have no problem setting up the side top button for Zone Up in APX7000, 7000XE, and 8000 portables, but they are all flashed for Enhanced Zone Bank.

EDIT: okay, I reread your post, and it looks like you want the same button to be Zone Up in trunking and Zone Down in conventional... yeah, you definitely can't do that on any APX radio. You can have the button NOT be zone up or zone down in either mode, but you can't have the modes oppose each other.
When exposed to Rapid Fire Growth or Thermal Emergency, two things are lost:
1. Ability to use fine motor skills
2. Presence of mind


Return to “APX Series Subscribers”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest